We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
29
5
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
5
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2015

After seeing some of the reviews on other sites I was sceptical about eating at the Rooster Inn for New Years Dinner. We were very warmly greeted and seated immediately. The only surprise I noticed was that I was the only one with a tie on. The rest of the clientele were dressed casually and some looked as though they had just come in from the fields; baseball caps and all....It's a real mixed bag at the Inn. As a starter the bread was excellent; the Arnold Palmer was different but good. I had the shrimp cocktail and my date had a salad. Both were excellent. Following the appetizers were the filet of beef and the baked chicken. The filet was perfect, the chicken was just a touch dry, but stll very good. The vegetables were superb. The fried goat cheese was different and a little heavy, but still nicely done. Although we did not have dessert I would have assumed it was very good as well. For about $110.00 on New Years Eve we had an excellent experience and I look forward to returning again soon. I even asked the waitress if they had brought in a different chef for the evening and she said no. It was the same chef they had for years...BRAVO!... Don't pass this little gem up.... Give it a try. I think you will be very pleasantly surprised.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank psd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen J, Owner at Rooster Tail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

We can't tell you how delighted we were to receive your review -- we only wish we had seen it sooner! It's wonderful to hear that everything from the bread, to our Arnold Palmer, appetizers, and main courses made this past New Year's Eve a memorable one. Thank you so much for the kind words, and we hope very much to see you in again soon.

All the best,
Mo and Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2014

The Rooster Tail Inn offers only a half-dozen beautifully designed suites, but the quality of furnishings and the taste level throughout are superb. The bathrooms are the height of indulgence, with MP3 players built into the soaking tubs, gorgeous tile work, Molton Brown amenities, etc. Mo (Maureen), one of the owners, is a dynamo. Highly recommended.

Room tip: The ground floor room is immediately next to the front door; its accessible for those with mobility challenges, but otherwise staying upstairs will offer a quieter stay.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CavalierJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen J, Owner at Rooster Tail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

We're blushing! This review is simply glorious. We're delighted to hear you were so taken by our rooms and amenities -- thank you for the sweet recommendation! I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Until then,
Mo and Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

My review is strictly that of the restaurant. The Rooster Tail is quaint and charming as you would expect to find in the Litchfield hills. Friendly, classy environment with an attentive wait staff. My favorite is the Wednesday evening Prime Rib special which offers you the English Cut which would soothe the average hunger pangs, The Queen Cut which is for The hungry man, and the King Cut which is for folks wanting to take home left overs for the following day. Which ever you choose its worth the trip and the price!

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorvetteGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen J, Owner at Rooster Tail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

It's wonderful to hear you find our environment classy, our service attentive, and our food satisfying -- we only wish we had seen your review sooner! Regardless, it was a pleasure to receive. Hope to get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Until then,
Mo and Cliff

P.S. Love the breakdown of our three cuts of steak! It's marvelous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Had a fantastic weekend stay at the Rooster Tail. Rooms were perfect, beds super comfy, and fantastic breakfasts (skip any diet plans!).

The owners (Mo and Cliff) were extremely accommodating, and the staff super friendly They planned the perfect family reunion party.
Awesome food both at the event and on a separate night for dinner. (The Calamari appetizer was the freshest, best take on calamari i have ever had.)

Thanks for a great party Mo!

Stephen

Room tip: room 6 is best location and would be quietest. Also lots of extra room. Bottom floor room best if difficulty with stairs.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StephenJ781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen J, Owner at Rooster Tail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Oh, we do wish we'd've seen this message sooner, Stephen! It's so kind. We're happy to provide the party any time! I'm so glad you found your weekend with us to be comfortable, accommodating, and delicious. We're looking forward to next time!

Until then,
Mo and Cliff

P.S. Great tip about room 6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Well worth the trip from anywhere! Wonderful atmosphere and DELICIOUS food! Excellent meal and reasonably priced......great wait staff. Make sure to dine there and tell Chef Jay his in-laws sent you!!!!! You won't be sorry!!!!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews