We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room, dinner iffy at best”
Review of Hilton Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Mystic
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
268 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“nice room, dinner iffy at best”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The room was spacious, lots of bathroom counter space, and very clean. Stopped by the have a bite to eat @ 8:30, and the place was almost empty. Ordered the roasted beet salad with grilled chicken..thank goodness for the addition of the chicken. The greens were wilted and not eatable, probably should have been discarded days before.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    268
    152
    49
    42
See reviews for
276
252
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Mystic Hilton in early February. The hotel is nice, rooms were clean and the service was fine. Pool area was great and our seven year old and her 4 year old cousin had a blast swimming. The hotel is close to everything you need from shopping to dining and is right across the street from the aquarium which is super convenient if that's why you are headed to the area. It's also close to both Mohegan and Foxwoods Casino's too.

Now for the but part. The second night that we stayed had some challenges. We were gone for the better part of the day and when we arrived back at the hotel a little after dinner there was this nearly intolerable smell of smoke. It seemed as though there had been a fire at the hotel. We proceeded to ask the person at the front desk and were told that someone had forgot to open the flu on the chimney when they lit a fire in the fireplace. Somehow the smell was throughout the hotel so obviously the fire went a while before this was detected. It would have been nice to get at least an apology from the manager which did not happen and was disappointing. They put fans in the hallways throughout but those had very little affect.

Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valuble feedback of the Hilton Mystic. I am very happy to see how pleased you were with our pool. I am also glad that you found our location to be convenient to your needs. I am very sorry about the incident with the fireplace. Since then, our managment team has come up with a new procedure that assures that this does not happen again. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Pros:
Nice front desk staff
Good buffet breakfast
Comfortable Beds
Nice Location
Free ample parking

Cons:
Loudest heater in the room we have ever heard on any trip (literally no sleep)
Hallway noise super loud - sounded like everyone was in the room
Old furniture - chipped and dinged, ripped up arms on the chair at desk
Place just didn't feel clean.....

Do yourself a favor on this trip and take a sidetrip in to Stonington, ct and have lunch at the Water Street Cafe or dinner at the Skipper Dock on the water -- well worth the 10 minute drive....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argyletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for giving us some feedback on your experience at the Hilton Mystic. I am very happy to see that you were pleased with our Front Desk staff, breakfast, beds, and convenient location. I am very sorry about the noise from the heater. I will certainly bring this to the attention of our Engineering department in order for a solution to be reached.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I wanted to go away but within easy driving distance and we decided to head to Mystic area. Stayed at the hotel and it was a great place to stay. I would agree that the only complaint I would have is that the bathroom is much smaller than used to while the room was really spacious ... wondering if designed this way to accomodate cots for children in the room ... since there were so many families with small children around. Room was very clean, bed was just so comfy and we went and had dinner there one night and we were pleased and my husband went down the next night to get an order to go to bring back to the room and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. I also would suggest that the hotel have more items stocked in their small "store" area since the vending machines didn't carry much variety.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room fairly close to the elevator ... we had quite a winding walk to our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlloverNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer feedback on our hotel. I am pleased to see that you found our staff to be accommodating. I am also happy that you found our restaurant to be a good option for dinner. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked a room on PriceLine and landed here. Ended up getting a room for $89. Had a very nice indoor heated pool. Nice rooms although small bathrooms. No complaints at all especially for the price I got. We got a cab to FoxWoods which was about $25 each way so not super close but I dont think many hotels are close to Foxwoods. Walking distance to the aquirium, Mystic Village and some other shops (all literaly across the street). Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobslow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very happy to see that you were pleased with your stay. I am glad to see that you found our location to be convenient to your needs. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is truly phenomenal. I came to Mystic for 4 nights with my family to visit downtown and go to the casinos. I originally had a reservation at the Howard Johnson down the road, but upon arrival, I realized the rooms and staff were very dirty and unfriendly. After one night at the Howard Johnson, I left and stayed at the Hilton Mystic.The staff truly is the definition of hospitality, especially the front desk. The front desk manager, Jeff, was very friendly and helpful. He checked me in and could answer all my questions. I went up to my room to find it was VERY quiet and the beds were amazing. The bathroom is a little cramped, but that's not a main issue. The TV's were much better than the one's at the Howard Johnson. I called down to the Front Desk to ask questions about restaurants and transportation, and Anna was very helpful. She brought a few menus up to our room for us and gave great recommendations. When we checked out, Corinne was very sweet and answered our questions about the Aquarium. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Mystic and look forward to coming again this summer for the beaches!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor, very quiet, rooms spacious and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Everything was very clean, and the staff was awesome. I requested a room that faced the sunrise and it was made possible. The staff is young and eager to please with a heavy focus of tending to each guest's needs. The only thing that got me, was the fact that I could not print from the business center computer, but they were able to print from their own computer to compensate for that. If you are staying at Mystic, this is the place to stay, across the street from the aquarium and all of the 60 plus shops, and very accessible to food all over. If you do not want to travel much this hotel puts you in the hub.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am very happy to see how pleased you were with your experience at our hotel. I am glad you found our location to be convenient to your needs. We hope to see you again soon, should you return to Myctic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
2.3 km away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mystic

Property: Hilton Mystic
Address: 20 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Mystic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mystic, Connecticut, just one block from Interstate-95, Conveniently located for both corporate and leisure visitors alike. You'll appreciate the convenient location of our newly renovated Mystic, CT hotel as a coastal stopping point between New York City and Boston, MA, filled with historic charm of maritime New England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hilton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing