We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AND COZY FOR A LONG WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NICE AND COZY FOR A LONG WEEKEND”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This place is just right if your just going for a long weekend stay. The mini suite is very reasonable and it was clean. The suite is spacious with two full beds, mini kitchen and if you need an adjoining room to both suites they are available as well. In the lobby they offer a bed and breakfast (small bagels, OJ and/ or apple juice and coffee. They do need to upgrade the wood furniture a bit. The tables were scratchie and the microwave is the turn the knob type but it worked very well and the TV is an old model 32 inch. The place furniture is not that modern but it serves its purpose for a long weekend. However, they have lots of pamplets of different restaurants to choose from and they do deliver. The take out japonese restaurant food was excellent and reasonable. There is a Walmart down the road. Not to mention a big shopping mall only 15 minutes away where you can find Macys, JC Penny, Target, Olive Garden and much more just to name a few on exit 82 right off of the I95. The best thing is that your right in the middle of both casinos Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods/MGM Grand. They are both about 15 to 20 minutes away from the hotel. The personnel staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to both casinos and shopping malls. I would definitely go again for a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boricua53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    25
    21
    35
See reviews for
25
35
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

When we pulled up to the Econo Lodge my heart dropped, because the photo depicted a cleaned wood building, when we arrived the wooden outside look beaten and dull. A previous write said something about the Indian food when you walked in, as soon as we walked in we were hit with the smell of Indian food, but the hotel is obviously owned by an Arab family, which explains the food (they may live there). The smell only stays in the lobby, did not smell it anywhere near my room. The person who checked me in didn't seem to confident that he knew what he was doing. The printer had no ink, so I couldn't get a legible receipt. The hotel is run more like a store, not a hotel. Theres no baggage service, they just give you the keys and your on your way. We rented the suite, and when we first walked in it was FREEZING, that night we were freezing because the only heat that worked was on the otherside of the room, the on the bedroom side was disconnected and broken. The next day I told the front desk, and they moved me to another suite, which was alot better. The room was clean, warm, comfortable. It's not somewhere your going to go if your going to spend more than 10 minutes in your room. Also, it says 8 miles from Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods, that has to be a mistake it took 15-20 minutes to get to each place. Mohegan Sun you would have to get back onto I-95 and cross 6 lanes of traffic in .5 miles to get to the Mohegan Sun exit. Again, its not something to go crazy for. Be your own judge.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We were very happy with this hotel. The price was very reasonable. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We checked many hotels in the area. Many were available at a much higher rate and not any nicer, actually they werent suites. We will come back here again and again!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kymluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in a king-bed room for two nights.
The upside - The living/kitchenette room has a luxury of space. The bedroom is separate so it is a true suite motel (I've been in "suite" motels that have a small seating area that can't be closed off from the bedroom). The motel was quiet, without annoying road noise. The motel honored a Room Saver walk-in coupon for Sun- Thurs, making it an excellent value, about 50-60% of area motels. It's ten minutes from Mystic attractions. I had a couple of minor issues with the room and they were quickly remedied by the staff.
The downside - the bedroom was a little tight with a king-size bed. The continental breakfast was weak.
The unknown: the climate control is in the bedroom only, with an adaptor on top to divert some of it to the living area. Being there in September we didn't put it to the test of July's heat or January's cold - I'm guessing it will do the job, but take longer than normal. It does keep the whirr of the fan from interfering with TV viewing in the living area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We were booked into this motel as part of a group. Our room was not the best or even an average room. It was a "suite". There was a hole punched through the wall so that the phone line could be run between the two rooms. There was air conditioning only in the bedroom; there was a vent near the air conditioner to allow air to go into the other room. There was a hole punched in the wall in the bedroom, covered by a small picture. To shut off the bathroom faucet you had to turn the knobs until you found the "spot". The carpet was not secured and not under the wall trim. No shampoo/conditioner; asked at the front desk, they do not give that out. No towels the first day - had to wait for the laundry to be done. Iron was ironized.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janskyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The room we had was basic (2 double beds), with a sitting area, a small dining table, and microwave. The room was clean, though. Bed was clean & comfortable. Bathroom was small but clean. We were there for an overnight after visiting Newport and Mystic. The hotel was just ok for a place to spend an overnight. Nothing fancy here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetoshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed here during the HOG motorcycle RALLY..4 DAYS..they cleaned the room ONE time. came in took the towels and left..we had to go to the desk and get them..when asked the front desk ABOUT IT "he would take care of it" ...NEVER happened..we had a king suite KING SIZE MISTAKE, refridge. never got cold enough,NEVER EMPTIED THE TRASH..at check out asked to speak to a manager....of course he was UNAVAILABLE...took our number and he would call us...NEVER HAPPENED...BEWARE..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMI0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groton hotels
1.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
2.3 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
75 reviews
1.7 km away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
677 reviews
2.4 km away
Motel 6 Groton
Motel 6 Groton
#10 of 14 in Groton
206 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton
Address: 605 Gold Star Highway, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Groton Hotel Groton
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Groton
Econo Lodge Hotel Groton
Econo Lodge Groton
Groton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing