We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious Creative Foof”
Review of Axiotissa

Axiotissa
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Kastraki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are getting prepared to open in 8th of April, one week before Easter. Tavern with Mediterranean and Greek cuisine.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Axiotissa was a total delight. Very pleasant knowledgeable servers, pretty bougainvillea covered terrace, and the food was remarkable. Some of the clearest flavors I have had anywhere in Greece. There are interesting salads that go way beyond the normal offerings, lots of delicious sounding veggie dishes and outstanding
Organic meats from the chef’s family farm. We enjoyed a rich goat dish with rosemary, the goat having been slow roasted in parchment. There was a delicious warm chick pea salad with turmeric and saffron, lemon and excellent olive oil. My husband’s pork chops were some of the most flavorful pork we’ve ever had. Very good house wine. Prices are comparable to other tavernas for this food which is WAY above the norm.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

... a collection of flavors and stories that we are always looking forward to experiencing. Its location, as is its sign at the street entrance is unassuming; the real treat is inside. This is the place where regulars of the island go for dinner every night, and for good reason. Starting with the nice calligraphy on the blackboard and ending up on your table, the daily specials never disappoint (I'll be dreaming about the fresh baked cheese and figs pies all winter).
Yiannis, the chef, crafts all his dishes with fresh and high quality, carefully selected ingredients, breaking out of stereotypes and, at the same time, honoring the local and regional recipes that fuel his inspiration. A collection of his thoughts, recipes and their stories is now published in his new book. The original Greek version is on display at the tavern.
The members of the staff led by Sofia have been the same for years, a cohesive group of very nice, interesting and honest people who know exactly how things work, and who work together and help each other as friends, not only as teammates. We can’t imagine Axiotissa without them, and we can’t imagine Naxos without Axiotissa.
We went there with an open mind and discovered delightful delicate flavors, and with an open heart, wonderful people, all with their fascinating stories.
And the delicious deserts are all homemade! Need we say more? :)

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sorin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We visited Axiotissa with a family of 2 kids in August for dinner. We booked a table in advance as it was very crowded due the the high summer season.
The place itself is very nice, modern Greek decoration and authentic. The service was excellent, quick and simple. The food... we did not know what to choose from the menu as everything seemed delicious and it really was. One of the specialities is fig in the oven filled with graviera (gruyere)!!! The House rose wine was also delicious. I strongly recommend Axiotissa if you would like to eat very high quality food cooked the Greek way !

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 516vivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Good restaurant with simple but delicious food. Have been there three times and will definitely come again. Recommend to book table for dinner in advance (same day reservation is enough). Staff behave themselves like super stars, so not always responsive and kind.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

A bit off the worn path, but well worth the drive to Kastraki. They do traditional recipes with a modern touch, and use of imaginative combinations of ingredients. Focus is on prime quality materials, mostly locally grown. Quality is excellent, and you will taste some novel dishes outside the standard tavern fare. Great selection of Greek wines and small-label microbreweries. Portions are hearty, best go with friends to be able to share and sample. Prices are higher than local average, closer to Athens levels, but cost-quality balance is reasonable.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MezeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Axiotissa also viewed

 

Been to Axiotissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing