We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

Edgewater Manor Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Stoney Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: 2018 Holiday Hours: Please note, Edgewater Manor will be following our summer hours for the remainder of the season. Sat and Sun will be reserved for private events.
Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

We were 8 people for lunch celebrating University Graduation. The location, the view n the food were all is impressive. Even our sassy waitress was great lol. The appetizers portions r huge n everyone raved about their meals. My only regret is that we were tourist n can't go there more often

Thank Lynwin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Edgewater Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Hello

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate this university graduation. We know you are not in the area but hopefully we are worth the drive. Thank you and we hope to see you soon again.

Cheers
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2015

AMBIANCE: My husband and I went on a Thursday night. The dining room only had a few tables seated, but there was also a private function upstairs which made the restaurant busier than it seemed at first glance. There was good spacing between the tables and at no time did we ever feel cramped, nor isolated. The view of the lake and the grounds is beautiful.
WINE: The menu looked interesting and we wanted to try a variety of dishes, as it was our first time there. The wine list was extensive so after deciding on the menu items we wanted, I looked through and found a surprisingly rich and varied list of choices, but there was no sommelier on hand to guide diners, the wait staff didn't seemed to be trained at all in this area, there were no tasting notes available and both servers in our area admitted to never having tasted any of the 4 choices we were interested in. I eventually chose a bottle on my own which ended up working well with our combination of meats and seafood with rich, buttery sauces, but the dining experience would have been enhanced by staff being more knowledgeable and better able to provide assistance in this area. However, the bottle was properly decanted and left to open up during our first course which enhanced the bouquet beautifully.
STARTERS: We started with the oysters, which were fine but a bit of a throw-away. Only 6 small oyster of indeterminate species, presented on a huge plate of ice. I had to ask for a spoon for the sauces as well as lemon as neither came with it. The oysters were also served with our hot appetizers instead of beforehand, which meant that the table was overfull, we had to rush through the oyster plate and continually pass them over our other appetizer plates, and the hot appetizers had cooled by the time we got to eat them. The escargot was cooked to perfection, savoury and not tough or chewy. The mushrooms complimented them perfectly, but the double-smoked bacon was used a bit heavy handedly and was the predominant flavour which overpowered the delicate escargot. Also, the plate was over-sauced and the crispy wonton was a bit greasy and should have been placed on top of the dish instead of underneath where it became soggy and chewy from the excessive amount of sauce. The fois gras, on the other hand, was delicious! Beautiful sear and properly deveined; we would definitely order it again. The plating was beautiful (a flat slate tile with no edges) but somewhat impractical as the saucy accompaniments escaped the plate and made a mess on the table cloth. The mess was expertly handled by the wait staff though, who covered it with fresh linen to hide the unsightly mess and prevent further spread to other plates and glassware.
MAINS: For the main, we both had the surf and turf (filet mignon and lobster), which was cooked to order and came with beautifully cooked fresh veg, but also a throw-away "grey-eige" garlic mash which was a bit pasty. The lobster tails were salty and sweet, and not overcooked, but I did request they be less cooked, as the table nearest to us had also ordered the dish and we noticed that theirs was slightly overdone (excessive char and tougher, stringy texture). The filet mignon was beautifully cooked, but a bit dry (as is the nature of meat with such a low fat content) and could have benefitted by an herb-butter finish or the like to take it from good to great. In the end, I used some of the leftover drawn butter provided for the lobster to moisten the meat, which also imparted a beautiful lobster flavour to the beef.
DESSERTS: Although I am not generally a dessert person, it ended up being the homerun of the evening. I had the trio of crème brûlée (pistachio, vanilla, and cherry), with all being very good but the cherry being the standout of the three. All had a nice crust and rich creamy texture. My husband had the flourless chocolate cake which was rich, oozy and delicious. We ordered espresso with our dessert and unfortunately it came a full 10 minutes prior to our dessert. However, when I asked if I could have it served after the dessert, they brought me another at the appropriate time at no charge.
OVERALL HITS AND MISSES: Overall, it was a positive dining experience, and we would definitely return. However, a few improvements could elevate this very good restaurant to true fine dining status. Certain menu items (oysters, escargot) were disappointing in execution and we would not order again, and others were missing the finishing touches that could elevate the dishes even further (herb butter finish on the filet mignon, fresh vanilla bean in the vanilla crème brûlée). Also, the menu would defintely benefit from wine suggestions at varying price points for each dish (e.g., a suggestion each for by the glass, bottle under $50, bottle under $120), even if only for the staff to have hidden as a "cheat sheet" behind the bar. Some minor service inconsistencies need to be ironed out (order of service for cold & hot appetizers, basic wine list knowledge, order of service for coffee and desserts). That being said, the food was generally quite good, the staff were very friendly and answered every request with a smile, and at no time did we feel rushed, nor neglected, which all contributed to the overall positive experience of the evening. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank FoodieMamaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Edgewater Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you for this complete review. It is so good when we get a review such as this. It makes us stop and see what we are doing right and wrong. You took your time and were very precise. Thank you so much. Hopefully we have the chance of meeting you some day. It is great to know people still enjoy dining the right way.

Cheers
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

We came across this hidden gem on a Sunday drive. So we called to make reservations for the following weekend for dinner. The food, staff and atmosphere is amazing plain perfect!
We have been many times for dinners but when we got engaged we knew the perfect venue was the edgewater manor. We were married outside with the lake as our backdrop and the food again was top notch with amazing friendly service. All our guests are still raving about this restaurant.
We will be returning for a very long time to come.

Thank equstrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Edgewater Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2016

We are so happy that we have become part of your memories for years to come. We can do what we do because of great people like yourselves.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon for dinner

Cheers
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

We traveled to Stoney Creek to celebrate the wedding of our nephew. Edgewater Manor is perfectly located on the western shore of Lake Ontario and surrounded by gardens. There are outdoor tables to enjoy good weather and the view. The building is a restored classical manor from the early 20th century, in excellent condition. There is a full bar and a comfortable dining area that held our wedding party of about 60-70 people. Service was efficient yet friendly. I don't expect much from crowd dinners, but this time we were all pleasantly surprised. A delightful vegetable soup was followed by salad and an outstanding (and very generous) rack of lamb. The meat was tender, flavorful and juicy. The sides were fresh and tender and the dessert was quite enjoyable.

1  Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Edgewater Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2016

Hi Gabriel

Thank you for letting us know you had a great dinner at one of our weddings. We try to make all events great. With great food and service. We hope to see you back soon for dinner.

Cheers
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

We had our wedding at Edgewater Manor yesterday and we were blown away by the food, service and ambiance. All of our guests (who are from GTA mainly) felt it was worth the drive once they got there. As soon as they arrived they immediately understood why we chose this place. It is a very elegant, classic venue but with a relaxed, comfortable feel. We used the outdoor area for the cocktail hour with live music and it was very picturesque right by the water. The overall value was incredible and the owner was quite flexible with the menu. Food was very important for me and i did not want the typical wedding menu (no chicken supreme please!). We had lamb, arctic char and steak for our main course (and a vegeterian option) and guests were able to select their meal on the spot. The service was superb and the space was just right. Our vendors said they were also treated like gold. The owner, Peter, patiently answered all our questions throughout the year that we had, to plan the wedding. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough for a smaller crowd (about 100 people fit perfectly). We had a very special day that we will remember forever!

3  Thank Ioana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Edgewater Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2016

Ioana

It was amazing working with you. You guys are now part of the family. We hope we can entice all your GTA friends and family to come out for a drive or have an event with us. It is amazing for us when we meet great people like you. We hope to see the both of you soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edgewater Manor Restaurant also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Edgewater Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing