We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B and B in Woodbury, CT area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Southbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Went to Woodbury, Connecticut to sample the antiquing there which I have heard about for years. The antiquing was not too great but this B & B was amazing. The house is large and the owners are present and very friendly. Clean, Clean, Clean room and house. The morning breakfast made to order and delightful. The hosts recommended a local restaurant and made reservations for us. Maybe the best B & B I've stayed at ever. The house is very historic and the owners have pictures and documents on the walls attesting to this. Only drawback is a busy street on one side with plenty of trucks but we were told this is a seasonal 'thing and only lasts for two months or so. Not terribly bad noise anyway for most people and my room was right on that road too. The pool is AMAZING, like the house clean and delightful. It is right in a large backyard. There is plenty of parking right next to the Inn. Truly an outstanding experience absolutely nothing to worry about. Air conditioning was fine and all bathroom facilities excellent. Plenty of books on shelves in the hallway and in your room to read if you forget to bring one too. This B & B is run by real professionals. You can tell they keep up the cleaning and attention to details. Outstanding. If you like cats there are two outside that are very friendly and delightful too!

Room Tip: Some rooms might have a bath in the hallway; check the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

I cannot rave enough about this B&B. We recently reserved the entire B&B for our wedding with 12 people in attendance. The keepers are amazing! So accommodating, went above and beyond to make sure things went smoothly for us WITHOUT added charges. Even remembered the little things like making up our bed before the photographers came in, hid our luggage, water in every room to keep us hydrated. The food each morning was delectable - fresh and local meats, fruits, syrup, etc. The house is immaculate and so well kept for its age. I plan to return for our one year anniversary! Highly recommend the admiral Aston which is a HUGE suite that allows for the most privacy. Although any of the rooms were above and beyond most B&Bs I've stayed.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank hballrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped here after Easter Sunday in the area. It is such a cute place with amazing wooden accents. Our room was very spacious and the bed was phenomenal - hadn't had that nice of a night's sleep in a while! Even though our window gave into the road, it was very quiet. The patio is really great to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening, or sit out reading a book during the day. I wish I could have enjoyed the parlour or keeping room more! The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious with local foods - quite amazing! Finally, and not lastly, the hosts were so nice and gracious. We had some good conversations and excellent hospitality! Thank you Christine and Ed for a wonderful time!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mercedesem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stayed at this B&B near Litchfiled, CT. It is a beautiful, historic home, dating from 1818. The look and feel of the old house have been preserved. The stairways are steep and narrow, the house has that nineteenth century meandering feel that so many old buildings have. Even though our arrival was late, we were greeted by our host. He showed us to our room.

Our room was The Rebecca Moseley Room. Our bed was a queen-size sleigh bed. The design fit perfectly with the antique furniture that decorated the room. You will find a carafe of spring water and two glasses on the writing desk or bureau. There is an en suite powder room with toilet and sink. A few steps down the hall is your own bathroom with modern tub and shower, toilet and sink. Our bed was amazingly comfortable and made with exquisite linens and a lightweight comforter. There was also an extra quilt for our use, but we did not need it. Although the fireplace cannot be used as it is original to the historic building, our room was warm and comfortable.

We were asked what time we wanted breakfast, which is very nice indeed. The breakfast, was bountiful and delicious. We were offered baked apple, accompanied by gluten free granola, and yogurt, farm fresh eggs, bacon, a homemade banana-nut muffin and our choice of coffee or tea. I was pleasantly surprised to find a tea chest on the breakfast table with a very large selection of teas.

If you are looking for the epitome of an early nineteenth century house-turned B&B, this is the place for you. The charm of the house is only superseded by the warmth graciousness of the hosts.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank harpsichordgal .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We came with friends who took the larger room. We had the Mosely Room. It was meticulously clean, totally comfortable, and a welcome place to drift off after a day of touring and leaf-peeping. Ed and Christine could not have been more welcoming, or more informative. They even made dinner reservations for us in a nearby restaurant. I highly recommend this B&B if you are staying in the area. Even if you have to travel a bit to get to it: it's worth the effort. And don't overlook the scrumptious breakfast cooked by Christine.

Room Tip: The John Mosely room has a clawfoot tub, so if you're not nimble you might want to choose anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Stayed here for one night as part of a fall foliage tour of Litchfield County. Both Ed and Christine are gracious hosts and really made us feel at home. Property is very close to Woodbury, CT, not far from Litchfield County, and only a few miles off of Route 84. Room was very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Relax and enjoy the hospitality and wonderful rooms at Cornucopia Inn at Oldfield in Southbury CT.

Both Ed and Christine are wonderful hosts and they serve fantastically delicious breakfasts. There are three wonderful community rooms as well as a pool for the summer times!

Room Tip: We loved our room-- but not sure it's name-- it was the room upstairs in the rear with it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-lionNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southbury hotels
0 km away
The Evergreen Inn
The Evergreen Inn
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3 reviews
1.3 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Southbury
453 reviews
4.4 km away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 782 Main St N, Southbury, CT 06488-1898
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southbury
Price Range: $188 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornucopia at Oldfield is Southbury's first bed and breakfast. The 'Oldfield' house has been a landmark in the community since John Moseley built it in 1818. It is an exceptional example of Georgian Federal architecture set on acres of rolling green lawns framed by majestic maples and original stone walls. There are 4 uniquely furnished rooms and 3 public rooms available for our guests. THe grounds are enhanced by a secluded swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing