We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family”

Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Subirats
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and learn the secrets of terroir wine making. We'll show you around every corner of our bodega and take you through our museum, taste our wines and cavas in an unique setting! A traditional Catalan winery with fresh ideas!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We made a reservation for a large group with kids and it couldn't of been a more magical experience! We met the fourth generation owner and he took us on the private tour which was so interesting! Lots of history and pride in this winery. The kids were very intrigued with the bottle labeling machine. After the touring we went to the tasting room and tasted multiple cava's and wines. ALL were amazing! Not to mention all of the unbelievable fresh meats and bread that we ate with the fresh pressed olive oil made at the winery. SOOO yummy! We got to meet the 3rd generation owner (cute grandpa), he is in his 80's. He served us both wine and our kids fresh juice and cookies! We felt like family! They were so gracious and you could see the love they pour into their winery. Best wine tasting and tour I've ever been on and I can safely say the same for the rest of the group. I would HIGHLY recommend this winery.
PS -We all ended up buying a lot of wine to take back to US and they packaged them really well. All of the wine made it back safely;)

Thank katierincon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Propietario at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thank you to you for comingo to visit our winery and for your really nice opinión about us. We always try to make our customers feel like home and we want you to leave with a nice experience. Please come back when you want, you will always be welcome.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interesting tour"
in 3 reviews
"great job"
in 2 reviews
"wine making"
in 2 reviews
"different types"
in 2 reviews
"top quality"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful family"
in 2 reviews
"family business"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cava"
in 2 reviews
"great visit"
in 2 reviews
"cava tasting"
in 2 reviews
"margaret"
in 3 reviews
"products"
in 4 reviews
"winemaker"
in 3 reviews
"tours"
in 3 reviews
"winemaking"
in 3 reviews
"generations"
in 3 reviews
"cavas"
in 9 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Most interesting tour and tasting ever experienced! Our visit on the way to Barcelona included a stop here. We really enjoyed the tour and demonstrations. Tasted two Cavas and 1 red wine. The cheese and meat are first class! The hospitality superb!

Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice and polite comments. We are grateful to receive everybody that is interested in visiting us and we invite those who never came to come and share our passion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

An interesting tour and a small museum. tasted 3 excellent cavas and enjoyed them with the tapas. Worth seeing.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you very much. We are very happy that you enjoyed the visit and tasting. Please come back when you want. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

From time to time, my wife and I take visitors to the Penedès wine country for tasting and tours. This was the first time we tried Castellroig. It is fantastic value, an excellent tasting experience and worth the trip even if you only visit one winery. We went on a Sunday and it felt less busy than usual. This allowed us to visit more parts of the bodega and get much better attention.

A visit to Castellroig is particularly good if you've visited other wineries before and already have a sense of how wine or cava is made. It's a small operation, so it's possible to meet the owners and winemaker. I had never seen a tour where so much attention was paid to explaining the effect of different types of soil and I found this fascinating.

To be honest, there are other tours that do a much better job of explaining how cava is made and you should visit them to get the overview first. If you want to know the philosophy behind these wines and cavas, as well as the family, then the tour does a great job of that.

The tasting itself is incredible. We chose the 15 euro option and were pleasantly surprised at how many different cavas and wines we tasted. It is one of the best experiences we've had in the Penedès.

We highly recommend Castellroig!

Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your nice comments about the winery, family and the attention received. We always try to do our best so everybody can feel comfortable and like at home. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. Come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Great wine and a nice selection to taste from as well as a few bits to nibble on. A great team and certainly no pressure to purchase- they have several different varieties of cava also red and white wine. Worth a stop. And one of the people there speak perfect English!

Thank Kenny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellroig, Margaret White. at Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind recomendation for our winery and varieties. We hope you enjoyed everything and wish you come back again. We love that our visitors leave with a special experience to come back and to recommend us over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca also viewed

Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Cabra del Camp, Alt Camp
 

Been to Castellroig Finca Sabate I Coca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing