We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for New London”

Captain Scott's Lobster Dock
Ranked #2 of 4 Quick Bites in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed October 21, 2018

It's a popular local and tourist outdoor shack. A decent lobster roll but not up to Maine standards. The line moves fairly quickly. It's not easy to find. I haven't lived in New London for years but I did live there and still missed it. Use your GPS!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjdotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 784 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

the food was great, but the young lady inside of the store who took the order was asking for tips...for God's sake, it's a take out self service.
not good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank golfgary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Captain Scott’s is the hidden gem of New London. Your GPS will have now problem finding the best lobster in New London.

They serve two sizes of lobster roll. $14 and $18. They are both well worth the price. The chowder is excellent!

The problem comes about is that when the weather turns bad you never know if they are closed or open. Yesterday around four o’clock they were closed. Maybe for the season. We couldn’t find anything on the web site to say why they were closed so early.

The best news is that we found another great lobster roll not far from Captain Scott’s.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank brernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Vacationed here the first week of September this year, the day we arrived, Costello's had closed for the season. So we went to Captain Scott's to get out whole belly clam fix. Picnic tables under a ton roof covered shelter on the edge of the marina...quaint. Informal, plastic cutlery, poured the rain while we were there and it blew in into us, our table and our food. Could not move as all the tables were full. Counter service was like a Dairy Queen, a very young girl took our order and was not friendly, but rather stand offish. The whole belly clams here I would rate at a 4 out of 10. We will not be back, yes we loved the idea of eating by the Marina but for 65.00 for 3 small cardboard boats of clams and three watery soda pops, we expected not only more, but at the very least, a greeting or she contact from the Counter help. Save your money and time, go to Costello's!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Food was great. People working there were very friendly & great service. Area was clean. Will return there again

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Explore428339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Scott's Lobster Dock also viewed

 

Been to Captain Scott's Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing