We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious rooms but room was dark” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Haven Village Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sandwich
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms but room was dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here on a business trip the first week in June and was very satisfied, but my room, 312, was very dark-it was on the ground floor underneath a staircase and such, had very little light. The room itself was pleasant, though, with the exception of the very dated kitchen. And for wireless, you had to sit in the guesthouse. Breakfast was good, managers complimentary light 'dinner' could substitute as a dinner in a pinch. Cookies placed near the coffee and water were quite good. Staff at front desk were excellent.

I'd go back but only if I specified staying in a bright room!

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    119
    80
    40
    32
See reviews for
162
64
29
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel was clean on the surface and acceptable but a deeper cleaning could have improved the look especially in the bathroom tile. The staff at the front desk was helpful but gruff at times. The room configurations were spacious and flexible which accommodated our families nicely. No pool was a downer especially because we had 15 kids their and it would have been a welcom respite from the heat. The breakfast was edible but not fantastic. I appreciated that they brought it out earlier than scheduled so our players could eat before an early 8am game. Overall, good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a good hotel, with all the conveniences you may need and more. Tired of restaurant food? The fully equipped kitchen offers the opportunity for you to cook your own meals. There are 3 closets, great for those who need an extended stay.
There is internet - it's hard-wired in the rooms, and wireless in the reception area.
The breakfast has cold cereals, juices, coffee,tea, a waffle maker, bread, bagels, a few warm choices that vary (sausage, eggs, biscuits), muffins.
Additionally, the hotel offers a light complimentary dinner (good value!).
All rooms are eco-friendly. The hotel also has a recycling program, a composting program, and the hotel is accredited by the State of CT as a certified green facility.
There are only a few details that would make rate this hotel "5 out of 5". The carpet's corners need to be addressed, there is a little mold underneath the caulking in the shower, the staff could be a little friendlier (they ARE efficient, but it is cool when you experience genuine friendly service), the hotel is not in a "walkable" location. In the end, I would definitely stay at Premiere again.
OK, if you decided to stay at New Haven Premiere, you'll be glad you READ THIS: to get the SHOWER to operate, you should pull down the ring from the spout where the water first comes out. Trust me, this happens to many people as I could hear the staff from the reception area receiving daily phone calls with the same question. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The room smelled stale and we had to pay almost 3 times the normal price because it was Yale graduation week.
The shuttle was very accommodating and helpful. would only stay there again when normal rates apply.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Every time we visit the New Haven area and need a hotel, we stay at Premiere Suites and we have never been disappointed. We have stayed in two types of suites - regular and exective with two sleeping areas and have been satisfied with each. I was amazed at how quiet the upstairs sleeping area was even though it is basically a loft. Also even with only French doors dividing the master bedroom from the living area, it was practically sound proof. The staff is always pleasant and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. I feel the prices are quite reasonable for the area and especially for such spacious suites. The property is set back in an industrial park so it is quiet and I felt very safe. We have family in an adjacent town and it takes hardly any time to get there because the hotel is very convenient to the highway. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to this area and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I spent only one night at this hotel/motel to see a play at the Long Wharf Theater nearby. Traveling as a single woman, I was not thrilled to be booked into a ground floor room at the back of the complex under a stairway. As soon as I mentioned my concerns to the manager, she moved me to another, more comfortable spot right away. The rooms are large and mine was very clean. None of the windows opens so there is no fresh air but that is not unusual nowadays. The complex was only half full (on a weekday) and was very quiet. The kitchen was very well appointed, and coffee, ice water and fresh fruit were available in the lobby. Walking anywhere from this site was a bit dicey as there was no sidewalk leading to Sargent Road, the larger road out into New Haven. The walk was manageable, and only about fifteen minutes to the theater. Downtown New Haven also was within walking distance, but again a little tricky in the evening without a sidewalk.

Room Tip: Women traveling alone would do well to request second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dralixj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, U.S.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed at Premier Hotel & Suites twice while on business in the New Haven area. It is very comfortable, spacious and well-maintained. The suite had a good sized living space with a couch, coffee table and fireplace. There was also a complete kitchen with everything needed for a long-term stay.

The location is very convenient right off Interstate 95, but it is out of sight and sound of the highway. The location is like an industrial park, so you would not go out for a sightseeing walk. Plan to drive wherever you need to go.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SomtimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.9 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.8 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
2.3 km away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.3 km away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Property: New Haven Village Suites
Address: 3 Long Wharf Drive, New Haven, CT 06511 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, family owned and operated, AAA Three Diamond rated, small independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers recently renovated guest suites including a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, business, government or family travel, employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs in the New Haven area. So what makes us New Haven Village Suites? By offering so many first rate complimentary services, and true New England hospitality, we are pleased that our guests have "shouted-out" praises resulting in the hotel being ranked as one of New Haven's best hotel values and "hidden gems". Our guests will never pay for Full Hot Buffet Daily Breakfast, offering enough to satisfy the hungriest travelers, light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday, parking, local area shuttle service, business center, WIFI (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, or our friendly daily housekeeping service. Ask about our all inclusive living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing