We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have had occasion to stay at this hotel several times. While I was pleasantly surprised that the quality of the room service food has improved from how absolutely awful it was before, unfortunately the staff kept making mistakes with the order. One particularly annoying example with room service is that even when a table was specifically asked for (when it shouldn't be necessary to request a table in the first place for dinner for two), it was continuously a problem, and the table would arrive not set up, and with dirty tablecloths and stained table linen. Of course, the 20% automatic gratuity, in addition to the set-up charge (what for when nothing was setup???) and other various fees for room service, were charged.

Another issue was that the housekeeping staff would open the door even when the Do-Not-Disturb sign was on. One further problem was that the room was excessively hot and when we tried to use the air conditioning unit, it only blew hot air and actually raised the temperature to 82 degrees which made it very difficult to sleep as there were no windows that could open.

The Hilton Stamford has the potential of being a decent hotel, but only if they correct the continuing issues with room service, housekeeping, and the temperature controls in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    276
    212
    131
    90
See reviews for
205
167
78
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Besides a few good encounters (particularly the parking valet), this stay was always bordering on disaster. To begin, the hotel was overrun by tween and teen girls participation in a dance competion. Then the soft goods were worn and carpet needed replacing years ago. Next the tubs/showers/bathrooms were badly in need of modernization. I can find little to be positve about, except that it never really became a full on disaster.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stamford hotels

Granada, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

At first look, the Hilton was exactly as expected, helpful valet, great service people. We went to the room and things looked clean, but as we started moving in, I noticed red stains and dirt on the curtains. We went out for the night, and when we came back, there had been an event so there were tons of young kids running all over our floor slamming doors, and going in and out of rooms. It was extremely difficult to get any sleep the whole night as this went on until past 3am and started up again after 7am. Finally, the television provided was by far the worst system I have ever seen. The menu had very few options without having to pay fees from $4.99 to $17.99 to watch movies or TV shows. The standard television which provided about 15 channels had no guide, and the channels that were available were not coming in clearly. I expected much more from the Hilton. I would not go back until considerable changes have been made and never when an event was going on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvfh99am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for a four day meeting with a large group. Lots of positives (private elevator to HHonors floor, VERY comfortable bed, upgraded toiletries, friendly and attentive staff, very good food at restaurant) are overshadowed by some significant negatives. Although right off the highway, it is located in the back of a corporate office park with inconvenient self parking. Complimentary shuttle from the train station was slow (15 min to arrive, should have walked). Finally, member of our group got bed bugs. Hotel was very responsive, immediately taking trained dogs to check each of our group's rooms (around 300) and only one room was infested. Although I have some hesitation, I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Da-juiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was a guest at 5 day conference at the Stamford Hilton. The hotel is incredible, huge open public spaces, massive grand ballroom and tons of meeting rooms, u never feel cramped.
The hotel is clean and friendly and has been improving every year for the last several that I have been coming.
The challenge here has always been the hotel staff, but they are definetly getting better.
My room as always was great, the Westin shower and bedding is always amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Pulled up to the hotel and there was no valet. Had to leave the car running while I went looking for the valet. Check in was smooth. Walked into the room on the 5th floor and smelled the damp right away. Noticed the wallpaper peeling and water spots/rust in the bathroom. I did call down and they put me in another room right away. Room on the 9th floor was fine. The restaurant meal was fine. Would not stay here again - it needs a refurb.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th or 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Parking - Not enough and the garage was not secure. Location - Although near the transportation center (Metro North), the location is somewhat desolate, not warm and inviting at all. The lobby is nice, open and lots of natural light. The room was clean, spacious and I did appreciate the Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirlNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
1.6 km away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.0 km away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Property: Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Address: 1 Stamford Pl, Stamford, CT 06902-6718 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing