We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
60
20
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
20
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east cape easy walking distance one night couple of nights swimming pool honesty bar boardwalk complex place to stay port luggage establishment
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 87 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

I forget how many visits I have made to our SA "home" but it is still the best accommodation spot I have on all my global travels! Anthea and her staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure everyone is family. The rooms are always clean and the food is excellent but the service is always beyond any other place I stay.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Beautifully designed building with very pretty gardens & pool. Very spacious room & en suite. Relaxing atmosphere, good breakfast, 2 minutes walk from the sea. Good restaurants etc close by. Home from home - wonderful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in gardens by pool.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2015

We spent three pleasant days at 5th Avenue Beach House this February. We were on a road trip and wanted to spend a few days with friends in the area. The rooms are spread amongst the gardens and two pools, where guests are welcome to spend all day. The bedrooms are adequate in size with good sized bedrooms.
Breakfast is a main event with the full choice and cooked to perfection.
All the staff are particularly helpful, we had quiet a lot of laundry when we arrived, it was done and dusted before we retired to bed the first night.
For a relaxing and laid back break in P E the 5th Ave. is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2015

Our fifth stop on our Garden Route itinerary brought us to Fifth Avenue Beach House (see previous reviews of Blackheath Lodge, Akademie Boutique Hotel, Rosenhof Country House and Milkwood Manor). Located just off the sea front of Summerstrand this guest house is set in a suburban, wide avenue amongst other similar properties. Its secure gated grounds and rooms could be almost anywhere in the world as the décor and interior are rather bland and motel like. Apparently, the main clients in mid-week are business people and the accommodation appears to be geared towards this type of clientele.

We were very warmly welcomed by the delightful and diligent Renée, who showed us around the extensive building and small pool/gardens. We were given Room 4 which is very spacious with king size bed, large lounge area, shower and jacuzzi and a small balcony, over looking the road. There was air conditioning, two TV’s, a fridge and a microwave – so well equipped overall. Yet it lacked much – the décor and wardrobes were motel like, no bottled water was provided, the mini-safe was very small and wifi was chargeable – the first time on our tour that wifi was not included – even most motels now provide free wifi – even for business people. There is an honesty bar downstairs – quite common in South Africa and the enclosed garden/pool area was pleasant enough.

There are reasonable restaurants in relatively easy walking distance and we celebrated Valentine’s Evening at the nearby ‘De Kelder’ restaurant, which was recommended by Anthea (the owner) and was good overall – even if the décor was a bit bawdy.

Breakfast was a disappointment – the staff were approachable and efficient but the choice on the buffet was hardly extensive and an absolute ‘No, No’ for us – orange squash was provided instead of any fruit juice. Three bowls of cereals were the same ones in place the afternoon before – all cling filmed – when we had our tour of the house the previous day. Presumably, they had been there all day and night? The choice of fruit was limited, the yoghurts were cheap and cheerful, and the breakfast area was dark and a little cramped. The hot breakfast choice was not untypical and the poached eggs were perfect.

Other reviews are extremely positive and descriptions such as ‘The best B&B ever in the history of the universe,’ and ‘Outstanding’ make for interesting reading but the reality is somewhat different.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2015

This was our first trip to Port Elizabeth. We went for cricket at St George's Park and in addition to a wonderful match we stayed at a wonderful B&B in Summerstrand. I cannot rate this place highly enough. We had a warm and helpful welcome from Kerry at reception and were shown to a room which can only be described as luxurious and well equipped to the last detail. At breakfast we met owner Anthea and she had time to chat and to make us feel right at home. The breakfast was great too. If you go to PE don't even think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Choose Room 4
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewermanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews