We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
710
102
21
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
102
21
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool munduk moding garden suite games room private butler luwak coffee bamboo villa main building local community above sea level one bedroom pool villa outdoor shower rainy season our honeymoon four poster bed welcome drink ginger tea
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 837 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I led a group of ten university students on a study trip to Bali. We could not afford this luxury resort except by fitting extra people into each villa. The staff was very accommodating and provided very decent extra beds (really, thick mattresses for the floor). This was fine because the villas are large and very comfortable.
The views from the place are amazing. You have to be prepared for the fact that here, more than 1,000 m above sea level, it's not that hot, and the beautiful infinity pool might not be warm enough for you to swim. For those who want to be off the beaten path and enjoy a spectacular landscape, this place cannot be bettered. All the staff is well trained and very courteous. The restaurant, however, is very pedestrian, though there is nothing particularly wrong with the food.
The hotel maintains a coffee plantation run on an ecological basis, which stabilizes the slopes of the hill and provides some economic support to the surrounding villages. The cost of running the plantation is no doubt well worth the money, since it makes the hotel even more attractive to visitors, but it is probably a definite plus for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The location was pretty remote,weather is always cool thus suitable for a quiet retreat. We stay 2nts and spend valentine in the clouds!
The free tour introducing the coffee plantation was indeed a refreshing walk after breakfast, guided thru the vast farm,- clove, cocoa and avocado are also planted among the coffee trees. Actually intended to enjoy horse riding for the first time, unfortunately only 1 horse is available due to health reason, so went for jungle trekking instead, to Empelan waterfall- definitely one of the highlights in Munduk! A 50meter majestic fall among the lush greenery!
The Garden Suite 1 we occupied is lovely-secluded location, artistically designed, very airy although no window(avoid insect) and the “bouncy” poster bed will sink you into deep sleep in no time!no airconditioning is required here.
Food was cheap and we loved the Balinese dishes, even the beverage served after the Spa treatment was such a delight-a pinch of Cinnamon in ginger tea. My only complaint would be the telephone line service, probably due to its high altitude, the room phone line can hardly work, we had to try many times b4 reaching the reception, the poor coverage also irritates us when ordering room service-once I went directly to the restaurant to order a Caesar salad, after 40min the food still hasn’t arrived, and I couldn’t be bothered to remind them coz it’s really a hassle!

Overall the service are great,staff are genuinely friendly and it’s worthy for a second visit.

Room Tip: Garden Suite 1 has a splendid view & ultimate privacy
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Tham,
I highly appreciate your comments about us at MMP and your intention to revisit the plantation. The team and I are certainly looking forward to welcome you back and hope to be able to deliver a better service on your second visit. More importantly, we would love to take you on horse riding and offer you a free half day trip when you return. We are presently training a third Bali pony named Raja who will be ready to ride with our guests in a couple of weeks, thereby guaranteeing that we can offer horse riding to our guests at all times.
We deeply apologise that you had difficulties in using the mobile phone offered by MMP in the room. In principle, it should allow you to contact either our restaurant team or our receptionist - from your room or any place at MMP. However, given that we are located in a slightly remote area, we are, occasionally, not “fully” covered by our cellular phone operator, especially during a rainy day. We will look into this seriously and consider which provider offers the best coverage for the area.
As to the late delivery of our room service, I would like to apologise unreservedly and thank you for the feedback. It is clearly not acceptable. Usually, all of our dishes are delivered no more than fifteen minutes after the order is placed although in very rare cases – especially when we are very busy - it can take a bit longer. We are very fortunate that we are still relatively busy even during the low season (the time when you were here with us) and, unfortunately, when you stayed with us one of our cooks fell ill which might be the reason of the delay in delivering your salad. We are now putting in place a system to monitor this carefully to avoid this happening in the future.
Finally, I very much hope that I will be able to welcome you back to MMP on your next visit to Bali.

Gede Uliadnyana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Munduk Moding Plantation for two nights in the middle of our 10 day tour of Bali. From the moment we arrived, we loved it!! We were greeted with a gorgeous necklace of flowers and fresh juice. It was the perfect welcome! The hotel villas and suites are set amid the lush grounds of the plantation. There is so much vegetation, that every villa has lots of privacy. The villa we stayed in was beautiful. Large and airy with lots of windows. We ate at the hotel restaurant for most of our meals during our stay. The food was great! The restaurant looks out over the inifnity pool and has a gorgeous view. We went to the spa and enjoyed balinese massages which were nice and relaxing. The service was wonderful and attentive. The hotel was also very helpful in coordinating a day tour for us to visit the northern coast of Bali. Overall, a great stay! Would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the mountains of Munduk and have a quiet and relaxing stay at a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I could not fault my experience at Munduk Moding. My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every second of it. The staff were lovely and extremely attentive, the food was delicious, the accomodation was luxurious (2 shower, a bath, 4 poster bed, etc), the view was marvelous and there was plenty to see and do. The location is out about half an hour from Munduk, which makes it nice and quiet, but there is a free shuttle service if you want to go trekking. We could have stayed for another week. Five Stars!

Room Tip: Choose a villa rather than a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bron_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in several places in Bali, however, this was my favorite. From the moment we arrived to the point we "had" to leave, the staff were lovely, the location breath taking and the villa, as described previously, secluded luxury!
We were visiting Bali as it was my 40th Birthday and our wedding anniversary, the staff made the occasion feel very special, nothing was too much trouble, they even made me a Birthday cake! We were given a tour of the plantation, which was very interesting, however, make sure you wear sensible shoes, as in the rainy months it can be slippery.
We had also organized our transfer from this accommodation to our next through Munduk Moding plantation. The weather was bad, roads had started to flood but the driver's priority was always to look after us, he had to turn back and take a different route making sure we were safe at all times, we never got to say thank you, so I would like to say it now! If we return to Bali, we would not hesitate to return to Munduk Moding as it was lovely!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews