We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing small winery- 10 stars if we could!

What a gem! I am so glad we picked this place. I love TripAdvisor. We did Freixanet first to see... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Joiedvivre
,
San Antonio, Texas
Great Cava in a beautiful setting

Castellroig is a wonderful winery to visit. They offer very nice tours of the property and the a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AdamSennet
Read all 110 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Subirats
from US$214.60
More Info
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
99
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting tour wine making bread wine tasting great job different types fourth generation olive oil top quality wonderful family wonderful experience family business lovely cava margaret owner generations coca
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 110 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Most interesting tour and tasting ever experienced! Our visit on the way to Barcelona included a stop here. We really enjoyed the tour and demonstrations. Tasted two Cavas and 1 red wine. The cheese and meat are first class! The hospitality superb!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice and polite comments. We are grateful to receive everybody that is interested in visiting us and we invite those who never came to come and share our passion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

An interesting tour and a small museum. tasted 3 excellent cavas and enjoyed them with the tapas. Worth seeing.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you very much. We are very happy that you enjoyed the visit and tasting. Please come back when you want. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

From time to time, my wife and I take visitors to the Penedès wine country for tasting and tours. This was the first time we tried Castellroig. It is fantastic value, an excellent tasting experience and worth the trip even if you only visit one winery. We went on a Sunday and it felt less busy than usual. This allowed us to visit more parts of the bodega and get much better attention.

A visit to Castellroig is particularly good if you've visited other wineries before and already have a sense of how wine or cava is made. It's a small operation, so it's possible to meet the owners and winemaker. I had never seen a tour where so much attention was paid to explaining the effect of different types of soil and I found this fascinating.

To be honest, there are other tours that do a much better job of explaining how cava is made and you should visit them to get the overview first. If you want to know the philosophy behind these wines and cavas, as well as the family, then the tour does a great job of that.

The tasting itself is incredible. We chose the 15 euro option and were pleasantly surprised at how many different cavas and wines we tasted. It is one of the best experiences we've had in the Penedès.

We highly recommend Castellroig!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your nice comments about the winery, family and the attention received. We always try to do our best so everybody can feel comfortable and like at home. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. Come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Great wine and a nice selection to taste from as well as a few bits to nibble on. A great team and certainly no pressure to purchase- they have several different varieties of cava also red and white wine. Worth a stop. And one of the people there speak perfect English!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 401kennyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret White. at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind recomendation for our winery and varieties. We hope you enjoyed everything and wish you come back again. We love that our visitors leave with a special experience to come back and to recommend us over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We were a group of Canadians and we all loved our experienced at Castellroig. They gave us a personalised serviced and a very educational visit. We spent time in the spectacular winery and breath in this natural environment. Thanks to Ricard our multilingual guide and his nice energy and exceptional dedication to us!
Marie

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank melad0uceur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad that our visitors leave with a nice experience. Every day we try to improve in our way of running this family business so people can live this experience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews