We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, welcoming, warm, quintessentially...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsLeady
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, welcoming, warm, quintessentially English”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I highly reccommend this house, it has a beautiful feeling about it, from the moment we arrived to the welcoming basket from out wonderful hostess and host.We flew over to the UK from Australia for a family get together to spend quality time with our family from Cumbria.
Our party ranged from 15 years of age to 83 years old, plus dog. The house was wonderful, it has great kharma, you don't even have to leave it if the weather is bad, there is so much to do. The bookshelves are well stocked, wi-fii for the teenagers to study and the kitchen is amazing, my nephew is a chef and was impressed. As a family of foodies, we had so many lovely moments together cooking in the kitchen, everything you need is there, it rained and we didn't care, dinner in the beautiful conservatory, lounging in one of the four rooms, overlooking the fileds and ocean on the horizon.
Take a walk up the hill to the left, my 74 year old mother did it with her walking stick, the views are spectaular, walk down the hill to the local pub, drive 5 minutes to any of the local villages or to Grange Over Sands you will not be disappointed.
Our only drawback was, that we had to leave Bankfield House, we could have stayed much longer had we had the time. We will all definetley return, everyone all ages loved it, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sapce the facilities the feeling of the house
Liked least: Nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
Jayne,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.it is always very special to us when someone does so,it is really heartwarming to read your comments.
Hope you had an uneventful journey back to Australia.We have had a wee bit of warm weather since you were here,but is raining again today.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bankfield House and in the meantime stay safe,happy and healthy.
Our very best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evs81
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House fab for hide and seek :)”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

After several weeks of trawling the internet the beginning of this year for a holiday let to accommodate 12 of us we stumbled across this beauty and instantly booked a long weekend at the end of April. Eric and Helen were fantastic communicators and absolutely bent over backwards to sort things for our stay they are the most friendly people you could wish for to deal with.

We arrived on the friday afternoon to be met by Eric and Helen's friendly faces the directions they gave us were spot on and the house was easy to locate. Eric gave us a good tour of the house whilst the children ran riot exploring their new surroundings for the weekend. The house was unbelievably well stocked and very in-keeping with the style of the house with regards to the decor and furniture. All the bedrooms were extremely spacious with comfortable beds, and plenty of room to spread out. All the linen and bath towels were supplied too and of excellent quality so no need to cram your own into the cases.

Downstairs you enter the house at the side which takes you into a porch area with downstairs toilet and utility room which has a washing machine, iron and ironing board, vibro machine and weights in it if you want to do a little workout. This then leads into a very large country style kitchen with an Aga (dont panic like we did its actually really easy and quite nice to use and makes a change from a normal hob) theres also a halogen hob, and electric oven, a fridge freezer and under counter fridge too. Plenty of pots/pans/plates/cutlery/cleaning stuff etc etc its literally a home from home and has absolutely every kitchen utensil etc imaginable.

the kitchen leads to the main hallway which has another very large shower room with a fab shower, toilet and sink. Then two living room areas and a reading room which the children turned into a playroom for themselves for a few days. The first smaller sitting room you come to has a massive conservatory attached with log burner and plenty of seating space to eat dinner its also got a 2 seater sofa too, this also leads to the patio area and enclosed garden. We spent most of our evenings in here as we loved the fire being on and it was nice and separate to belt out the tunes on the kareoke without waking the children upstairs :).

upstairs had 5 spacious bedrooms the children decided to sleep in one room at first so we pushed the twin beds together and Eric kindly supplied a couple of z beds to add to the room. 5 children were utterly excited to have a 3 night sleepover however once the first night was over with and kids finally fell asleep at 11pm it was time to separate them lol. This wasnt an issue though as all the rooms had ample room to place a z bed up for them to join the parents. The Green Room, Red Room and Sandy room over look the beautiful views of Morcombe Bay and its picturesque. The Rose room and Pine room look over the driveway area. Upstairs there is also a large shower room, with shower cubical, toilet and sink, a separate toilet cubical and a larger family bathroom with bath and overhead shower.

Outside is a large enclosed garden area and an patio area with ample seating and tables. On the driveway there is an outhouse of which one room is full of logs for the log burner and the other has some garden toys for the children and is suitable for storing bikes,

Grange-over-sands certainly isnt a bustling town more like a quiet and very relaxing little village with a handful of quaint shops, a co-op, spar, a chinese takeaway, chip shop and indian the nearest pizza shop is 30 mins away!. But if your wanting a nice chilled out time away from the hustle and bustle of every day life this place is perfect, its fairly central to get to the lakes etc only a short 20-30 min journey by car to Windermere.

If I were to give a negative I would say blackout blinds in the bedrooms would be nice. and the 2 sitting rooms merged together would be fab so that large parties can be seated together on the sofas rather than having to convene in the conservatory.

All in all though we had an absolutely brilliant weekend here at Bankfield house with friends and the children. We wish we'd stayed longer but theres no doubt about it we will be back again. We would highly recommend this holiday let for larger gatherings, its simply perfect. Thank you again to Eric and Helen for allowing us to spend our weekend here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole house !
Liked least: lack of black out blinds upstairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review Claire and we hope to welcome you all back to Bankfield House again
Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the good price, the style and ambience of the house
Liked least: the downstairs shower out of action for a few days and then not quite as gushy as the big rose suggested!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Thank you for very kind words it means a lot to Helen and I to get such wonderful feedback from our Holidaymakers,we loved having you all stay with us and please come back whenever you can,you know there is a warm welcome awaiting you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lpool
Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and space- really liked the conservatory
Liked least: we liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words,they are really valued by us and appreciate them very much.Hope to see you all again at Bankfield ,

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious everything was. Kitchen was huge and all utensils. Location. Very homely
Liked least: The pressure of the water
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Cheers for your kind remarks we enjoyed having you and are welcome back here anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words,it means a lot to us to know how much people have enjoyed staying at Bankfield House and all our efforts have been
worth it.We hope you come and stay again

Best regards,

Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the rooms and the open fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks it was lovely having you all here and we look forward to further visits
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing