We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place!!!!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Reviewed 24 March 2012

my partner and i stayed in this hotel because we wanted to go to mohegan casino. we pay about 10 dollars for the shuttle bus; they take you and pick you up, so thats good since we didn't have to drive to get to the casino either pay for parking. we have a great time. it was a pleasant place and quiet over all. the room was very neat everything was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NONINO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked on travelocity and it advertised a fridge and microwave in my room. What a dissapointment! Will never stay here again! Noisy! Not a place to rest or relax at all! Yikes!

Room Tip: no advice to help at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozzy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just needed to get away for a night so my husband and I thought we would book a hotel in New London and then go to the casino. I was disappointed before I even got through the door. We parked at the back entrance and there were empty trash boxes by the door. The carpeting leading up to the reception desk looked like it hadn't been vacuumed (it was 3PM) and it only got worse. The doorknob and lock looked like it hadn't been washed in weeks. The inside of the room was clean but the decor left much to be desired including the chair cushion that didn't match the chair. The next time I stay in or near New London we will do a better job of selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Good location near freeway and an Outback Steakhouse. Rooms are out of date and need re-modelling. The grounds around the hotel needed picking up.

Room Tip: Second floor would be best. Away from the restaurant parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxwell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We frequently go to Mystic and the casinos a few times a year for a weekend getaway.

We have stayed in several hotels/inn’s in the area. By far the Clarion New London, was in our opinion, the best place we have stayed at.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The amenities are amazing. Most places we have stayed will have a microwave and/or fridge but you have to pay extra for that. Not with Clarion. We were also very happy to see there was an iron and ironing board in the room as well as we typically bring a travel one with us and sometimes forget ours at home.

We enjoy the pool every time we stay and have never had any issues with lack of towels.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. We have had no issues/problems with our check in and when we leave, all we need to do is swing by the front desk and drop off our keys, no muss no fuss!

We will continue to keep Clarion as our “home” when we travel to the Mystic area and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmithFamilyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I frequently go to Foxwoods/Mohegan Sun for an overnight or two at a local inn when we can. We found the Clarion New London a great hotel. The room was clean and we were surprised to have the amenities we had in the room (i.e. fridge, hair dryer, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board) as well as the indoor heated pool. The staff was VERY pleasant and accommodating. The location is near EVERYTHING (Mystic, Sub Base, Casinos, Wine Trails, etc.) The places to eat recommended by the staff have excellent food and are very reasonably priced. Will recommend this hotel to family, friends and co-workers!

We really don't understand what some people who put negative reviews about this hotel are expecting. This is not a 5 star resort hotel with Bel Captains/spa treatments, etc. This is a great hotel with friendly atmosphere and we felt it was a good value for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hubbywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were forced to find a hotel after Irene hit here in CT. Finding a room was not easy, but the Clarion had openings and a low rate. We had two adjoining rooms (my family in one, my in-laws in the other) and stayed for a few days. Upon arrival, we could not get our key cards to work. A maid told us to lick them, then proceeded to take our card, lick her finger, and run it along the magnetic strip. Um...yuck! Over the course of our stay, we had to exchange key cards three times because they randomly stopped working. At one point the entire lock mechanism on our door stopped working. Other things we couldn't help but notice: dead ants all over the bathroom floor, globs of hair in the swimming pool, never any towels available by the pool or in the exercise room, our coffee pot and fridge didn't work (the fridge was fixed after we told the front desk), a male staff member peeing in the parking lot, parts of the room covered in a layer of dust, and walls/doors thin enough to hear every noise in the hall and surrounding rooms. All of the doors in the building seem to have been designed to automatically slam shut, which is incredibly annoying. The AC units are very loud and woke us up each time they kicked on. We desperately wanted to leave, but could not find another hotel with room for all of us. Luckily, we were able to return home a few days earlier than we expected. I would never, never stay at this hotel again. It was disgusting, loud, and staffed with people who seem to have no idea of basic hygiene. For the price, I expected a basic room without extra amenities or even extra space. I did not expect such a low level of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank asg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
12.4 km away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
4.2 km away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
352 reviews
4.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range: $88 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic is nestled in the heart of Mystic Country, conveniently off I-95. Take a stroll back in time and enjoy the charm of historic Mystic Seaport and Olde Mistick Village or enjoy a slice of heaven at Mystic Pizza in beautiful downtown Mystic, CT. Take your family exploring at one of the most diverse aquariums in the nation, the Mystic Aquarium & Institute for Exploration. Try your luck or take in a concert at Mohegan Sun Casino, MGM Grand Casino, or Foxwood's Resort Casino, the largest casinos in New England. If shopping excites you, the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic hotel is just a short drive from Connecticut's premium outlet malls. Both Tanger Outlets and Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets offer great deals for the bargain hunter. The hotel is also convenient to Southeastern Connecticut's corporate and government centers including Electric Boat, Millstone/Dominion, CT Naval Submarine Base, Sonalysts Studios, Hellier, Ortronics and Pfizer. The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic offers what you need to stay connected during your stay in the Mystic region with free calls within the Continental US and free high-speed Internet access. After your busy day in Southeastern Connecticut, stay on track in our hotel's fitness center then relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool. Make the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic your hotel of choice, the next time you visit the Southeastern CT area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New London Hotel New London
Holiday Inn New London
New London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing