We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millard Crescent Guest House(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$80
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfisher GuestHouse(Summerstrand)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$77
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
96
57
31
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
57
31
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barnormal hotelindustrial townhuge bathtubbeautiful venueone nightwalk in showerhot breakfastwent out of her wayfollowing morningopen planbreakfast and dinnerrooms are largesouth africathe ground floorstayed longera great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 200 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2017

I stayed here twice and every time it was a good stay. Spacious rooms, great sleep on comfortable large beds. Outside the hustle and bustle of the city. A nice stroll down to the beach. If you are on your own or do not have a problem with your bathroom being open plan with the rest of the room, then the place itself and location is good. There are rooms where the toilet at least is more private - make sure you ask for one when as a couple you prefer some privacy. Food is good and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are rooms where the toilet at least is more private - make sure you ask for one when as a couple you prefer some privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you keep coming back to us. The rooms are meticulously decorated and offer a romantic escape close to the beachfront of the Port Elizabeth. The rooms are open-planned with some offering partial privacy for guests who are more private. Our team is superb and always has the friendliest smile and are eager to help. Best wishes, The Bailey Family and Singa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but it was really a hidden gem! Great value for money! The staff were friendly & accommodating- they had prepared champagne & cake in our room for arrival as it was my partner's birthday. The room was huge and tastefully decorated and allowed us a real chance to relax prior to continuing our travels. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannaburke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to sending us your wonderful feedback! We are thrilled that your partner had a spectacular birthday with us at Singa. We appreciate that you chose to stay at our lodge for this special occasion and our team was more than happy to make those special arrangements for you. Best wishes, The Bailey Family and The Singa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Port Elizabeth itself is a commercial/ industrial town and we felt that is does not have much to offer a tourist however the airport is an ideal port to fly to other destinations in Africa.
The Singa Lodge is a lovely hotel situated adjacent to the beach. Their rooms are very nice and the food is top notch. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend for you stop over in Port Elizabeth before moving on to other areas.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you were able to have memorable experience with us and we hope to see you soon to enjoy more luxury living at Singa. Our meals are prepared with utmost attention to detail and we train our staff regularly to always be at the top of their game. Best wishes, The Bailey Family and Singa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Such a nice place to stay. All the staff really helpful and friendly. The room is so cool!!!! Perfect for a couple, close to the beach and shops (casino / The Boardwalk).

We really liked the breakfast as well... such a nice place to stay. We wanna go back there again for sure.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sergio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

WOW!

Thank you for sending us your valuable feedback! We are simply overjoyed that you had a memorable stay. We hope to see you soon at our beautiful lodge as each room is individually decorated, making every stay experience different. Singa Lodge is the perfect destination for couples and romantic getaways close to the beaches of PE.
Best, The Bailey Family and Singa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

Not sure of names but when welcomed on March 17th in the afternoon the lady was extremely helpful in advising us on good spots to hit in town and Summer stand and went out of her way to help us try get a restaurant booking. On checking out early on March 18th the young gentleman was very pleasant and had prepared a ready made breakfast for us to take to the airport which we were absolutely delighted with and set us up nicely for a day of travel..very impressed by this. The rooms are really spacious and the grounds are really manicured which makes for a nice oasis and a great base to explore Summerstrand

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Hi There,

We are delighted that your experience with us was this wonderful. We hope you were able to enjoy the rest of Summerstrand. Our team members are a bunch of gems and always go beyond their roles to ensure our guests are treated like family. Singa Lodge is the perfect destination to receive a tailored guest experience where we understand that every guest should be treated like royalty. We know the value of a planned vacation and the amount of time put into planning it. Our rooms ensure that you a good nights' rest and wake up to the fresh scents of delicious breakfast cooking. We hope to see you soon to enjoy more luxury at Singa Lodge. Best, The Bailey Family & The Singa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews