We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Ontogenetic Optimistic Ogmore

I have been going to this amazing beach for 50 years. The views are great and if you get the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
terrytravell
,
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Special place

Lovely day out. Visited Porthcawl and Ogmore. Beautiful landscape. Car parking not as expensive as... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2023
Suzhereford24
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
Read all 267 reviews
  
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
170
71
10
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
170
71
10
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools car park ice cream van high tide dogs love plenty of parking dog walkers beautiful coastline toilet facilities lovely walk dogs are allowed coastal path lovely place horse riding sunny day the cliff ogmore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 267 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2023

The car park is expensive, machines difficult to use. Barriers confusing. No attendants. Looks as though any mistakes on the machine input would leave you stuck in the car park. Drove straight out . I have lived here for 40 years and will never use this car park ever again. It was almost empty since the draconian parking system was installed recently. I hate the place now.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Rambler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 22, 2023

Lovely day out. Visited Porthcawl and Ogmore. Beautiful landscape. Car parking not as expensive as previously thought. Ogmore castle very chilled . kids loved it, doggy loved it. Would visit again tomorrow

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Suzhereford24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2023

We visited Ogmore by Sea beach on a wet midweek lunchtime in August. We had travelled here by car from Ogmore Castle with our daughter and her family and there is a pay & display car park here. As the rain was falling, we opted first to eat our packed lunches in our respective cars looking out over the sea. Later the rain stopped and we managed to explore there in more detail.
The beach is fairly flat and has some sand though would probably not be ideal for a young family to enjoy a day by the sea. There are no facilities (refreshments or shops|), that we could see although there are public toilets nearby.
However, the beach is not without its charm, there are some low-level rocky outcrops further along which are a joy to explore, though take care as they can become slippery when wet. These outcrops hold small rock pools when the tide recedes and also look very interesting in terms of their texture and also the colour changes caused by the parts that are wet and those that have dried out.
Probably a beach that will appeal more to walkers and lovers of the British coastline than sun worshippers.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2023 via mobile

Huge expanse of sand. Pebble sections. Rock pools. Little caves. Very varied place with loads to explore. No real shops or cafes we could find where we were bar a coffee van. This sold lovely coffee and pastries. Parking could be fiddly. Cars parked leaving a 3/4 gap between so much space wasted. We parked at the river end. There was a lifeguard section on the beach too. Lovely place to watch the sea and watch the world go by, and lots of dogs!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Bertie1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2023

First time visiting this wonderful coastal expanse, it has all the beach types you can imagine along a wonderfully long coastal walk, sandy beach, pebble beach, rock pools, sand dunes, loads of lovely walks. The beach has a public toilet, plenty of parking (though I parked out a little further and walked in), a couple of nice cafes (I recommend the Welsh Coffee Co.).

The only thing it could probably have more of are bins, so we can clean up the human rubbish washed up on the shore to protect our wildlife.

Date of experience: August 2023
1  Thank Brennag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews