We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
89
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was excellent bed and breakfast cornucopia oldfield jen antiques
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 95 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We travel to this part of CT regularly and are always trying to find the "just right" place to stay. We may have found it this weekend when we stayed at The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the John Mosely Room which was spacious with a roomy bathroom and closet. There were refreshments available at all times, including fine wine, and several comfortable sitting rooms throughout the large house. Breakfast was ample and delicious -- very fresh! We were only there for a night and would have been quite happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is an exceptional place with lovely accommodation and delightful and welcoming owners, Ed and Christine. Our room was in the front of the house on the second floor. It was tastefully decorated, very comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was excellent. We can't recommend the Cornucopia highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Five couples, friends for 40 years, spent a weekend in CT. Four of the couples stayed at the Cornucopia. (Fifth couple lived locally.) Rooms were great, baths were great, breakfasts were great. Common area was a comfortable seating area where we could all get together before and after events. Host and hostess, Ed and Christine, could not have been nicer and more helpful including -- get this -- providing transportation to the best restaurant in the area one night so we could have wine with dinner and not worry about driving the unfamiliar country roads at night.

Room Tip: Third floor suite is good if one reads at night while other is in bed Largest room has largest bathroom and outdoor deck with lounge chairs
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank m_jlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We landed at the Cornucopia in the midst of Hurricane Irene to try to escape the worst of the storm. We called about 10 minutes before we arrived to see if they had a spot for us and our dog and were welcomed with open arms. All other guests had cancelled due to the weather so we had the run of the place during the heavy rains and wind. The house is lovely and friendly and the owners made us feel at home. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaFlyingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

In search for a New England B&B within a reasonable distance of NYC, we (parents and three children) decided to stay with Christine & Ed for six days. And what a great decision that was! When first arriving at Cornucopia, we were slightly concerned about the location right on the intersection between route 6 and 67, but this proved to be a non-issue. The property is very well-kept and you are never in doubt that you are actually visiting someone's home. We stayed in the Gable suite, which comprises two rooms and a private bathroom and was perfectly set up for us when we arrived. As other reviewers have indicated, the grounds and pool area are also well kept. Breakfast was immaculate. All ingredients and fruits are organic and - as far as possible - from local producers, and obviously well cooked, prepared and arranged. Christine and Ed also let us into everyday Southbury life, which we really appreciated - one evening, we went to an open-air concert nearby with the Brubeck Brothers; an event we would never have heard of had it not been for them. Upon our hosts' recommendations, we also visited several sites in the vicinity and all lived up to expectations. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews