We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
12
10
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
10
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner in advance superior room kitchen staff hidden gem ocean kingston jamaica support directions trees
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Golden Shore is off the main tourist path, most tourist-y activities are an hour drive away in Kingston or Montego Bay. But because of this, you get to see the real Jamaica that you probably wouldn't get in either of the aforementioned areas. The resort is popular with humanitarian groups due to its proximity to schools.
Rooms are air conditioned and clean, and the beach is only steps away. Meals can be prepared by staff, and are always delicious. Request the banana and pumpkin fritters for breakfast at least once.
There is a taxi hub about a 5 minute walk away to take you wherever you want to go.
Overall--- beautiful and quaint, off the beaten path.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Adventurer3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

I often stay with Golden Shores while in St. Thomas, JA. Lovely establishment with great staff!! Mr. Hamilton, the owner, is always on site and a pleasure to chat with. Christine and Richard are always accommodating to all our needs. Glad to have this resource in an area without many hotels.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank matty867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016

The hotel is dated, but the staff were very friendly with an excellent breakfast , however this must be ordered in advance. The setting of the hotel is excellent however it is around 2hours from Kingston airport

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 190762Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Rooms was clean, air conditioning was a problem. Wouldn't turn on then when finally on, couldn't be adjusted.most enjoyable was hearing the sound of the waves from the beach in the room.plenty if places to eat nearby. Be aware though, they have a kitchen, but, everything is cook to order, if you are really hungry, better eat before you get there.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank joel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2015

My husband and I along with our Jamaican friend spent 4 nights at Golden Shores late November. We found the rooms to be very adequate, clean and comfortable. I would say a 3 1/2 star hotel. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and secure. The exterior is very well maintained and located on a spectacular section of beach. Located within walking distance of local shops/bars/restaurants etc. The staff was awesome. Restaurant had a limited menu, but what they did have was very tasty. When in this area Golden Shores would be my choice!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank taunaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews