We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
165
47
27
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
165
47
27
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower the cottages wood burning fireplace ice maker litchfield hills log cabin main building new england special property on premises bottle of prosecco magical place the entire staff stone cottage helicopter beaver spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 250 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2021

We had an hvac problem with the treehouse during our visit in December. Paolo could not have been more accommodating. Stuff happens, and Paolo was apologetic and went out of his way to make things right. The restaurant is divine and both dinner and breakfast were some of the best meals we have ever had. The service in the restaurant is top notch. Scott, a young man working in the main building could not have been more helpful and friendly. We rebooked our stay in June for another cottage, and we are looking forward to giving Winvian another try!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2021

We truly enjoyed returning to Winvian, this time with a stay in the spacious Maritime cottage, well maintained, had a wood burning fireplace with lots of firewood and private views of the woods; check in and check out were remote, minimal contact with the staff, with everyone we encountered abiding by Covid protocols. We had room service for dinner and breakfast, the latter of which is included in the room rate, and each meal was top notch, with punctual delivery as ordered. The staff was most responsive to advance emails and requests, looking forward to coming back when things get back to normal. Winvian is a short drive to Litchfield and Bantam, good shopping and dining destinations, with lots of outdoor recreational sites nearby.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tymelyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2021

This is a special property. Each cottage here is special whether it is the Helicopter, Greenhouse, Golf, Library, Log Cabin, Music or Stable. We stayed in the Woodlands which was spacious and beautiful. On our first stay it was fall. The service was fine. Breakfast was very good. Unfortunately the night we were there the kitchen was closed for dinner. None-the-less we recommended the hotel to several of our friends.

Our second stay was a different story. This time we planed our visit so that we might try the restaurant and check out the treehouse cottage with the kids.

We arrived late in the afternoon in time for dinner. The meal was quite good and we returned to our room to settle in for the night. The gas fireplace which had been working before dinner, was not working after dinner. We called the front desk. Upon investigation they declared that there was a "gas leak" and that they would have to shut off the gas. Since the room had heat, we thought nothing of it, stayed up a few hours, and by bed time, the room was chilly. The heat was not working. The front desk could do nothing at 11:30 pm. There were no extra blankets. No space heater. We were unable to sleep even with our down jackets over our covers. When morning came, the thermostat read 51 degrees. In my lifetime of staying in hotels throughout the world, this was singly the worst hotel experience I had ever had.

When we notified the hotel of our experience they offered to not charge us for our nights stay. This being a Relais Chateau, one of the world's top hotel groups, I suggested that they do more than the bare minimum. Even the Holiday Inn would offer to comp us on a night's stay in the future. After all, wouldn't they want to obliterate our highly negative experience with a positive one? It was our second stay there. We were members of the Relais Chateau Club. The answer from the owner was "no."

This is not what I expected from a Relais Chateau. Relais Chateaus typically go the extra mile to insure that its guests have a wonderful experience. There is often that wow factor. Not here. Pity. No more recommendations from me.

Room tip: Do not go when there is cold weather! You may not have heat.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antionio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2021

A great place to getaway at the height of the COVID pandemic, though very pricey. We had the camping cottage for three nights. Everyone was very friendly and the service was very good. Perhaps a notch below what one would expect because of the pandemic. We had room service two nights. It came on time and the food was very good but lacked for something not being in the dining room. Breakfast was tasty but not special, and they twice sent the wrong dish (on two separate of the three mornings). They quickly brought the correct one. The cabins are incredibly creative. We stayed in Camping, which felt very isolated, looking out in to the woods. We couldnt see others and they couldnt see us. Very romatic with a big steam shower and a double-size jacuzzi tub. The electronics could use an update -- couldnt connect to the stereo with bluetooth and the TV doesnt have apps or an easy way to connect to a streaming device. We used the fireplaces and loved them, though ended up picking up kindling around the woods to make it easier to start. They were very communicative beforehand, and for our anniversary gave us a bottle of champagne that was on ice in the room for our arrival. Robes, towels and linens were luxurious.

Room tip: look at the website & map to choose a cabin that suits you. Some are more isolated than others.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2021

I stayed in January 2021 with my kids and it was incredible to have them experience the Helicopter. Scott Cooper welcomed us with refreshments and brought us all the things we needed, he was exceptionally good at anticipating what we needed. Professional and so on top of it, including setting up a fire for us and playing with the kids! What an great experience!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Q7381JRelizabethk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews