We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Ontogenetic Optimistic Ogmore

I have been going to this amazing beach for 50 years. The views are great and if you get the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
terrytravell
,
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Breathtaking views, beautiful beach

A lovely place to walk by the sea (Bristol Channel). What is lovely is there are plenty of places... read more

Reviewed March 13, 2024
JTWSpurs
,
Norfolk, Virginia
Read all 267 reviews
  
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
170
71
10
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
170
71
10
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools car park ice cream van high tide dogs love plenty of parking dog walkers beautiful coastline toilet facilities lovely walk dogs are allowed coastal path lovely place horse riding sunny day the cliff ogmore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 267 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2023 via mobile

Well I love this beach.
We tend to go late on in the day around 4ish when it’s quieter. We head down the far end and normally find a little cove where we sit and watch the kids play and have a bbq.
We park at the top and it’s a bit of a steep walk down but it’s only a few mins walk.

Date of experience: April 2023
2  Thank Redhead2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2023 via mobile

Recently friends of ours visited from Spain and this was their first trip to South Wales. Whenever we visit them, they take us to some fantastic places so we wanted to do the same. During their visit we took them to Ogmore by Sea in the morning, followed by a shopping trip to McArthur Glen (junction 36 off the M4, Bridgend) in the afternoon.

We arrived early with everything that we needed including a picnic, drinks, a beach throw and so on. There was plenty of room to park the car which cost just £6. At the beach there were lots of people enjoying the vast space. It was nice to see children building sandcastles, flying kites and crabbing in the rock pools, and people walking dogs on leads.

The beach was fantastic with soft clean sand and fabulous views. Facilities at the beach were limited, but on the day, we visited there were lifeguards, toilets, kiosks selling hot drinks and an ice-cream van. Near the beach there were some great walks, a campsite at Southerndown, a grassed area above the beach, a river, a castle and several pubs where you could purchase lunch. We will definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone who wants a cheap day out at the seaside without the added costs of arcades and funfairs.

Date of experience: April 2023
1  Thank Joanne_1979N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2023

Fantastic clean beach, lots of sand a great for swimming safely.
Even a castle bear by and 2 pubs a mile up river

Date of experience: August 2022
2  Thank V7271VFjeremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 24, 2023 via mobile

Ogmore is the perfecr place to take your dog for a walk .... either on the green common land or the huge beach if the tide is out.
Children love the rock pools and the sandy beach ... and sometimes an ice cream van.
The parking system changes frequently and can be complicated.
The sunsets are magnificent and a photographers delight.
Pack a picnic and go early so that you can get agood spot because in hot weather Ogmore can be a huge trzffic jam.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 12, 2023

Really cute little find, lots of walkers and dog walkers. Rock pools, sandy beach and beautiful scenery. So many starfish! I have read they’re poisonous to dogs so be mindful. Parking is either £1 for 1 hour or 1 hour + £6. Toilet facilities and food stalls / coffee / ice cream vans. If you like walking and pretty views this place is for you, I can imagine it gets super busy in summer.

Date of experience: February 2023
2  Thank emilyrK5561ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews