We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Middletown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed here one night when we were in the area for a special celebration. This is a relatively new property and reliably Hampton Inn-ish. We were concerned, though, when we arrived to discover that we (and several others in the area for the same celebration) could not check in until after 3 (the celebration was to start at 4 and there were showers to be taken and clothes to be ironed!). When the rooms became available they seemed to all come up at the same time. I don't quite understand how that can be and wondered about housekeeping management. Others were also more than inconvenienced when the elevator broke. We were in a nice room on the first floor - very quiet and comfortable - so we weren't affected by the elevator. I did overhear a hotel worker say, "Oh oh...we have a problem...the elvator broke again." Hmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the guest room to be nice. We do apologize that you had to check in at the same time as celebration goers. Sometimes, we do receive a rush of check in’s and the check in time at the hotel is 3 pm. If in the event we were booked the night before, then it does take housekeeping time all the way up in to check in time the next day to prepare the room to the highest standards. If in the future you do visit Middletown, Delaware, we hope that you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    115
    36
    19
    14
See reviews for
130
77
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We enjoy the Hampton Inn chain as we know what to expect and are rarely disappointed. This property was no different. A great stop on the way to Annapolis. The service was professional, room clean and well stocked and best of all a good nights sleep in pleasant surroundings. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is a vital part of our success and we value all the feedback we receive from our guests. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I recently stayed in the Hampton Inn Middletown and found it to be exactly as I expected, which isn't a bad thing. My family and I like Hampton Inns and usually find that they are uniformly adequate.

This one is relatively new; probably less than three years old. I think it is probably the only hotel in Middletown, so they could get away with substandard service but they do not try to. The front desk staff during check-in was very friendly and helpful. The woman overseeing the complimentary breakfast was actually outstanding; the highlight of the stay. She really kept a nice presentation and worked very diligently all morning.

The hotel is walking distance to several stores and restaurants, including Buffalo Wild Wings (one of my faves!), so that's nice. The pool is nothing special, but suited our needs.

The room was fine. Clean, and everything worked. I found the air conditioner to be a bit noisy, however. My son got up in the middle of the night to turn off the air which is saying something because he could sleep through a bomb blast usually.

If I had one negative in my experience here it would be this. We stopped into the convenience shop behind the registration desk to pick up a comb for my son. We paid $2.50 for it, which the desk clerk gladly collected even after I commented to her that I thought it was awfully expensive for a comb. Later in the room I noticed the sign that says lets you know that some complimentary toiletries are available at the front desk, so I went back downstairs, asked for and received a comb. Fortunately the clerk refunded my money for the one I purchased, but couldn't she have told me they were available free before she let me pay $2.50 for one?

All in all, a very nice stay at the Hampton Inn Middletown. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Owner at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Middletown Delaware. We appreciate your comments about our friendly and helpful staff as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. The entire staff takes great pride in our hotel and friendly service we provide. Like all Hampton Inns, we do offer complimentary sundries that you make have forgotten, such as toothbrush, toothpaste or a comb. We also have a Suite Shop, which is a small convenience area, selling items such as drinks, snacks, ice cream and sundry items. Although we do sell items that are offered complimentary, items found in the Suite Shop tend to be upgraded to a better quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Flew into the Summit Airport in Middletown and was looking for a hotel nearby.

The Hampton Inn is located about 5 miles south of the airport and looks to be newly constructed. The breakfast area was obviously purpose-built and is open and spacious with plenty of seating and a good selection of foods. Front desk staff was friendly and courteous. There is a business center with a few terminals and a small shop behind the front desk to purchase snacks, drinks, etc.

The room is large and has the new Hampton Inn linens, bedding, etc. No flat-screen TV in this hotel, but the TV is in the corner and is unobtrusive. The bathroom is very large and well appointed. Shower (no tub) and a nice big sink area. Loved the room. Just perfect for a business traveler.

Only one complaint.

No airport transportation or transportation to restaurants within a few miles. I hated having to rent a car that I put no more than 5 miles on.

  • Liked — Sparkling clean and new. Nicest Hampton i've stayed at in a while
  • Disliked — No local transportation provided. No choice but to rent a car.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jme1016
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My son and I stayed here recently on the Saturday night in between races in Dover, DE. The location is a little bit off of the highway (probably 5-10 minutes if you don't get lost like we did). There are quite a few chain and fast food restaurants that were close by. After a day of driving from NJ straight to the race and staying through to walk the track, we didn't get to the room until after 11. Check-in was quick and the woman at the front desk was very nice. She got us a room right off the elevator on the second floor, which helped since I was carrying all of the bags and my sleeping 4-year old. The free breakfast had hot and cold selections and was better than I expected. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. There were others there from the race (it is only about 25 minutes from the track), but it must not be a well known area as I was able to get a room in April, which was only a month or so before race day. We did use the pool and, it seemed to be very clean and was VERY warm. The front desk woman in the morning was very nice - gave us some band aids for my son's feet since seemed to be getting some blisters from all of the walking. Overall, would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jme1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Owner at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our exceptional amenities. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

My boyfriend and I were on our way to southern Delaware the Thursday before Easter. I picked him up at PHL at about 7 pm and he being one who loves spontaneity, we had no reservations anywhere. We were hungry and finally pulled off US 1 onto 299 toward Middletown, following highway signs towards restaurants. We had a surprisingly good meal at an Applebee's, then continuing west on 299 we stumbled on a Hampton Inn at the intersection of 299 and 15. What a pleasant surprise! The hotel is relatively new, the beds have those wonderful mattresses and upscale bedding that make you want to linger forever, the room is well-appointed with nice furnishings and free internet access, and the bathroom is a gem. Plus, the free breakfast actually has things that are worth eating: yogurt, cereals that aren't all sugar, fruit, coffee (just ok), pastries, make your own toast. We were just sorry it was tucked so out of the way. Definitely worth seeking out if you're in need of a place to stay on a road trip through Delaware.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Owner at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
We were happy you stumbled upon us as you were traveling. We do have the most comfortable bedding! We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

Great, new hotel. My wife and I spent the night on our way up to New York. The location is in a new area and not a lot was around the hotel, so it was very quiet. The free breakfast featured both hot and cold selections and was better than I expected. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The price was ok, but more than reasonable when compared with other hotels in the Baltimore/Philly area. The service was great. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank California_Guy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonmiddletown, Owner at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
21.4 km away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
333 reviews
22.0 km away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
22.4 km away
Best Western Smyrna Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
38.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
21.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn Middletown
Address: 117 Sandhill Dr, Middletown, DE 19709-5813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing