We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to thanksgiving holiday drive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Decided to crash halfway home and breakup the ride. We were pleasantly surprised. The property appears to have been recently upgraded and was clean with nice sized rooms. Front Desk staff was personable. Glad I read other reviews and opted for this over the Hilton Garden across the street. The breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Ive recently stayed at this newly renovated property for business. Upon checkin I was greated by 2 front desk workers. The two gentlemen there could not be any friendlier. I dont usually stay at Hilton hotels but the experience was just unlike anything ive experienced before. For now on when I come to the Shelton area i'll be staying at this Hampton Inn. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job with the rooms and are very friendly. Everything about the place has a unique feeling to it. From my first interaction with a staff member to my last you can just tell that place has people with years of experience working for them. The other thing that sets the staff apart from other hotels is that you can really tell that they enjoy the kind of work they do. I mean really, when checking in I mentioned I had a long drive and was getting hungry. The front desk staff said they were about to order some dinner, if I'd like they'd order extra and share. Obviously I didnt take the offer but you can tell they really meant it and made my stay personable. I felt like they were actually there for me. I'm sure everyone gets that treatment who walks into the facility but it takes alot of dedication to do that for everyone.

I can honestly go on and on about my stay but I think ive said enough. Hampton Inn and Hilton, I must say, Ive never knew what hospitality was until I stayed here. Great job!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianS105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, great staff and really nice rooms. I really enjoyed how spacious the bathrooms were. I was there for 4 days, 3 nights and only had breakfast one morning but it was really great. Business center was really nice as well with all new computers. Overall great stay and great hotel, I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the Shelton area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VBTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The warm atmosphere of the Shelton Hampton Inn, greeted us as we checked in from our power outage home from the Noreaster. Every person we encountered at the front desk, was polite and smiling and we felt very rescued from our cold home. As we checked into the room, we were delighted to find immaculately clean surroundings. We were weary and were so pleased to find the room had a sitting area as well as a bedroom. We were so comfortable, and especially enjoyed the 24- hour free coffee, tea ,and hot chocolate offerings. The free breakfasts in the morning were outstanding in both food quality and service. We hope to go back there when we're not in an "escape mode" and can just enjoy the Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This excellently managed, brand new hotel is immaculate. The decor is outstanding, and the staff is warm and detail oriented. The breakfast is delicious, with Belgian waffles that you can make yourself. The mattresses are "cloud nine" and live up to their name. The bedding is fresh and so comfortable you will look forward to going to bed at night. The unlimited coffee, tea, and hot chocolate near the lobby is well stocked and the beverages are hot, fresh and delicious. The guest washer and dryer work very well and are brand new and modern, as is everything, including a poster sized touch screen computer with directions, restaurant info and boarding pass printing capabilities. This is a true gem.

Room Tip: The manager told us that an indoor pool with a large slide is planned soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Newly renovated property. Rooms excellently decorated, beautiful property, much better than the hilton garden inn across the street. No fresh cookies but do you really need to pay more for fresh cookies. Rates are soo much better for updated property, Three thumbs up.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the east give you a wonderful wake up call
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I travel to this area every few months to visit family, and chose to stay at the Hampton Inn this time. The last time I stayed at this property it was still an Amerisuites, at least 5 years ago. Being able to earn Hilton Honors points was a plus for me. Even though the building is about 12 years old, it felt like I was staying at a brand new hotel. The bathrooms and carpeting were much nicer than they used to be. We were right next to the elevators, but I didn't hear any noise all night, even though there was a large group staying for a wedding.

The free breakfast was more than adequate. I would put this hotel as one of my preferred choices for the area, it was right up there with the Homewood Suites in Shelton, and much nicer than the Hampton Inn a few towns away in Milford. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, with the exception of the night clerk on Saturday Night. The pool is not open yet, but it was made known on the website so there were no surprises.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, it may be a good idea to avoid the rooms on the first floor just off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveskin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.9 km away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
472 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
2.5 km away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range: $133 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, Lockheed Martin/Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 3 mile radius. We look forward in having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing