We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Diggity Dog!”

The Shack Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

It's lunch time and I'm thinking...hot dogs. We've been to The Shack numerous times for breakfast (which should tell you that we like it), however never for lunch. Didn't know if they served dogs but we'll soon find out. I chose the Shack dog (strip of bacon with cheese) and fries. I finished it off with a chocolate shake! Couldn't have been better! My better half ordered a plain dog with onion rings! Lunch menu has lots of choices and specials too!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank FoodCriticNorwich_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2018

Ate dinner here on a Saturday night. Food was amazing (fried scallops for one of us and clam strips for the other) and service was very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank marlenes0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

The restaurant can get quite crowded and you may need to wait. A popular spot for locals and visitors alike. The breakfast choices were plentiful and they have lots of unique dishes to choose from The coffee was fine. The service was very good, despite the crowd. The tables for two are very small and cluttered with stuff. Prices were reasonable and the portions were large. I would definitely recommend the place for a nice local breakfast treat when in Groton.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

A great stop for fresh and delicious breakfast food. You can tell that it is a locals favorite and everyone who works there is very friendly and polite. The menu offers tons of choices and there are daily specials as well. The pancakes were particularly good.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Ordered bacon, 2 eggs and home fries with an English muffin. There was enough for 2 people. Reasonably priced.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jo-AnnJoel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack Restaurant also viewed

Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to The Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing