We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
14
27
23
16
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
27
23
16
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yale campus bathroom fixtures trappings warp downtown school
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was likely once a wonderful place to stay, at least maybe when it was built in 1894. Today, the hotel is less than no frills. The elevator does not operate until after 8 a.m. It is in deteriorating condition. It was suitable for a one night stay, barely. There was a mouse trap in my room. The air conditioning barely worked. The carpet felt like a scouring pad. There is running water, and they do give complementary bars of soap. Overall, this was a bad choice of places to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank LINYTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Let start with the positives.... Yes, this is not a chain hotel and the entrance lobby and elevator are original and pleasant (though not Wow!!). The staff were polite.
The hotel advertises itself as being the cheapest in New Haven. If this is the case, you should count the cost of cheapness.... The only complimentary item was a very thin bar of soap which broke on first use. So, no complimentary breakfast, toiletries, tea or coffee (or the means to make them - though our rooms did have a fridge and microwave; but only flimsy plastic cups that you couldn't have used in said microwave).
The rooms (described as "city view", which meant unattractive roof tops) were functional and not very big; carpets especially obviously fairly ancient and "used". The beds were relatively comfortable, but what is the point of a bed if there is a noise like building works outside your window ALL night. It was loud, constant and prevented me from sleeping, though - to be scrupulously fair - my husband, who travels a lot and had his own earplugs (none provided by hotel), slept ok. The man on the desk said it was the exhaust system for the car park next door - so I accept not directly the hotel's fault, but I don't pay to not sleep next to a noisy garage, with no warning, ear plugs, attempt to do anything about it.
No plug in one of the bathroom sinks - though they said they would rectify this - and out toilet blocked for no obvious reason.
I wouldn't ever go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you won't get any noise - if they have any.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KateB4394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Unfortunately this hotel is going to close for refurbishment, which will mean the loss of a reasonably-priced idiosyncratic place with lots of character for the sake of yet another expensive boutique hotel.
The rooms aren't brilliant, rundown, but they have all the basics. What isn't there you can ask the staff for and they'll provide.
The big plus is the quaintness of the place. Like the 100 year old lift, the oldest hand operated lift in the area, which has a tendency to get stuck, but is something from a bygone era and should definitely have a conservation order on it. The lobby is an old-fashioned tiled area with old photographs and the feel of a 1950s film set. The staff are amazing - helpful, chatty, informative.
There's no restaurant, but ample provision round about. It's a couple of blocks from the shuttle to the train station, and handy for university and all amenities.
There's free wifi, but it doesn't seem to work in the bedrooms.
You have only a couple of months left to stay here before it shuts down and this gem is lost forever.

Room Tip: If you get one on the first floor you don't run the risk of getting stuck in the lift
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017

When I read the reviews as "old hotel" I didn't mind because "old " sometimes has its own charm but when I entered my room the smell is like an infirmary center - its like an old hospital, being sanitized. I agree that its not for everyone. the smell scared me imagining weird things like this could have been an old hospital decade ago. However, I must say that the hotel is clean but noisy aircon at night and the TV is the oldest, imagine the black and white days era.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SaishaPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Walking into the Duncan was like stepping back in time. I found the old school decor and furniture quite charming. The staff was very friendly, the room and all other areas clean and everything working like it should. Having said that, it's certainly not a luxury hotel but I wouldn't let that stop me from staying there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews