We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome food, rustic atmosphere, friendly”
Review of Smithy Restaurant

Smithy Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

We just love the full salad bar and fantastic service. The steaks are great and there is always a good fish option. You feel at home and there is a fire going in the colder weather. Enjoy the drinks and servers who are very experienced. Good value for the money.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2017

Great place to go to unwind. Fabulous fillies. Outstanding service and staff and the drinks are a good size.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank oldfolkinDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

The meal was excellent as always. The atmosphere was better since they added more lighting. Unfortunately, we sat next to a table of four people who had too much to drink and were extremely loud and used vulgar language.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monroe-CtCappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We stopped at The Smithy without any prior research and were delighted. They offered a starter cheese and cracker gratis. We split crab stuffed mushrooms which were delicious. The salad bar was small but adequate. The best part of the meal was the steak - beautifully cooked with a simple baked potato. The service was friendly, clearly a place the locals frequent.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Amazing to find such a solid, long standing, local establishment! It's the kind of place we've stumbled upon during travels in European home-towns. These folks know their customers by name, treat the newcomers (us) like old friends, and serve solid plates of hearty fare. Very fresh salad bar. We were seated promptly, beers served cold, cocktails generous. All 4 entrees served at once with correct temperatures. Steaks and duck were all very good. We comfortably lingered over dessert and after dinner drinks,

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babbettandcaptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smithy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing