We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No signage makes for crazy times”

Best Western Smyrna Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Smyrna Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smyrna
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Let me begin by noting that there is only one game in town in Smyrna, Delaware, The motel itself is nestled inside of a shopping mall, and the ONLY signage available is a street that is really the entrance to a highway!!! Otherwise one needs to know that the correct turn is into the shopping mall. At night, when I arrived, and called for precise directions cause my WAYZ was flummoxed, the young man at the desk had NO idea how to help me. I was on the highway that he kept telling me to find, but was unable to give me any indication as to how to find them, I came in at 10 PM pretty tired to find that: the ice machines were out of order, that the fitted sheet on the mattress did not have a large enough overage to stay put.....the place was totally mediocre but passable had I not become so grumpy in the efforts to find the place

Room Tip: its in a shopping mall sided by a highway- but rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

This Best Western has every thing, shopping center, Casino, Beashes are just down the road, the rooms are nice and clean, the pool is all in closed out side, and the employees are very nice. the price to stay is low

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Awesome hotel with great customer service--especially the young man at the front desk. Rooms are clean (could have used a few extra towels, though) and the hallways are so wide and bright, unlike most hotels I've stayed! Very great stay and the express check out made my experience that much more convenient!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tyanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This hotel has poor guest experience. The bathroom was dirty, urine in the toilet. The coffee maker had molded coffee in it. The room was layered with dust, even all the pillows. The front desk staff had a very bad attitude indicating asking for a new room would have meant waiting for hours. this was a bad experience, they need a manager who knows how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed here last weekend 5/27/16 and 5/28/16 for daughter's graduation. After driving all night from Boston, we did arrive much earlier than expected. We had spoken to someone the evening before that said they would be happy to accommodate us with an early check in if possible. We called upon arriving that morning, and the day clerk told us check in was "3PM". We explained we had spoken to someone the evening before and her response was, "well they don't understand how the day shift works." We had relatives staying at the hotel so stopped by to visit them around lunch time. Besides their car, the parking lot was empty and the hotel appeared vacant. About 1:30PM we checked in with the clerk in person, who was short tempered and rude. She said our room was still not ready and we could not check in until 3PM. At 3PM the housekeeper was finishing his duties in the room we were assigned to. Again, there was not another guest in site at this place. The next day around 1:00PM we went back to our room to rest and freshen up between events that day; but were disturbed by a yelling match in the hallway outside of our room between the same day clerk and another guest.
Our room was clean, and the breakfast was as described. Although our daughter will now be going to college here and we will be frequenting the area, we will not return here. Look elsewhere if you are looking for your stay to be pleasant, accommodating, and hospitable.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this place at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Monday night, friendly clerk gave us choice of floors-not many guests in hotel.
Didnt see any coffee service near desk-not a plus.
Room was very clean & bathroom spacious, coffee pot/pods avail.
Air worked GREAT!
Heat lamp in bath.

Continental breakfast, fresh, stocked; GREAT coffee. Clerk (Kena) kept the area spotless!

Tuesday night w/no notice, repairs done to heaters=COLD SHOWERS. Desk clerk on duty seemed unaffected by our unhappiness- We were not impressed with his demeanor.

There is a small plaza in back of hotel, we tried Nino's Pizza Monday & went back Tuesday. Service was decent, food was super. Dont be afraid to try it; the plaza llooks abit dingy overall but you will be surprised to see how bright and airy Nino's is. Great old time music from the 40'-50's; crooners like Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin. Loved it.

Would use this hotel again if in the area as long as HOT shower was available :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AwakeAtDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Overall the experience was pleasant. The room was nice and well stocked and clean when we returned at the end of the day. However, breakfast was the same every day. Gets a little boring, but then you also know what to expect.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smyrna
12.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
18.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
12.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
9.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
12.8 km away
Residence Inn Dover
Residence Inn Dover
#7 of 20 in Dover
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Smyrna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Smyrna Inn

Address: 190 Stadium St, Gateway North Plaza, Smyrna, DE 19977-2813 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smyrna Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Smyrna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smyrna
Price Range: $98 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Smyrna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property has Elevator Facilities. All Rooms are equip with Coffee Machine,Fridge,Microwave,Iron and Iron Board and Hair Dryer in Bathroom. We Outdoor Pool but Limited Time Frame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Smyrna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smyrna
Smyrna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing