We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Concert Venue E-V-E-R”

The Freeman Stage at Bayside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Freeman Stage at Bayside is an outdoor performing arts venue operated by the Joshua Freeman Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit fundraising organization. The Freeman Stage at Bayside strives to offer a wide range of diverse and quality arts experiences to people of all ages and backgrounds in the Mid-Atlantic area. The stage is open to the public and we welcome residents and visitors to spend time with us during our outdoor stage season. Typically, the season is between Memorial Day and Labor Day and presents over 50 performances. Genres include dance, live music, national recording artists, and theatre.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue E-V-E-R”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Always thought Freeman Stage was for old folks or young kids for kids concerts or symphonies. Went to it for concerts summer 2013. BEST TIME!! Took like 5 minutes from our place in Fenwick - going to concert in DC is always a huge effort. This place --hoped in the car - they had crowds and cars but parking was very swift and fast to get to the grass lot and were quickly seated. They had stadium style seats but felt sooo close the entertainers. It was an absolutely beautiful location on the grounds next to Bayside's pond. I dread gigantic concert halls this has a Wolf Trap feel to it. Very peaceful. Saw Darius Rucker - amazing. Cowboy boots were everywhere -- brought in all ages teens as well as middle age crowd and very fun music. My only opinion is get more people like you did last year Darius and Sheryl Crow. More entertainers like that and you will have great return crowds. i stopped going to see concerts for the huge effort and crazy crowds. I am now anxiously awaiting 2014's lineup. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank love_da_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    13
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Venue!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have attended numerous shows. They are always great! Fun place to go for an inexpensive evening. You can even buy a whole bottle of wine. Talent for some of the free shows and $10 shows has been amazing. Of course you can pay for the big ticket shows but yes, the bleachers are tight! Shows were great. Only expect them to last about an hour though. The free/$10 shows last longer ... with an intermission.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrustMe2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing summer concerts”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I experience several concerts this summer at Freeman. The venue is perfect for outdoor concerts. You will have an up close and personal experience with the artist.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessup, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I took my 10 month old infants here to watch the Irish Celtic band Cherish the Ladies. It was a wonderfully casual venue. The sound was first rate and the staff was super friendly. For this show, it was just bring-you-own-camp-chair and there was a lot of room to spread out. I'd imagine that for a bigger show it might feel crowded but it was perfect for us. There was food, clean bathrooms close enough that you could still hear the show inside, the water nearby kept it breezy and cool. Fantastic sunset, NO BUGS and a great show. I would go here again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank crayolabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wow! Really nice set up, saw Pat Benatar here last month and we are already planning on coming back for other shows. Easily available restrooms, mini bars and food. Paid performances have the chairs/bleacher seating provided, my one complaint is the TIGHT seating in the bleachers. I am five foot 105 pounds and I felt squashed. They have many free shows that look great also, and I will be happy to bring my own chair to avoid the bleachers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thezoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Freeman Stage at Bayside also viewed

 

Been to The Freeman Stage at Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing