We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay”
Review of Niantic Inn

Niantic Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Niantic Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
various
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I was with a friend sailing down the New England coast and needed one night ashore while repairs were made. Was able to get a room on short notice and a decent rate. The room was large & clean, the place has a laundry and I had a good night's sleep. The Inn is located "downtown" and it's an easy walk to what Niantic has to offer. In that regard, I highly recommend "Covino's Groceria Italiana" run by Ernie Covino at 301 Main St. The best "grinders" (subs) that I have had in many years!

Room Tip: At their "best" rate I got a sub-basement room looking out at car tires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed at the Inn for six nights last month on business. When we arrived I called Stacy and she met me at the front office to check-in. I told her that the local taxi company had informed me they would not pick me up for a ride to the local military installation, she immediately called them and made sure they understood that I needed a ride to work in the morning (rental car place was closed when we arrived). The taxi was right on time the next morning. She also gave me tons of information about local restaurants and offered us free passes to the small beach directly across the street.

The room was quite spacious with a king size bed, table and chairs, microwave, couch, air conditioner and a wall full of windows. Housekeeping was accommodating with our request for additional towels, etc and honored our request to not be disturbed. They had a great little patio at the rear of the Inn with a gas grill and area to eat after grilling a steak or local seafood.

Great little place and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaegerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

When we made the reservation they explained that no one would be there at check in after 2:30pm and that they would leave the key in a drop box for us, which they did. I had specifically requested and was granted a 2nd floor room (other reviewers had said to avoid the 1st floor because they were 1/2 below ground and musty). The room key was for room 106, not 207! We were stuck with no clerk on duty. The room did not have any mustiness so we stayed our 1 nite. We left around 9:30 AM and never saw anyone in the office. Other problems: HARD beds, could not connect to wi fi with my IPad even though we had password and router outside our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVGMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Took my son on a fishing trip and decided that for $139, the Niantic Inn would probably be a very nice place. Oh my gosh - when we walked in, my 11 year old son, said "Mom, oh my gosh - look how cheesy it is"! He wasn't kidding. The room was so outdated. I'm sick to my stomach that we paid that much. The room looked like it was meant for a 3-hour quickie, not a family at all. Didn't appreciate that the walls had NO insulation. We could hear 20 people come in at 1AM, hollering and making food in the room next door. Never again! I should get my money back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler33840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awesomepersi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This Inn was just newly remodeled and it shows throughout the whole building. It had a perfect location near a nice little shopping area. The rooms were very big and the patio was absolutely beautiful. It was so worth the money and I will be back every year!!

Room Tip: get the efficiency room because it's bigger and has a small kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awesomepersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I recently stayed at the Niantic Inn, and I was VERY pleasantly surprised by what a great place. Quiet, ample parking, convenient to the local bars/restaurants in addition to the beach. My buddy and I were in a room with 2 double beds, couch, kitchen type table and chairs, fridge and microwave... place was huge. We both remarked that if we were to return to Niantic with our girlfriends, the Niantic Inn would be our first choice.

Owner was great, accomodating, and nice. My only "negative" comment would be the beds.... while very comfortable with nice sheets and comforters et al..... I didn't like the color. The comforters were a BRIGHT red... just didn't agree with me.

However..... besides the color of the comforter.... I thought the place was great, was a value for the price paid, and I would gladly stay here again without thinking about it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgonaglej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed at the Niantic Inn with my two children.
We arrived late - after the office was closed.
The evening clerk had left a nice message on my cell phone that my key was in the drop box. .... and it was!
The room was spacious and clean, the area extremely quiet.
I would stay here again - it's comfortable.
If you are looking for a hotel that will entertain you (bar, restaurant, fitness center) then this is not the place.
If you would like a clean tidy place to stay then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semery03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
13.6 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
5.8 km away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
18.0 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.8 km away
Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niantic Inn

Property: Niantic Inn
Address: 345 Main St, Niantic, CT 06357-3128
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Niantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing