We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location on the beach”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mercy Center at Madison
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I recently spent three days at a work retreat at Mercy Center. The location was amazing with a really nice staff. I stayed in the house, which had a wonderful kitchen, wraparound deck, and beautiful views. The property has numerous places inside and out that were wonderful to read or just relax. Unfortunately the weather was not great. This is a place I would revisit in the better weather

Room Tip: make sure you have a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marlotowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Mercy Center is an oasis in our crazy busy lives. I've spent the day there many times but this was my first overnight stay. It was pure bliss....simple, quiet time for reflection, reading and writing. The food was simple and delicious. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel. It is a spiritual retreat center with a small dedicated staff. After two days, I felt like I'd spent a week on St. John (my favorite place) It is not for everyone. For the right person it is a piece of heaven.

Marji Shapiro

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarjiShapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I recently spent 2 days at Mercy Center, in the beginning of the week, and got much more than I paid for. Mercy Center is a delightful respite, a great place to escape - clear your head and lift your soul. I found myself totally refreshed as Mercy Center allowed me to leave my cares behind. I did not mind at all that there was no TV or telephone. I fell asleep to the sound of the ocean waves hitting the shore because the ocean is that close!! Mercy Center takes advantage of their beautiful surroundings throughout the grounds. Yes, there were people there as part of a staff retreat but the grounds are so large that you barely knew they were there. I plan on going back in August and also visited the grounds for the day once a month throughout the summer. The accommodations were clean and private. The staff was very pleasant and could not do enough to make our stay the best. And it was. I strongly recommend Mercy Center.

Room Tip: The Tower Room, which is Mrs. Grant's former room, is the best room - 2 porches, a table, microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyChristianson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

To get anyone to return an inquiry be it phone or email was nearly impossible. Over a dozen contacts for nothing! A drive to the property showed it delapidated and hardly able to accept guests of any sort. There must be a benefactor that just pours money into this place in spite of itself! Too bad, would have been perfect for our gathering. Hopefully at some point, someone at Mercy center will show inquiries some mercy so the surroundings can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
10  Thank AOneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is a religious setting. It is not for anyone to come and be here. What needs to be stated since all the other reviews, is that the administration has changed and the food is horrible. For what a person pays to stay here, the food is appalling. There is never enough. Last year they went through a transition so hopefully there was enough feedback to have them take an honest look at what is being served and see does it equal what a person pays to stay there and the clientele that comes there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Mercy Center is a wonderful place to relax and spend time soul-searching, resting, reading, walking, or swimming. Most guests are on religious/spiritual retreats. The rooms are simple but clean. There are no televisions or phones and most of the guests at the center spend their time there in silence. The chef prepares simple, local, nutritious meals and will accomodate allergies and vegetarian diets. Please stay away if you want to "party at the beach" because this is not the place for that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Lovely beach. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Multi-cultural, multi-spiritualities.
Was Catholic; now includes myriad religions. But very peaceful, incredibly
relaxing to be there.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonymooseCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.3 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
23.9 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
759 reviews
13.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
113 reviews
2.6 km away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
3.6 km away
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Scranton Seahorse Inn
#1 of 5 in Madison
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercy Center at Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercy Center at Madison

Address: 167 Neck Road, Madison, CT 06443-2725
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing