We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, the manager and staff are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, the manager and staff are great”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This excellently managed, brand new hotel is immaculate. The decor is outstanding, and the staff is warm and detail oriented. The breakfast is delicious, with Belgian waffles that you can make yourself. The mattresses are "cloud nine" and live up to their name. The bedding is fresh and so comfortable you will look forward to going to bed at night. The unlimited coffee, tea, and hot chocolate near the lobby is well stocked and the beverages are hot, fresh and delicious. The guest washer and dryer work very well and are brand new and modern, as is everything, including a poster sized touch screen computer with directions, restaurant info and boarding pass printing capabilities. This is a true gem.

Room Tip: The manager told us that an indoor pool with a large slide is planned soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    157
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
337
103
26
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Newly renovated property. Rooms excellently decorated, beautiful property, much better than the hilton garden inn across the street. No fresh cookies but do you really need to pay more for fresh cookies. Rates are soo much better for updated property, Three thumbs up.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the east give you a wonderful wake up call
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I travel to this area every few months to visit family, and chose to stay at the Hampton Inn this time. The last time I stayed at this property it was still an Amerisuites, at least 5 years ago. Being able to earn Hilton Honors points was a plus for me. Even though the building is about 12 years old, it felt like I was staying at a brand new hotel. The bathrooms and carpeting were much nicer than they used to be. We were right next to the elevators, but I didn't hear any noise all night, even though there was a large group staying for a wedding.

The free breakfast was more than adequate. I would put this hotel as one of my preferred choices for the area, it was right up there with the Homewood Suites in Shelton, and much nicer than the Hampton Inn a few towns away in Milford. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, with the exception of the night clerk on Saturday Night. The pool is not open yet, but it was made known on the website so there were no surprises.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, it may be a good idea to avoid the rooms on the first floor just off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveskin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The desk clerk told us that the hotel had recently been converted from a Holiday Inn to a Hampton Inn. The place was great. Clean. Fresh. Well run. Nice staff. Everything you would expect from a good Hampton Inn. And the weekend price (with AAA) was a bargain. A few minutes off of the Merritt Parkway, and worth the short extra drive to be in the Connecticut country and not right on I- 95. But it's not in the boonies: restaurants and other conveniences are right in the area. We definitely will return there when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobstah18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect because of the comparably low rates but this hotel was great! The loby was modern and clean. The room was also very nice. There was a king bed and a separate seating area as well as a coffe bar complete with a microwave and fridge! The bathroom was very clean. Everything seemed brand new. We there for less than 12 hours as we were only staying because we were attending an event in the area the next morning so I can't really speak to any of the other amenities like the pool or fitness area. But if you're looking for a clean, comfy, esthetically pleasing, reasonably priced place to rest your head look no further. Oh breakfast is also included at the Hampton inn. It looked nice spread. We are vegan so only really ate the small fresh fruit selection and an engilsh muffin. The oatmeal they offered was instant with sugar and the peanutbutter had sugar and they didn't have any non dairy milk. I expected as much though. As an extremely health conscious eater I don't expect to find a good meal very many places. They had a make your own waffle station that looked good as well as several hot dishes. I think most people would be very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissabarresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.9 km away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
416 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
0.6 km away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
183 reviews
9.3 km away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, UTC, Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 10 mile radius. and we look forward in having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing