We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #3 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the House of 1833. Robert and Evan were very welcoming and the house has so much history and charm. Everything was very clean with nice attention to detail. The location is perfect in relation to the downtown Mystic area. The savory style breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdoebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    22
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
135
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I have been going back to the House of 1833 for 12 years now, since we first got engaged there. Our time there dates back to previous owners, who were wonderful. But, we do love some of the changes Evan and Robert have made over the last few years. We happen to enjoy the less formal dining experience during breakfast than you get in most B&Bs.

Since we now travel with our kids, we find the addition of the small TVs a wonderful treat. We weren't missing them previously, but it is a nice option to be able to throw in a DVD. Likewise the CD players. Most of the rooms also have a jacuzzi tub and all have a fireplace or wood burning stove.

Evan and Robert are wonderful hosts who seem able to handle any special requests. They not only allow children, which is a rarity in B&Bs, but they love having them. We have such a special feeling every time we stay there and we are sure to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millerm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My fiancee and I had our first B&B experience at House of 1833, made us wonder why we waited so long to try one. We wanted a stress-free getaway, and decided that a weekend trip to Mystic would fit the bill. I made a very last-minute reservation but Evan was able to accomodate.

First off, as other reviews have stated, the downstairs area is filled with antiques. That said, the place as a whole seems very clean and well maintained. Once we made it up to our room, the "Cupola," there was much less antique "clutter." The room was very private and, again, appeared to be very clean. Lots of live flowers, loved the smell.

We dropped our stuff off in the room and spent the day checking out Mystic. The B&B is a pretty short drive from just about everything you'd want to do - acquarium, old mystic, downtown etc. We didn't find any problems getting around.

Coming back to the room at night, the jacuzzi tub was appreciated and we watched a DVD on the small TV in the room. We had chilled a bottle of wine in the mini-fridge downstairs - this place really had all the main amenities we appreciate when staying at a hotel, but with much more charm.

What really made the trip was the Sunday morning breakfast. Sunday is pancake day, and Evan really knows how to make his pancakes. There were no less than 9 varities of pancakes offered. I regret not going for a second round now, as even today I still find myself thinking about how good the pancakes were.

Liked this place so much that we hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EYEHAVEYOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Robert and Evan really have a wonderful place at the House of 1833. They both do their best to make you feel at home, which we did immediately. The house is filled with an eclectic mix of antiques adding to the charm. They were more than happy to give us a tour of the house, inform us about activities going on in the area, suggesting places to eat and things to do.

They have a dog, Buddy who is a sweetheart, but is respectful and they are very sure to make sure he doesn't bother you.

We stayed in the Veranda Room which was amazing. It had a hot tub, a very comfortable bed, a sitting area and a little porch off of it.

The area is truly beautiful and there has so much to do, we visited Clydes Cider Mill which was right down the street and got some great apple wine. We visited the downtown area and did an afternoon trip to Foxwoods, which was just a 15 minute drive from the House of 1833.

I highly recommend the House of 1833 and we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Veranda Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I had a beautiful weekend in Mystic, CT! It couldn't have been more perfect.... the weather was beautifully warm and the B&B we stayed in was warm and friendly. The owners, Evan and Robert, are exceptional people. They make you feel welcome and at home (their home really is your home). The grounds are gorgeous with all the flowers and plants in bloom. Robert's cooking is to die for. Don't worry if you're a big eater... it's not a problem at the 1833 house. Sunday breakfast is amazing... so much so that I couldn't even begin to do it justice. You'll need to experience it for yourself. We tried to get the "family recipes" from them but to no avail..lol. Their coffee is their own blend and I asked if they've ever considered selling it. Evan, put me down for some when it becomes available! This B& B is very close to the casino and we enjoyed a night of comedy there as well as a delicious dinner. The Mystic seaport was very interesting and the weekend we were there, they were having their chowder fest - good times. There are lots of vineyards around and my husband and I visited one of them while there. The 1833 House is very conveniently located among all the activities. My husband and I are already talking about going back next fall to visit more vineyards and the cider mill which is literally up the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JHA112465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesburg
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just stayed one night at the House of 1833. While it wasn't perfect it was just what we expected and the pluses made up for the minuses.

The B&B (as you would expect) is a mansion built in 1833. One of the owners is a descendant of the original owner Elias Brown. The place is packed with antiques. Everywhere you turn there are new (old) things to see.

The pluses
+ Evan and Robert (the owners) were great. Personable, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I mentioned in passing that it was my wife's birthday as we were leaving for dinner. When we got back to the room they had gotten us a small cake, hung up a birthday banner and a balloon!

+ The food was good. They had a great tea selection.

+ The bed in the peach room was very comfortable.

+ Nice big Jacuzzi in the Peach room

+ Nice private porch.

Minuses
- The TV was a little small

- The Wireless Internet barely reached our room

- The bathroom could use some repairs. There were some cracked tiles outside the shower and on the floor.

- The outside of the house could use some repairs.

Neutral observations:

- The place is not very handicap friendly the peach room's bed, for example is very high (by design) and all of the wonderful antiques make moving around inside a bit difficult. They don't claim to be handicap accessible so this is just an observation.

- The road outside has a bit more traffic than I expected.

- The porch outside the peach room faces west. This makes sitting outside in the afternoon a bit hard as the bright sun hits it directly.

Overall I, highly recommend this B&B. Just be aware it's a bed and breakfast in a house that is 168 years old. Go for a nice romantic stay where you can feel like you are living in a different era. Don't go expecting an ultra modern place. If we are in the area again we will definitely vist Evan and Robert at the House of 1833.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stopped in without notice and was met by the co-owner, who made us feel right at home. The history and stories behind the historic mansion and all the antiques was fascinating. The room was very nicely appointed with peroid antiques and was a great place to have quiet time. Breakfast awaited and could have been served in any five star resaurant!!! The owners could not have been nicer. Our next trip to that area will have us staying here again. Great location to the most popular area attractions. Thanks Evan and Robert.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice. We enoyed the Ivy room during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdavis357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
4.7 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
5.0 km away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.8 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Property: House of 1833
Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing