We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely amazing views over Vathy”
Review of Omirikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Omirikon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vathy
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is my 7th time to Ithaka and my husband's 2nd! This absolutely tops all of t h e other times due to this hotel n it's location. I will list the POSITIVES N NEGATIVES so that the readers can have a quick perusal instead of an ESSAY

Positives
location location location !! 7 mins walk to Vathy town 5 stars plus
Cleanliness of both suites and public areas 5stars
Suites NOT just rooms there are 3 rooms ( bedroom lounge/kitchen bathroom NOT forgetting balconies) 5 stars
Views TO DIE FOR ! ( ever changing scenery due to boat n sighting activity) 5 star plus
Bed changing every other day ( which for Greece is fantastic)
Fresh towels every day
Cutlery in drawer brand new
Kitchen area was immaculate ( also cleaned each day )
Reception area furnished beautifully
Public terrace Jacuzzi with beautifully planted pots everywhere n vine Terraces separating the bottom suites
WiFi in room n public areas FREE
NEGATIVES
Beautiful lounge smelled of strong cigars/cigarettes( 0wner n his wife sit in this area each day n smoke) pretty off putting when we in our country we are more or less SMOKE FREE
NO Swimming pool ( Jacuzzi is not used as its too hot this area would suit a small pool really)
Breakfast ADDEQUATE ( bread preserves , processed cheese n ham. Cakes , squashes not juices, tinned peaches n yogurt everyday)
The hotel does NOT CHANGE EURO TRAVELLERS CHEQ ! Be warned about the Banks too their CHARGES ARE EXTORTIONATE 7euros commission per 200 then on top of that they also charge another 2 euros per each TRAVELLERS cheque ! My advise is bring euros cash to the island or changes yr cheques in kefalonia !!! You HAVE BEEN WARNED !
Reception/owners . Now this might be a language problem so not saying this really as a negative but both my husband n I felt that the social skills of the owners were slightly lacking ! We felt we were another statistic on their diary more than another guest in their hotel who would like to be told a little more about the hotel or their island n what n where to go ! But as I said this just might be a language barrier so would not like to emphasise this too much as the hotel is j u st fabulous

Room Tip: Emphasise u want a DOUBLE BED NOT JUST A DOUBLE ROOM! We got twin beds when we asked for a DOUBLE RO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank podiatrist54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perfectly located, wonderful owners and a charming hotel.
The suites are extremely comfortable and while being upmarket and modern they are very family friendly.
Even though we visited in "shoulder season" the breakfast was quite adequate as continental breakfasts go.
The hotel has been our base while travelling in the Ionian and will undoubtedly continue to be our first choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Did i go to different hotel? whats this im reading from people about the superb and delicious breakfast of this hotel!!!
Unless they are not talking about this year,2013.
Have we got cost cutting this year?

i have no complaints about the rooms,large and clean. The tiny tv screen high on the wall of the lounge and not in the bedroom was unacceptable.
The otherwise good image was spoiled by the poorest of breakfasts.
First of all it begins at 9.00 am!!!,apparently they cant get of bed earlier to serve their customers.
The contents of the breakfast table i would rate as Lean Continental.
This means they cant be bothered to heed the Greek Tourist Ministries directive to all Greek Hotels to serve a "Greek Breakfast".
What this means is serving a variety of local produce and food items that the visitor doesn't get served in his home country.
So,instead of having yellow cheese slices,use Feta,instead of marmalade,serve the famous Greek Honey etc etc.
Its an easy and cheap way for them to serve a few slices of yellow cheese and ham,no cooked items except boiled eggs .
They really strained themselves in their effort to serve something greek,by serving small pieces of bread with a topping of tomato bits and a sprinkling of Feta dust.
Even a Continental breakfast would have had eggs,bacon,sausages,toasted bread,breakfast cereal etc,but like i said its a LEAN Continental version of a breakfast.
For an expensive boutique Hotel i would have expected much better.
So,because i dont like been taken for a sucker by been served the poorest of breakfasts ive had in Greece or elsewhere, i gave it a low rating and would not recommend it,there are lots of other good hotels in the island that respect their customers money.

ps Do note that you dont get any breakfast on the your last day of your stay,the reason why?
The Ferry boat leaves for the mainland at 7.30 am,your loss the hotels gain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Situated a little around the main bay of Vathi, this lovely boutique hotel has charm, is reasonably priced, well run and has a superb breakfast. The rooms (suites?) are beautifully appointed, with the bedroom away from the water, and thus also in the coolest part of the building. The decor is modern, fresh and bright and each room opens up onto a balcony overlooking the bay. The breakfast is substantial and has home-made cakes, which are delicious! We'd definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: For privacy, choose a room downstairs, but for views the rooms above would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel was excellent.I stayed there with my husband and my little daughter (18 months old) and we were completely satisfied.You can order great food at the room and enjoy it at the balcony with amazing sea view.Don 't forget to try the delicious breakfast!
The room was very clean.

Room Tip: Each room has great sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassicTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Omirikon Residence for 2 weeks in mid September 2012.
Omirikon' was a dream!!!!
The service and friendly Hosts were excellent.
It also has an AMAZING Jacuzzi with sea view and a very rich breakfast.

Thank you Omirikon, and thank you to Omiro, Konstadina for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Ithaka is a beautiful little island and well worth a visit.

Breakfast buffet was fabulous - hot and cold, really extensive selection, kids especially loved it.

The hotel residence is clean and spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
A perfect place! We're definitely going back next year :-)

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet was fabulous - hot and cold, really extensive selection, kids especially loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARRION699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
0.3 km away
Perantzada 1811 Art Hotel
1.3 km away
Odyssey Apartments
Odyssey Apartments
#1 of 5 in Vathy
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Mentor Hotel
Mentor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Vathy
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Nostos Hotel
Nostos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Frikes
93 reviews
0.0 km away
Aristotelis Ithaca Apartments
17.1 km away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omirikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omirikon Hotel

Address: Coastal Road - Mylos, Vathy, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Ithaca > Vathy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vathy
Price Range: $102 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omirikon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omirikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing