We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
103
126
60
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
126
60
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view tour group room was clean and comfortable internet connection opposite the beach room was large highly recommend this hotel hotel is located lovely hotel buffet breakfast spent one night sea front an early flight marine drive nice breakfast garden route port
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 328 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2015

We experienced the most relaxing time of carefree days .enjoyed thewill be doing soon again.
Enjoyed the stylish room
Remarkable hospitality
Stunning view
Clean an hygienic environment an excellent service from start to finish

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gerlank63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2015

Dear Gerlank63

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

We find your comments very rewarding and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Marine.

Kind regards,

Protea Hotel Marine and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2015

Excellent location. The rest is all very average including the cleanliness of the room the working condition of the equipment and the friendliness of the staff. The Kitchenette basin tap was very loose, the hot water system of the room did not function properly and had two cold showers in our two night stay. The staff is not very friendly all though Port Elizabeth is called the friendly city. Did not see that I can remember one smile from a staff member.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PWDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Good day PWDCD

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Due to unforeseen circumstance we were experiencing some difficulty with our hot water system during your stay.

On behalf of the Protea Hotel Marine and the TEAM we regret the substandard experience you had with us.

We endeavor to deliver the best product and services to all our valued GUESTS at all times.
We pride ourselves in the service we provide, thus we take any and all feedback to hart.

We wish you the very best for the upcoming holiday season.

Regards

Jennifer Reichgelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Attended the launch of the National Tool Initiatve on Thursday November 26 2015.
The Protea Marine is situated on the Marine Drive in Port Elizabeth. The venue lends its self to excellent sea views. As if ordered a pod of dolphins could be seen frolicking in the Bay. The venue has all the audio visual equipment and a very good buffet breakfast was served in the presentation venue. The venue is very centrally situated and easiliy accessible from the airport for out of town delegates and local delegates. The staff is very attentive and well trained with the supervisor in attendance.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 343tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2015

Good day to you

Thank you for your valued feedback.

We are very fortunate to be well situated, and of course it helps when nature plays along. The dolphins make their presence known every so often and give our GUESTS the opportunity to experience this wonderful spectacle as you well know.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Reichgelt and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is GREAT! Right on the beachfront. An early morning walk on the beach or jog on the walkways is possible. The food is excellent! I can recommend this Hotel strongly for business and vacation purposes.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AndreBodenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Dear Andre, I trust you are doing well.

Thank you for the review and the comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our food.

I also couldn't agree with you more, we have the perfect location right on the beach and it is easy to have a quick run or leisurely walk along the beach.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2015

This hotel is in a remote location to shopping but is clean and the rooms are large and well-kept. The staff--front office and wait staff--were very efficient and cordial and went out of their way to accommodate guests. The only downside from my perspective was the inconsistent wifi signals which created problems connecting or maintaining an internet connection. But overall. I rate this hotel as average to good.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Good day Les F, how are you?

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is very important to us to receive this as it is the only true yardstick we can use to determine whether we are meeting or exceeding your expectations.

I am delighted that you had a good stay with us...I have also noted your comment regarding the slow internet speed. This is an area we are currently looking at for improvement.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews