We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenience over style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“convenience over style”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I spent only one night at this hotel/motel to see a play at the Long Wharf Theater nearby. Traveling as a single woman, I was not thrilled to be booked into a ground floor room at the back of the complex under a stairway. As soon as I mentioned my concerns to the manager, she moved me to another, more comfortable spot right away. The rooms are large and mine was very clean. None of the windows opens so there is no fresh air but that is not unusual nowadays. The complex was only half full (on a weekday) and was very quiet. The kitchen was very well appointed, and coffee, ice water and fresh fruit were available in the lobby. Walking anywhere from this site was a bit dicey as there was no sidewalk leading to Sargent Road, the larger road out into New Haven. The walk was manageable, and only about fifteen minutes to the theater. Downtown New Haven also was within walking distance, but again a little tricky in the evening without a sidewalk.

Room Tip: Women traveling alone would do well to request second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dralixj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    124
    84
    40
    38
See reviews for
173
70
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, U.S.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed at Premier Hotel & Suites twice while on business in the New Haven area. It is very comfortable, spacious and well-maintained. The suite had a good sized living space with a couch, coffee table and fireplace. There was also a complete kitchen with everything needed for a long-term stay.

The location is very convenient right off Interstate 95, but it is out of sight and sound of the highway. The location is like an industrial park, so you would not go out for a sightseeing walk. Plan to drive wherever you need to go.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SomtimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

The desk staff at check in and check out were helpful and efficient. Our room was quiet and the bed was comfy. The extensive breakfast buffet had so many good options to choose from--- waffles, eggs, tortillas and chili (Cinco de mayo weekend), hot and cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels and more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baedteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padova, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend one night in Premiere Hotel and Suites moving from NYC to Boston. It is very close to the I95, and 15 min. by car from the city centre of New Haven. The Hotel is organized as a Motel with small buildings containing few rooms. When we arrived the staff was not particularly kind, but in general efficient. We parked our car and in the alleyway there was a bad smell, probably due to the compost in the flowerbeds: but inside the room everything was fine and clean. Also a kithchen was available, but we didn't used it except from the microwave oven, where we coocked some complimentary popcorns...! The breakfast was nice, with cackes, waffles, fruit, etc. served in the common room. In general a good experience: the price was not so cheap, even if aligned with the "Boston area".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giuzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Premiere Hotel on April 17th and 18th while visiting the University for business. I checked into the hotel late at night and the front desk associate was super helpful, my room key was ready and I was into my room in a few minutes. I enjoyed the fresh breakfast each morning that was included with the stay and also had the opportunity to enjoy the included dinner on the night of the 18th - a pasta dinner with fresh salad. This was super convenient considering I did not know the area and I prefer not to go out and eat by myself when I am traveling alone. The room was also huge - much too big for a single traveler - with a kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The location was perfect - 1 minute off the highway and a safe location close to all parts of town. I would definitely stay here again and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting the area - whether alone on business or with family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagerSoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here twice in building #9. The building is in an industrial part of town, but the room was spacious with a sitting area, kitchenette and fireplace. The mattresses were comfortable. The only minor detractions were that there wasn't WIFI, but the ethernet worked fine and there wasn't a waste basket in the bathroom area. The breakfast was good with a waffle machine and eggs and on Monday through Thursday a modest dinner was served! This made the hotel well worth the price.
Also, if you want to use the complementary shuttle, reserve it in advance.

Room Tip: Building #9 was fine. You can request a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We (couple) stayed at the hotel for five nights in February 2012, mainly because of the convenience of the location for our purpose. Although our experience was mainly positive, the following items need to be addressed by the management of the hotel.
1. The suite looked clean until a closer inspection of the floors; they need to be cleaned thoroughly, particularly the corners.
2. The entrance area of the suite needs more lighting (overhead lighting would probably be most suitable), particularly around the front closet and around the fireplace.
3. The staff could use proper hospitality training; they seem to be doing their best but it is obvious that they don't have proper guidance in dealing with guests.
4. Complimentary shuttle - the driver didn't wear a seat belt nor did he ask the passengers to wear one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.9 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
574 reviews
2.3 km away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
766 reviews
2.3 km away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Property: New Haven Village Suites
Address: 3 Long Wharf Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5900 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, family owned and operated, AAA Three Diamond rated, small independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers recently renovated guest suites including a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, business, government or family travel, employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs in the New Haven area. So what makes us New Haven Village Suites? By offering so many first rate complimentary services, and true New England hospitality, we are pleased that our guests have "shouted-out" praises resulting in the hotel being ranked as one of New Haven's best hotel values and "hidden gems". Our guests will never pay for Full Hot Buffet Daily Breakfast, offering enough to satisfy the hungriest travelers, light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday, parking, local area shuttle service, business center, WIFI (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, or our friendly daily housekeeping service. Ask about our all inclusive living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing