We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean With Helpfull Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean With Helpfull Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked a King with a balcony overlooking Rehoboth Avenue, for three nights over the Easter weekend in 2012. We paid one night up front during our booking on line and the rest on arrival...
I would imagine that in the peak season parking here would be a little hectic, as it is underground parking and although you are alloted a space, they are not numbered. There is an elivator from the car park to all floors, but, you can also unload when you park in the temporary parking area along side the reception, only for unloading and booking in.
Booking in was fast and the staff pleasant.
They do encourage 'the fit' to take the stairs during your stay, as there is only one elivator.
The room was spotless, I couldn't fault it and well done to the cleaning lady.
There was a small microwave and a medium size fridge inside the armoir, t.v. work desk and a not so comfy sofa.
I would have given this hotel a 5* had it not been for the fact that there were no hand rails on the walls of the tub/shower in this particular room, don't know about the other rooms, nothing to hang on to as you step in or out when in your 60s/70s/80s.
The breakfast was so weird.....Be prepaired to queue for what is really a very very basic start to your day and if not enough plates you have to wait for their little dish washer to finish, the breakfast was great for kids though... I'm guessing that there maybe about 50/60 rooms in this hotel and only eight breakfast tables, unless there are some more out on a patio but, we were happy to share with another couple on our first morning. For the remainder of our stay, we went for breakfast across the road from the hotel's ramp down to the car park or had brunch out on our travels.
We were there for property hunting and so we never used any of the other facilities in the hotel.
Although chilly being early April but lovely and sunny, those balconies are always in the shade over the high Street, we found the goings on down below in the high street entertaining. I would think these shady balconies would be a God send in the summer.
Total price for a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night in April $467.00
All in all, a nice place.

Room Tip: I personally have a new health issue with my lower back and the long walk from the elivator was a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PansyPotter02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,451
    305
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
676
667
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

enjoyed a long weekend in Rehoboth Beacb! Sitting out on our deck people watching was one of the highlights ! great coffee which was always available, nice perk!! very friendly staff, nice clean rooms and loved the location ! my only suggestion is to bring an egg crate to put on bed to make more comfortable for sleeping - that was little rough !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeAdventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are looking into new bedding as I write so hopefully the next time you visit your sleep will be pleasurable.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Avenue Inn and Spa. The room was clean and of a comfortable size. They serve complimentary wine, cheese and crackers from 5 - 7 PM in the lobby and then freshly baked cookies at 8 PM. Breakfast was a cut above the usual continental breakfast with better quality than we have experienced at other hotels.
The hotel is about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach.
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest room with 2 queens, no view. We actually appreciated not being on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hi Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avenue. We work hard to deliver a different hotel experience and I am glad to hear that you received it. Thank you for the kind words and for choosing to stay with us while visiting Rehoboth. We will look forward to you becoming another repeat guest at the Avenue!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

To be fair - I have stayed two other times at the Avenue Inn with my two granddaughters and daughter for an annual 'Spring' trip to Delaware. We always enjoyed it. The hotel is pleasant enough and my granddaughters liked the sauna, steam room and hot tub.

Unfortunately this time we were unable to book a room in the hotel and had to book a room in their 'annex'. The annex is nothing like the hotel. While they do make an effort to be honest about what the annex is ... I feel they should not even market their motel as a part of the Avenue Inn. It was way below the main hotel's standards and unless you are a college student on spring break I can't imagine you would want to stay there.

Another disappointment was the hot tub that was no longer there ... they had signs explaining they were in the process of improving it ... but it was completely gone and there was no new one in sight. I feel they should let you know about this on their web site.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex - find a different hotel if you can't stay in the Inn itself!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GailLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
All of our staff takes a great deal of pride in being the #1 rated hotel in Rehoboth. We have been #1 for over two years because we deliver the best hotel experience at a very good value. Our staff strives to perform their particular duty to the highest standards. It is always a major disappointment when we get a poor rating in a review. It is even more disappointing when the rating, in my opinion, isnt justified. I have to take issue with this review when it is admitted that the difference between the two buildings was explained and it is clearly visible on the web site in our pictures. A room of comparable size in the main buidling is $45 more expensive on a night in April. We have many guests that appreciate the less expensive rooms in a differnt environment enjoying the large walkways and easy access to Rehoboth and Wilmington Avenue. I understand it may not suit your needs but to give a below average rating is unfair. We notified all arriving guests about the hot tub situation, and I assure you we are replacing it as I was personally involved with getting it on the deck today. We had to remove the old tub to complete improvements to the equipment in preparing for the new tub. It is especially disappointing that as a repeat guest we were never given the opportunity to receive a nice review though you have stayed with us before but choose to hit us with a negative even though we are clear about what you will recieve at the Avenue II.
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I visit Rehoboth Beach quite often to be with family. Over the Easter holiday, I suggested that we treat ourselves to spa treatments. My cousin suggested The Avenue Spa. We both made reservations for a massage and pedicures. What outstanding treatments and service we had. I have decided that this will now become a tradition whenever we return to Rehoboth!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehawaiiansunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the treatments you received at the spa. Thank you for coming in and for taking the time to place a review, it is sincerely appreciated. We will look forward to you making your visits a tradition as well.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The entire hotel is very up to date and extremely clean. I often see rooms (especially in beach locations) that are in dire need of updating. The minor details of the rooms from the carpet, tastefull decor, "California knockdown" drywall finish, fireplace, jacuzzi to the crown moldings make you want to remodel at least one room in your own home to similar standards. The breakfast, wine & cheese and cookies and hot beverages are nice extra benefits to take advantage of. Don't forget to recognize the cleaning staff with a tip for doing such an excellent job of keeping the hotel in top shape. We had a very good overall experience. The only thing to note is that sound from the third floor pool, hallways, stairways and rooms does travel. We happened to visit during a busy spring break week when the hotel occupancy was full. We shared our concerns with the staff who were more than happy to do what they could to make our stay more comfortable. They offered another room and transferred our luggage. Every staff member we encountered were very friendly and truly appeared to be happy to work in this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Consider requesting a room on the second floor away from the pool and stairs if sound outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for noticing the improvements we make to keep the Avenue fresh and inviting. We recognize the importance of always presenting an exceptionally clean and well furnished hotel and we want to show that we appreciate our customers by invcesting back in the hotel. Our goal is to be #1 on Tripadvisor so we work ahrd everyday to present the very best hotel experience in Rehoboth. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Avenue.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have stayed here before. Loved it, so we went back again. The only thing I would change...is to make the last hour the pool is open for ADULTS ONLY!! Maybe even dim the lights a little. When we stayed there, we had gone out and had a wonderful dinner. Came back to our room, got changed and thought we would have a nice end to our evening with a glass (Plastic cup!) of wine, in the hot tub. Not so! There were 4 kids in the hot tub and pool..who took the place over!! Thier mothers sat there and did NOTHING. Not asking much----just the last hour!!!Oh well!......................We will go back again sometime soon I hope! Great location--we parked our car when we got there, and never moved it again till, we checked out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoe109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.4 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.8 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing