We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very High Quality- Exceeds expectations!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sebergham, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petermeen...
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very High Quality- Exceeds expectations!”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife booked this large cottage for our Christmas holiday 22 to 29 Dec 17, with our extended family and grandchildren. Son and daughters and respective spouses/partners came from North and South (We live near Aberdeen).

I spent a good time looking through the excellent website to make sure we understood the facilities and location. It all was clearly described and looked ideal.

When we arrived it was a real delight to find that the house and facilites were even better than described. There was one of the best welcome packs we have ever arrived to, and there were fresh red roses on the table. The heating system was available on demand at all times and there was a big box outside the kitchen with a very good supply of dry logs for the woodburning stove. Much appreciated!

It was really heart-warming to arrive in the evening after a 6 hour drive in the dark and find that the owners had switched on a beautiful array of Christmas lights around the cottage. My 2 y/o grandchildren when they arrived were wide-eyed!

I think we may do the same thing again next Christmas if I can get a booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colliered
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was excellent. The house and furnishings were comfortable, coordinated and spotless and the welcome was exceptional. The central heating was so good we didn't bother with the fire. welcome pack was very generous and everything else one could need was available. The wifi was as good as I am used to in London despite the house being relatively isolated. Staying at lambing time was perfect and every was very helpful in telling us how the farm worked.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Seeing the lambing
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chimney Gill, thank you for taking the time to share your experience there with us. It sounds like you started your holiday in the best possible way with that wonderful welcome! Getting a taste of how the farm works and staying during lambing season sounds great too, really lets you experience a bit of country life! We hope that you return very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222ck
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for family event”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a birthday and Mother's Day. The layout of the ground floor (a big L shape) is perfect for social family life. Nice sized bedrooms with massive beds, with 2/3 rooms have good views. Kitchen is well equipped and real fire very welcome. The owner/farmer let us in to see the young lambs and was friendly throughout. No complaints and an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ground floor layout
Liked least: Thermostat set at 30
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us all, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Chimney Gill. How lovely to have a holiday celebrating two great events - we couldn't be happier that the property added to your good time! We certainly hope that you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExiledYor...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A thoroughly relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chimney Gill is a nicely-equipped, cosy cottage which has been well maintained by our welcoming hosts Tracey and Graham (with help from Joyce). Considering that the property is situated on a working farm near a road that feeds the M6 it is a blissfully quiet location. There is plenty of room for large family gatherings and the quality of the decor is excellent. Upon arrival we were thoughtfully provided with a generous Welcome Pack which was well received. The bulk of our provisions for the week were delivered to the door by ASDA - it takes all the hassle out of settling in! We found the additional fridge and freezer in the connecting outhouse to be very handy for bulk food and milk overflow at the beginning of our stay. Everyone in our group had a great time and didn't want to return home which is always the sign of an excellent holiday. Thank you Tracey, Graham and Joyce.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good comfort in a blissfully quiet location
Liked least: The weather was unpredictable!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“60th birthday three day family "break".”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Set on a working farm on n e edge of Lake District national park. Accessible by good roads, and not tortuous like some lakes single trackers. We were 13- 6 adults and 7 grandkids and managed to fit in fairly easily. Nicely laid out and freshly decorated. Good solid working fittings and everything we needed really. Family were all very welcoming but not intrusive. Were happy to show us the lambs and chat about the farm. Welcome pack now becoming standard at good self catering these days but a kind touch nonetheless. We all enjoyed ourselves, the kids maybe a bit too much! They'd have stayed in the house all day if it were up to them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nicely finished
Liked least: Being woken by my teething son at 5.45 am!😉
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJ_Teacup
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect, cosy, country cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Chimney Gill cottage was a fantastic place to stay. The living areas were spacious and it was such a comfortable stay for all our group, including the baby. The whole house was beautifully decorated and was so cosy. The owners were really helpful and friendly, and the welcome pack was a nice touch. The attention to detail here was fantastic - we can't wait to come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean, cosy, spacious living area
Liked least: Can't think of anything - it was fantastic!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for a fantastic house.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have asked for more at Chimney Gill. Photographs on websites do not do justice to this house. Great place with everything you could ask for. Made even better by Tracy and Graham who made us feel so welcome. The welcome pack was a special touch as utter wad the best welcome pack i have had in any accommodation. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing