We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Dec. Booking was quick and very courteous by calling the hotel directly. As frequent visitors to NH, we've stayed at almost all of the hotels in the downtown area except for the Omni, so with a promotion at the time, we decided to give it a try. Overall, our stay wasn't the best, and here's is why:
Reception: We found the front desk staff to be polite but not necessarily welcoming. The lobby itself was disappointing, very dark and extremely dated (depressing is the word the came to mind).
Room: As a previous reviewer mentioned, the room (and the whole hotel) smelled (and looked) old. Our room was no exception, we felt like we stepped back in time. There was dust on the desk, the lamps, the phone, etc. The bathroom was very small and awkwardly laid out with the toilet seat blocking much of the already small counter space. You basically have to stand to one side and make sure you put the lid on so your toiletries don't end up in the toilet. We didn't sleep well, you could hear every little sound that's coming from other bathrooms (we called reception and were briefly told that 'all rooms are like that'). The coffee maker was in a drawer, unplugged, and impossible to use unless you place it somewhere else. We had to go behind the TV counter to find an outlet and plug the thing (very strange). The coffee was good though.
Other issues: As new members of their 'Select Guest' program, we were offered free coffee delivered to room each morning. First morning coffee arrived (was very good), next morning there was no coffee in sight, despite the fact that we filled out and placed the order form as required. Such inconsistencies don't go with the chain reputation and guests' expectations.
We politely requested to check out a bit later as we had a transatlantic flight on day of departure and we were told by reception staff (young lady with long curly hair) that 'someone was going to be staying in the room'. We were out all day, came back and asked again and were given a couple hours with no questions asked (meaning we were either lied to the first time, or at least someone wasn't being very professional).
Day of departure, we sat waiting for our airport shuttle in the dark, and very cold lobby (due to the way it's designed) and couldn't wait to get out of there. Next stay, we're going back to our favorite: The New Haven Hotel, right around the corner with better value and better everything. Sorry, can't recommend and won't come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is a very exciting time for us as we are nearing completion of our guest room renovation. We hope these updates will address many of your comments regarding asthetics. We would like to express our apologies for the inconsistancies you experienced in with our various services. Your feedback is valuable for allowing us to understand where we have opportunity to make improvements. We regret that your stay fell below your expectations and our own and we hope for a second opportunity to regain your confidence in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel's location is perfect! The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. The rooms were clean, comfortable, updated, and offered a great view of the Yale Campus.

I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkline02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

We appreciate your recommendation of The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. If you return to the area we hope to once again welcome you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

spent New Year's Eve here and as always, it is consistently a great hotel. Check in is super easy and the rooms are always great. Dinner in the John Davenport restaraunt was terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for continuing to choose The Omni New Haven at Yale for your accommodations. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed 2 nights in early December. We upgraded to a larger king, corner room. The bathrooms are very small and dated. Rooms were clean and service was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovemaineusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Omni New Haven. We are in the process of refreshing our rooms and hope you will return to experience our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Each year my company sponsors a Holiday Party at this hotel. They offer a special rate to take the elevator home after the party. Last year I had a special room request with a view of the harbor and their Loyalty Ambassador Denise not only granted my request for this year; but remembered my reservation from a year ago and proactively reserved a room for me with the same view prior to making my request. Her attention to detail and customer satisfaction is an example of all the associates at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable so when traveling in the New Haven Connecticut area, the Omni at Yale is your home away from home....Thanks Denise..!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDSKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

We are thrilled to read how well you were taken care of by Denise and look forward to sharing your kind words with her. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we will look forward to your stay next year, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very convenient to the Yale hospital. Staff was very accommodating. The iron in my room would not warm and they brought me a new one in 10 minutes. My only complaint would be the high price of their wireless Internet. It was 10$ per day. Also in their business center there was a charge for Internet access unless you were printing boarding passes. But overall it was a great stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and I had two nights of restful sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

We are glad you had a great stay at The Omni New Haven at Yale but regret that we did not better communicate our options for wireless internet. All guests are invited to sign up for our Select Guest program at no charge and one of the many perks is complimentary wireless internet. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I have been doing business in New Haven for many years and have experience with this hotel since before it was purchased by the Omni chain. I stayed at this hotel once again last night. As always, I was treated very well at this hotel, and have found the staff to be uniformly pleasant and helpful, perhaps because I am a Select Guest. The chain has made an effort to keep the hotel in reasonably good shape, at least with modern furnishings (bed, TV and bathroom) and the free apples in the lobby are tasty and a nice touch. But there is only so much you can do with a building of this age and in this location. The lobby and the dining room on the 19th floor fall somewhere between faded elegance and borderline dingy. If you are sensitive to noise it is very difficult to find a quiet room (and I've tried rooms all over the hotel). In addition to street noise (even on very high floors) because of the location, the elevators are noisy (even the rooms in the corridor at the back of the elevator are noisy -- from some of them it sounds as though the elevator is running through the bathroom!). Plus you can hear what seems to be just about every shower and toilet in the hotel, so starting around 5am you are serenaded by an almost constant water symphony. As for olfactory considerations, the hotel smells "old" -- not really musty, just "old" (go into a room and take a deep breath and you'll get the idea). Every time I have to go to New haven, I pledge to try the Study, a newer hotel, but somehow I always end up at the Omni. Maybe it's the value propostiion that keeps bringing me back -- I suspect the cost of a room here is among the lowest in the Omni chain.

Room Tip: There are very few quiet rooms. If noise bothers you, try to get a room away from temple Street and...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Thank you for your continued patronage to our property and for your feedback both positive and constructive. We are in the process of a room and corridor refresh and are certain this will address many of the concerns in your review. We hope that our new look will give you reason to stay with us again so we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.2 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
586 reviews
1.0 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.9 km away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.6 km away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
105 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $221 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing