We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hobbit Cottage

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Welcome to Hobbit Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lounge
Welcome to Hobbit Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hall with washing machine
Double bedroom with single beds.
outside in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Millport, Great Cumbrae, The Cumbraes, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cathie N
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband 2 granddaughters and myself have just returned from a wonderful few days holiday in Millport where we found plenty to do for both the children and ourselves. We were very lucky in choosing The Hobbit to stay in as it was very close to the town and George and June could not have been more welcoming. Both our granddaughters were a bit afraid of the dogs on arrival but were firm friends with Sophie and Barney before they left thanks to George's patience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thanks so much. Hope they don't forget Barney and Sophie and continue to have a relationship with dogs. The girls were just perfect and a credit to their family. Best June and George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thanks Angela. Hope to welcome you again soon, and. The cockerpoos!

Best
George. And June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ami B
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, great hosts, best place to stay in Millport!”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We recently spent 10 days at the hobbit cottage in Millport as a family of 5. The house is less than a 5 minute walk from the beach, pub, library, shop, chippy and bus stop. The cottage was very well equipped with absolutely everything we needed for a home away from home. The rooms are lovely and the beds are comfy. The decor is very well done. The wood burning stove in the living room is fantastic and there's a good selection of dvds and books for rainy days. Garden is great for playing in, there's a washing line, picnic bench and BBQ.
But the best part about staying at The Hobbit Cottage was the hosts, June, George and their gorgeous dogs, Sophie and Barney. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome or at home. They are such wonderful, friendly, interesting people who clearly work very hard and really care about their guests having a wonderful time. They were fantastic with our child who was in tears when we had to say goodbye and they couldn't have been nicer to us or better company. We are so grateful to them as not only was their property amazing to stay in, they made our holiday wonderful by being part of it. And the dogs are wonderful with children - as they are poodles they didn't even set off my dog allergies!

We will 100% be back to stay and I'll be recommending this places to everyone I know!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you Ami. You, Kyle and Tristan were the best and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D
1 review
“Excellent. Couple who rent cottage. Very wecolmeing. Would recommend we'll done June George”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely setting. Very. Peaceful. Hosts. Very welcoming. Lovely. Beach. And places to walk. Whole town very friendly. Pubs. Make u welcome. Which is ideal. Getting kids in as well lovely. Walk round island. Or short trip on ferry. To largs. Gourack. Etc. I definatetly. Would. Go back. Thank you. To George. June. Xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you Rose - we'll welcome you and Peter back any time. Glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful little cottage with its own private garden, loads of quirky nooks and crannies for the kids ( and adults ) to explore ! From the moment we arrived the owners, George and June , couldn't have been more helpful or genuinely nice, with an abundance of local knowledge to share. The cottage had everything we needed for 4 adults and a toddler, and so much more. For a perfect relaxed, entertaining family holiday, 5 minutes walk from the beach, in a beautiful secluded home on the edge of the woods, you really couldn't do any better....

Jon b

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Thank you Jon so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing