We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
124
100
57
28
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
100
57
28
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk waffles room was clean saltwater pool included breakfast first floor exercise room the breakfast area nice breakfast easy access off the highway business trip jimmy lei cereal ct pillows
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 339 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Overpriced/tired hotel! We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding.
Upon opening the door to our room we were met with a rather unpleasant smell.The room itself was clean and functional...but not worth the $200 we paid for one night. I would put it more at $80. If I paid that, my expectation level would have been lower, and I would not be writing this review. The only saving grace to our stay was we spend virtually no time in the room or hotel. We checked our bags, and could not get out of there quick enough. Got back from the wedding, late, feel asleep, woke up and checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dylan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

HI Dylan - We are saddened to hear that you felt our hotel was over priced and not fond of our floral scented air freshener. We are in line with the area in pricing for the season. It is too bad that you didn't get a chance to enjoy our indoor heated pool, or our Free HOT breakfast which has a huge selection of items such as fresh Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, etc, We are also doing renovations this winter, we would hope you try us again soon.
Joe Appi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

This a basic hotel. Normally don't frequent Choice properties. Paid too much . Worth 100/nite . Paid 240. Wont do that again. Rooms need upgrade but clean. Employees nice. Only hotel around. Not much choices in that area. Breakfast was just ok. Quiet area. My next trip I may try a Bed and Breakfast. Also Please replace that elevator. That's from a third world hotel

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nonrevlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
We will be doing renovations this winter, we do hope you give us another try again.
Joe Appi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We stayed for one night after a grueling rainy day on the road. The room was clean and comfortable. Issue with the tv remote was resolved by the very helpful young lady at the front desk. She even suggested a good restaurant (The Back Porch) for dinner. Breakfast was free, and had many choices including hot. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvtheshore2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating throughout your stay, especially for pointing out Lei. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your trip in to Old Saybrook and It would be our pleasure to accommodate you on your next trip in the area.

Joe Appi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night August 17th. The room was very nice and clean. Breakfast the next morning was very good.
What surprised me the most is that this stay cost approximately $60 more than the days and weekends before and after our stay. We were up to visit friends and while the hotel room was good, it was way over priced. We would recommend this hotel but only if you can get it for less than $189/night (plus tax and fees). The rating is based solely on the cleanliness of the room and bath and the breakfast.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for selecting the Quality Inn for your accommodations needs in Old Saybrook! We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests so it’s rewarding to learn about your pleasant encounters with our staff. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Breakfast as well. The rates are in line with other hotels in the area for the summer season, try us again in the fall when the rates are a bit cheaper. We hope you visit us again soon! Joe Appi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We thought we would save a little money and stay at this hotel thinking how bad could it be? Boy were we wrong! The toilet flush handle was half broken but the big problem was that the room was infested with ants (and it was on the second floor), We saw the ants crawling around the bathroom. I kept killing them but there were a few every hour. We called down to the front desk, but no answer. We thought it was only the bathroom but turns out it was all over the carpet too (we just couldn't see). I put a towel on the carpet and within a few minutes, a few ants had crawled on. My daughter was traumatized! The next day, we complained and Jim gave us a different room, Better, but there was mold in the ceiling tiles in the new room. Not impressed with this hotel. On top of that, we had signed up for their reward program and should have received a Tim Horton's card. Front desk didn't know anything and didn't care.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe A, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
We do have a monthly pest control company that services all of our rooms, but sometimes critters do come inside at times especially with heavy rains and we apologize for that. Tim Horton's in a Canadian company, and I am not aware of any gift card. All gift cards come directly from Choice Hotels, nothing is ever given from the hotel itself. Our current promotion in the states is stay 2 nights and earn a free night. Please see Choice Privileges for more info.

Joe Appi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews