We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hug!”
Review of Chowder Pot IV

Chowder Pot IV
Ranked #17 of 484 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

So we arrived very late to our hotel right beside the restaurant and though hungry didn't want a heavy meal. My colleague and I both had soup. I the new England clam chowder, her the lobster bisque. Both soups were amazing! Definitely homemade n chunky full of goodness. We also had the stuffed mushrooms and the crab Rangoon. Amazing! Best Rangoon EVER!! The meals we saw being served looked so good and we're very large portions. The wait staff was funny and attentive, my cup never ran dry. Would eat here again, in fact I hope to tonight lol

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Melina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2017

I was craving a lazy man's lobster. My husband grilled fish. My frame of reference is the FishTale in Westbrook, CT which is casual, but with very fresh seafood. Because Westbrook is quite a drive we decided on the Chowder Pot IV in Hartford based on some reviews. The atmosphere is nothing special and a bit rough around the edges. Wait staff was fine overall. Food seemed like seafood fast food and was virtually tasteless. I guess if you like fried it is probably okay. However, it is quite expensive and needs to provide a high standard to require the price. It is our last visit I am quite sure and will need to steer folks away. It appears that they have quite a following, but not sure why.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank ajt398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

On the eve of a major snowstorm, we stopped here for dinner on our way home. We were happy to learn that that Monday was lobster night. Our meal started with a delicious shrimp cocktail which was perfectly chilled. For our entrees, we had one steamed and one stuffed lobster. Both were prepared to perfection. The sides (cole slaw, carrots and potatoes) were also quite good. Our server was both friendly and attentive. Sometimes the best meals are unplanned.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank rossclaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Clam plate special was delicious--portion size was generous. Salad was fresh. Lobster bisque was creamy & had no lobster pieces in it.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CKR72482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017

This place has the best sea food I have had in years. The fried clams are light and not greasy and very tastety. Try the Seafood Imperial for a taste treat.Great waiting staff and honey bread.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chowder Pot IV also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Pot IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing