We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Room Not Cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed 27 March 2016

When I checked into this hotel around 10pm this evening, I was given a room that when I entered, did not look like it had been cleaned from the previous guest. The bed was unmade and the room did not look clean. I went back to the front desk and received another room, which when I entered, did appear it had been cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandymorford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is great, the staff is so friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and up to date. I was thoroughly impressed with my stay here. Beds are very comfortable and there is very little noise heard from other rooms. I would recommend to anyone around the area.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank funandsun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to read that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and exceptional customer service! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I stopped here on my journey from NYC to Boston. The hotel is in a good location, just off the highway. I checked on Trip Advisor and it looked like a good location for my overnight stay. Other reviewers have mentioned restaurants nearby, but I found that the were a good 5 miles drive away in a nearby town. Anyway, the room was nice and large, with a basic kitchen and everything I needed for an overnight stay. There was ample free parking and the wifi was decent enough for my phone.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and convenient location. It’s great to read that you found our hotel to be a good value! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We normally stay in Glastonbury but the rate was through the roof due to a tournament. We had stay at this Extended Stay years ago and thought that we would try it again. I called and made the reservation over the phone, specifically telling her that we were 2 adults/2children/1diabetic cat. She gave me a rate and then said that if we were members that we would receive 15% back after we checked out. When we checked in the desk clerk quoted a higher rate. When I questioned her she said it was because we had 2 adults, which was $10 more. My confirmation did state 2 adults/2children but she wasn't having anything to do with it. I honestly didn't feel like squabbling over $10 but I'm a principle kind of gal! In any event, to room was fine, as expected. The kitchen was not equipped, you had to choose from a card at check-in. I found that so odd but I do understand that in the long run why put it out if it's not needed. The shower curtain was a single so that water poured down it and got all over the floor....not the best design. As I said, we have a diabetic cat who needs 2 shots a day so our lodging is limited in this area so we really couldn't be too picky. Mo did like the fact that the window opened and he could hang out on the heat/ac and look outside. It's not the best place but not the worst place we've stayed in over the years.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigicape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the billing issues you experienced. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will retrain our front desk staff on our check-in and billing procedures to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at hme@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel twice in December while visiting our family for the holidays. The general manager was, there on site to serve us at check in and throughout our visit. The front desk staff treated us like were at a $300 a night hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and a very great value. I highly recommend you stay here with your family!
Roberta

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank PumpkinFudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our exceptional customer service and comfortable accommodations. I’m thrilled that you found our hotel to be a great value! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to your visits in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

When I was making the reservations over the phone the representative couldn't hear me & could barely hear him. The phone was breaking up bad & it wasn't my phone.he spelled my name incorrectly. I had to call the hotel to diz the spelling so I would be able to check in. The room phone did not work so I had to go to the front desk & notify the front desk clerk whom was playing on her phone (visibly) that I could not close my window. The soda machine was not accepting cash. I've had better stays at this hotel. I'm not pleased with the lowsly service

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Denisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am so disappointed that we did not meet your service expectations. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I will be coaching our front desk staff on our reservation and check-in procedures. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Please feel free to contact me directly, at hme@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This hotel can be described as:
Clean
No frills
Blue collar
Friendly responsive staff
Medium low noise levels (awakened by noise one time in four months)
Low to medium comfort beds.
Good value for the price paid
Central location to Hartford and New Haven.


I stayed here while transferring to a new job in the area. I have made heavy use of temporary living accommodations in 22 US states and 5 foreign countries over the course of a 35 year career. That is the reference I use in this review.

The one negative is that the mattresses are not comfortable. I am 250 lb and 6"-2", and the inadequate resilience of the mattresses in the two rooms I occupied left me with sore spots and overall less than great quality of rest. For $50 more per night, I could stay at a place that offers high end mattresses, and I chose to balance comfort with utility. Nevertheless, I would like to see ESA do better on their beds.

I am away all day working and spend only one or two weekends per month here. I joined a nearby health club ($10.00/ month Planet Fitness, very good), I have no need for amenities beyond the kitchenette, laundry, WIFI, and a clean quiet room.

Many of the other guests are blue collar working men. My dealings with these men are respectful and reserved. I think that single women or women with children may be uncomfortable in this environment. This opinion was expressed to me by a woman friend who travels for business. She left another ESA location near Philadelphia after two nights and moved to a Residence Inn. I see her concern.

My 13 year old son visited one week with his cousin. The TV has the appropriate connections for the Wii and X Box, making them completely happy, and the WIFI worked for their phones and iPods. I put the on site laundry to use We ate all of our meals here, and I was able to pack their lunches. It was a positive experience.

Room Tip: They have propane grille. Check in advance to make sure there is gas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_O_H2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meriden hotels
1.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Red Roof Inn Meriden
Red Roof Inn Meriden
#1 of 10 in Meriden
549 reviews
4.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
1.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden

Address: 366 Bee St, Meriden, CT 06450-3555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $103 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Meriden
Meriden Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing