We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Lawrence, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was a guest at 5 day conference at the Stamford Hilton. The hotel is incredible, huge open public spaces, massive grand ballroom and tons of meeting rooms, u never feel cramped.
The hotel is clean and friendly and has been improving every year for the last several that I have been coming.
The challenge here has always been the hotel staff, but they are definetly getting better.
My room as always was great, the Westin shower and bedding is always amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    304
    231
    154
    117
See reviews for
244
193
87
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Pulled up to the hotel and there was no valet. Had to leave the car running while I went looking for the valet. Check in was smooth. Walked into the room on the 5th floor and smelled the damp right away. Noticed the wallpaper peeling and water spots/rust in the bathroom. I did call down and they put me in another room right away. Room on the 9th floor was fine. The restaurant meal was fine. Would not stay here again - it needs a refurb.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th or 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stamford hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Parking - Not enough and the garage was not secure. Location - Although near the transportation center (Metro North), the location is somewhat desolate, not warm and inviting at all. The lobby is nice, open and lots of natural light. The room was clean, spacious and I did appreciate the Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirlNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel used to be the Westin. When it was a Westin, I remember it being a nice, and updated hotel. I needed to stay at Stamford for the night and booked the Hilton remembering it as a great hotel when it was a Westin. First impression, the parking garage was no longer secured but yet they still charge $10 for self parking and more for valet. The lobby remained the same which reassured me that my stay would be fine. However, once I got to the room that's when it finally hit me that this place was no longer the Westin. The hotel is a non-smoking property, yet the room had this weird musky smell. As I walked around, the room reminded me of a motel... the walls were dirty, there was rust and dust everywhere from the bathroom to the bedroom. I'm not quite sure what had happened because they claimed it was recently renovated.

I guess its not fair to compare it to the Westin but If they renovated a property that was already updated to begin with, wouldn't it be MUCH nicer? It just didn't make sense... Next time I'll stay somewhere else downtown...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couplesretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My story begins well before Christmas .. after booking a room for my wife's surprise Christmas vacation i realized that one room would not be enough, so i booked another, A king. After contacting the hotel, i was lucky enough to get Mrs. V on the phone and she helped me with upgrades and connecting rooms. I bugged her several times to make sure i was all set. Upon arrival we found that your pool and the executive level was closed. Mrs. V comped us for breakfast and some apps and cocktails and offered a shuttle to your sister hotel for pool time.
The rooms were absolutely fabulous as well as all your staff naming just a few that we were lucky enough to meet. Dominic who helped us with all of our luggage and packages during what was a very busy check in. Edward in the bar who was fantastic with our apps and regaled us with his magic tricks. And the other gentlemen who shuttled us to and from the train station.
Your hotel was always clean and very welcoming. It was a shame i never got to meet Mrs. V but i hope she enjoyed our famous home made Stollen bread. (name of the bread .... it wasn't stolen lol) Our house keepers did a magnificent job with our rooms and always made us feel at home.

Mr. G. you have a wonderful hotel and staff that really seem to care about the property. My wife was very surprised and was the best Christmas we have had in a long time. Probably the last with our sons.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Check-in was smooth and friendly.

Pool still closed......bummer no notice was given. (booked through 3rd party web site)

Rooms very fresh and clean.

The self parking was free which was a bonus. Don't know if that is always the case or maybe was because my stay was at a slow time....Xmas week.

I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVO747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I recently spent two nights at the Stamford Hilton for a business conference. Check-in was smooth and quick. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room, which had one king size bed was clean and well appointed. My room was on the 3rd floor and it was generally quiet. However, I did at time hear noises from the room next door, so I could tell the walls were thin.

Why is it that bargain hotels such as Best Westerns and Red Roof Inn's offer free wireless Internet, but high end hotels such as this Hilton charge $9.95 a day for the same thing. In fact wireless was available only in the lobby areas. The room had wired Internet.

The pool was closed for renovations, to be completed by December 16, 2011. This wasn't a problem for me since my conference lasted all day and into the evening. No time to go swimming.

I had one meal at the hotel restaurant, a breakfast consisting of two eggs any style, bacon, hash browns and coffee. At a Denny's or IHOP this would be about $4.00 - $8.00. At the Hilton's Senses restaurant it was $14.00 (over $17.00 with tip). I charged this to my room. When I received the bill at checkout the charge was labeled Senses Bar. This being a business trip I would have a hard time justifying a $17.00 bar charge at 7:30am. I asked them to change the bill so it would read Senses Restaurant instead of Bar and they did that without any problem.

The conference rooms were well equipped with projectors, screens, etc. and with pads and pens at every seat and water at every table. The snacks and lunch items served our group were quite good.

Overall, I found the quality quite good, however a little pricey. Just what I would have expected from a Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: The halls are very long. Try to get a room closer to the elevators or you'll be doing a lot of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContestWinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
1.5 km away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
676 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
515 reviews
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,357 reviews
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Property: Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Address: 1 Stamford Pl, Stamford, CT 06902-6718 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing