We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
89
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellentbed and breakfastcornucopiaoldfieldjenantiques
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 95 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

I cannot rave enough about this B&B. We recently reserved the entire B&B for our wedding with 12 people in attendance. The keepers are amazing! So accommodating, went above and beyond to make sure things went smoothly for us WITHOUT added charges. Even remembered the little things like making up our bed before the photographers came in, hid our luggage, water in every room to keep us hydrated. The food each morning was delectable - fresh and local meats, fruits, syrup, etc. The house is immaculate and so well kept for its age. I plan to return for our one year anniversary! Highly recommend the admiral Aston which is a HUGE suite that allows for the most privacy. Although any of the rooms were above and beyond most B&Bs I've stayed.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank hballrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped here after Easter Sunday in the area. It is such a cute place with amazing wooden accents. Our room was very spacious and the bed was phenomenal - hadn't had that nice of a night's sleep in a while! Even though our window gave into the road, it was very quiet. The patio is really great to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening, or sit out reading a book during the day. I wish I could have enjoyed the parlour or keeping room more! The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious with local foods - quite amazing! Finally, and not lastly, the hosts were so nice and gracious. We had some good conversations and excellent hospitality! Thank you Christine and Ed for a wonderful time!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mercedesem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2015

We stayed at this B&B near Litchfiled, CT. It is a beautiful, historic home, dating from 1818. The look and feel of the old house have been preserved. The stairways are steep and narrow, the house has that nineteenth century meandering feel that so many old buildings have. Even though our arrival was late, we were greeted by our host. He showed us to our room.

Our room was The Rebecca Moseley Room. Our bed was a queen-size sleigh bed. The design fit perfectly with the antique furniture that decorated the room. You will find a carafe of spring water and two glasses on the writing desk or bureau. There is an en suite powder room with toilet and sink. A few steps down the hall is your own bathroom with modern tub and shower, toilet and sink. Our bed was amazingly comfortable and made with exquisite linens and a lightweight comforter. There was also an extra quilt for our use, but we did not need it. Although the fireplace cannot be used as it is original to the historic building, our room was warm and comfortable.

We were asked what time we wanted breakfast, which is very nice indeed. The breakfast, was bountiful and delicious. We were offered baked apple, accompanied by gluten free granola, and yogurt, farm fresh eggs, bacon, a homemade banana-nut muffin and our choice of coffee or tea. I was pleasantly surprised to find a tea chest on the breakfast table with a very large selection of teas.

If you are looking for the epitome of an early nineteenth century house-turned B&B, this is the place for you. The charm of the house is only superseded by the warmth graciousness of the hosts.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank harpsichordgal .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015

We came with friends who took the larger room. We had the Mosely Room. It was meticulously clean, totally comfortable, and a welcome place to drift off after a day of touring and leaf-peeping. Ed and Christine could not have been more welcoming, or more informative. They even made dinner reservations for us in a nearby restaurant. I highly recommend this B&B if you are staying in the area. Even if you have to travel a bit to get to it: it's worth the effort. And don't overlook the scrumptious breakfast cooked by Christine.

Room Tip: The John Mosely room has a clawfoot tub, so if you're not nimble you might want to choose another room.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Stayed here for one night as part of a fall foliage tour of Litchfield County. Both Ed and Christine are gracious hosts and really made us feel at home. Property is very close to Woodbury, CT, not far from Litchfield County, and only a few miles off of Route 84. Room was very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews