We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wings!!”
Review of Hot Rod Cafe

Hot Rod Cafe
Ranked #11 of 155 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Hot Rod Cafe is a fun and friendly neighborhood bar and restaurant featuring 24 kinds of beer on tap and 24 kinds of wings. Great water view and service!
Restaurant details
Description: Hot Rod Cafe is a fun and friendly neighborhood bar and restaurant featuring 24 kinds of beer on tap and 24 kinds of wings. Great water view and service!
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

This is a must stop for every wing lover. They have around 35 flavors to choose from and none will disappoint. They wings are crispy and full of flavor and Wednesday is all you can eat for $19.99, so show up hunger and get your money's worth. The restaurant itself is decent with a lot of choices for beer as well. Staff is decent as well and always kept my glass full!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pataquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in for a couple beers. There is a good pub vibe here, and the bartenders were nice and friendly.

We weren’t really hungry, but they have a sign outside that claims the best chicken wings in Connecticut...so...we had to try them!

So...we love spicy food...and almost every ‘hot’ wing out there is pretty puny. For some ungodly reason I asked for wings as spicy as they could make them.

O...M...G. The cook must have summoned forth old scratch himself, because after choking down one wing each, we were in hell. No human being could have finished the order. They were good, though! Great flavor, just searingly hot.

Great place to grab a beer!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank D and J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

This was a neat spot, you can sit outside, nice deck and atmosphere. But, the waitstaff was terrible, couldn’t remember our orders, brought the wrong drinks twice, we ordered chips and because 3 people in our party said yes chips, she brought us 3 orders!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank mangiabaum302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

The food here is amazing! They are known for the wings/wing sauce. My personal fav is the cajun ranch sauce! The servers are awesome here even when it get's busy. The owner Rod is in during the busy times to help out and chat with the customers. Will always go back!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelGirlCT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

It was a cold wintery day we stopped in, but the restaurant was warm and crowded with patrons. We ordered drinks from a very pleasant and attentive server and made selections from the menu. Our calamari was brought quickly with specially made cocktail sauce instead of the menu listed marinara. The food was delicious and our server spent a few minutes with us telling about the river view from the outdoor deck. If you need a lunch or dinner meal or just want to enjoy the ambience of a well managed cafe, stop by Hot Rods for a bite or drinks. If the weather permits, go out on the deck and enjoy the view of the Thames River.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank virginiamartin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Rod Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hot Rod Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing