We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JayJay11...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Bankfield House for a week on 10th October. We are a large family who needed a big house we could use as a base. Our daughter was getting married in Windermere and we wanted to combine this with some good walks and good food. First up - the house was brilliant. No complaints about the beds, everyone slept well. Bedrooms all well presented and inviting. Loved the large kitchen and Aga and the huge conservatory. Plenty of toilets and showers. Secure garden for children and dogs. The house has everything you need and more, from games to dvd's through to washing machine and dryer. Excellent. We had the most amazing chilled out time following a very hectic wedding. We left the dog food at the venue and straight away Eric provided enough food for 3 hungry pugs. The children made good use of the house and garden - they had a great time.

We ate at the local pub The Pheasant and the meal was excellent. We walked into Grange over Sands and up the big hill close to the house. The big hill really was a bit big and quite deceiving but we enjoyed every minute. Windermere is approx 30 minutes away so you can venture a bit further afield if you want to try different walks or lakes. Alas we simply ran out of time. We intended to visit Cartmel's sticky toffee pudding shop but luckily Higginsons (butchers) in Grange over Sands stocked these. So a word of warning on this very bad shop - everything is super delicious. This combined with the Pheasant and a wedding means we have all gone home a little rounder. Superb. Thank you Eric and Helen we loved your holiday home and will return next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Julie and Kevin,
Thank you so very much for such kind words,we are just glad we made your stay enjoyable and that you have such fond memories of your time here at our lovely house.You will have to come back as there is so much more to see and we will welcome with open arms.Stay healthy and happy until we meet again
all the very best from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneTel...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families and friends”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfect stay for a wedding thank you gift for my female family members and bridesmaids.
Very warm, cosey and friendly welcome with stunning views.
Perfect for all ages close to everything you need and Helen and Eric can not do enough for you -They even helped us organise beauticians to come so all 12 of us could have treatments.
We will be back as group of friends and with our extended family

Thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homely feel in excellent location
Liked least: there isn't anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Hi Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so glad all you ladies had a good time and look forward to meeting you all again,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
1 review
“Wonderful space for a wonderful stay.”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Returning from a wonderful few days away - an ideal place for a large family gathering across the ages.

Highlights for the children were:

The suitability of the house for a game of sardines,
The 'talking pipe',
The number of loos for a large household,
'I can see the sea!',
The toys and games.

Highlights for their parents were being able to relax as the children were so happy!

On behalf of all the family - many thanks.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Hi Pauline,
It was a joy to have you all here with us at Bankfield House and so glad you have taken away many happy memories.
Hope to see you again,
Best regards,
Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenEz17
Tillingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, well-equipped, spacious - perfect for family and friends groups”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Helen and Eric for a wonderful warm welcome and for providing such a perfect holiday home from home. We enjoyed every minute in the house.
Comfy beds, cosy kitchen breakfasts and perfect consevatory dining, a snug and a lounge for evenings in and a lovely partially covered patio with great views for evenings outside. We spent a great week at Bankfield House with a generational mix of family and friends - and everyone was delighted.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great for all ages
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthven66...
Fortrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house for family holiday”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is warm and well furnished. The bedrooms are roomy and the beds are very comfortable. Linen and towels are high quality and the kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. We spent a very happy holiday, enjoying the views of the bay, playing in the garden, and relaxing over dinner in the conservatory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,it is always good to get feedback from our guests.it was an absolute joy to have you here at Bankfield House and all that remains to be said is haste ye back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsma1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, ideal for holidaying with young children.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Helen & Eric are great hosts. They responded to my emails prior to arrival, and were there to greet us when we arrived. They showed us around, explained everything and told us about local amenities (pub!) then left us to it. Although they live next door we barely saw them until we left. The house is beautiful, with great sea views from 3 of the bedrooms and a lovely garden with veranda which is where we spent most of our time as the weather was beautiful. This house is perfect if you have young children. Plenty of space, travel cot, highchair, buggy and lots of indoor/outdoor toys available to keep them entertained. My 2 year old loved the massive garden and was out playing constantly. It is totally enclosed too so no need to worry about them getting onto roads or into mischief. I would highly recommend this house to families with children as it has everything. Just wish we'd have booked for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, veranda, conservatory, bedrooms, views and children's toys available.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaraFletc...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had an incredible holiday in such a delightful home.
From the warm welcome to the abundance of thought and care that has gone in to making this not a holiday let but a home.
The toys that had been left out for our 4 year old and 15 month old was age appropriate and a delight to them.
The house encourages a proper family holiday and we had lovely family times eating in kitchen with warmth of aga or enjoying the views with our meals in conservatory.
The views are spectacular.
Our family consists of two adults, two small children and two dogs and we all loved it.
Location to getting places is great.
Thank you for such a lovely holiday and we hope to return next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing