We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend one night in Premiere Hotel and Suites moving from NYC to Boston. It is very close to the I95, and 15 min. by car from the city centre of New Haven. The Hotel is organized as a Motel with small buildings containing few rooms. When we arrived the staff was not particularly kind, but in general efficient. We parked our car and in the alleyway there was a bad smell, probably due to the compost in the flowerbeds: but inside the room everything was fine and clean. Also a kithchen was available, but we didn't used it except from the microwave oven, where we coocked some complimentary popcorns...! The breakfast was nice, with cackes, waffles, fruit, etc. served in the common room. In general a good experience: the price was not so cheap, even if aligned with the "Boston area".

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Premiere Hotel on April 17th and 18th while visiting the University for business. I checked into the hotel late at night and the front desk associate was super helpful, my room key was ready and I was into my room in a few minutes. I enjoyed the fresh breakfast each morning that was included with the stay and also had the opportunity to enjoy the included dinner on the night of the 18th - a pasta dinner with fresh salad. This was super convenient considering I did not know the area and I prefer not to go out and eat by myself when I am traveling alone. The room was also huge - much too big for a single traveler - with a kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The location was perfect - 1 minute off the highway and a safe location close to all parts of town. I would definitely stay here again and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting the area - whether alone on business or with family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManagerSoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here twice in building #9. The building is in an industrial part of town, but the room was spacious with a sitting area, kitchenette and fireplace. The mattresses were comfortable. The only minor detractions were that there wasn't WIFI, but the ethernet worked fine and there wasn't a waste basket in the bathroom area. The breakfast was good with a waffle machine and eggs and on Monday through Thursday a modest dinner was served! This made the hotel well worth the price.
Also, if you want to use the complementary shuttle, reserve it in advance.

Room Tip: Building #9 was fine. You can request a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We (couple) stayed at the hotel for five nights in February 2012, mainly because of the convenience of the location for our purpose. Although our experience was mainly positive, the following items need to be addressed by the management of the hotel.
1. The suite looked clean until a closer inspection of the floors; they need to be cleaned thoroughly, particularly the corners.
2. The entrance area of the suite needs more lighting (overhead lighting would probably be most suitable), particularly around the front closet and around the fireplace.
3. The staff could use proper hospitality training; they seem to be doing their best but it is obvious that they don't have proper guidance in dealing with guests.
4. Complimentary shuttle - the driver didn't wear a seat belt nor did he ask the passengers to wear one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite while visiting Yale. Loved the rooms, king bed downstairs, queen in loft, each with own bathroom suite. Fireplace and sofa bed in livingroom, nice kitchen. Loads of pillows on the beds. Freindly staff and offers a nice breakfast in lobby,not just stale danish and coffee as at some places. Only slight drawbacks: faucet for shower a little confusing (just pull down on end of faucet!) And no wifi in rooms, only in lobby. But a great place well worth the price and will definately stay again when in area.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The room is very nice, and super clean, breakfast really good and location convenient but the room was so hot and the AC doesn't give you the chance to change temperature. I had to open the balcony doors and sleep with doors open cause the room was so hot !
Also they have a long wire sticked with a heavy rock ( so you cannot steal the wire )that you connect to your computer for Internet service. The Internet is so slow I couldn't really get anything done.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MechiSchlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at Premier Suites for a third time for a business trip. This hotel consistently lacks in service and rooms are dated. Knowing what to expect I am able to look past this and enjoy the non-traditional hotel room with a fireplace and kitchen for less than the Omni hotel. There is a free shuttle and if you drive, parking is free.

If you decide to stay here request a room that is either close to the gatehouse(Buildings 12,11,10) or a room overlooking the parking lot. The rooms at the back are scary since it overlooks a run down neighborhood. If you want a room with a fireplace, you must request it during the reservation.

My room was a studio suite it is equip with a stove top, full sized fridge, microwave and dishwasher. There is a sleeper sofa, work desk and a kitchen table. The dishes, pots and pans are provided. There is a work out room.

The hotel provides breakfast and dinner (dinner mon-thurs). The food is just ok. The cook’s could use a lesson at a culinary school. There are local restaurants to try such as Brazi’s Italian or Sage located on the water. Ikea is less than a half mile away

Room Tip: Request a room in buildings 10,11,12 or overlooking the parking lot to avoid an unsightly neighborho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
1.9 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.8 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
10.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Address: 3 Long Wharf Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5900 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $161 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, AAA Three Diamond rated, independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers guest spacious suites and a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, area business, government or family travel. We also offer excellent optsion for employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs for the New Haven area. Our full hot breakfast buffet offered daily satisfies the hungriest travelers, and a light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday is also provided. Other amenities include ample parking, local area shuttle service, business center, Wi-Fi (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, and friendly daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing