We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Where to start. We stayed in room 105 on Saturday, 3 March 2012. Room was basic, all appliances worked. However: room was marginally clean, and under the bed was filthy - as though dirt had been pushed under there. Bed sagged in the middle; we aren't big people, but still rolled to the center. Shower/bath knob was impossible for Mrs. to pull out, took a lot of strength on my part to start the water flow. Room was extremely noisy for traffic and talking nearby, much more so than I would have thought.
Last time we stayed there was fine - on the mall side of the building. This time, much different.
As E A Poe said - quoth the raven, nevermore.

Room Tip: If youmust stay there, get a room on the mall side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F W P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

We are sorry we did not meet your standards, we are upgrading in the future and we hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Chose this hotel to stay over in Wilmington while attending a family function over Christmas. We didn't want to break the family budget- we have stayed at other hotels in this area but wanted to save some money this go around.

Days Inn used to be the Talley Ho motel in the old days when the Brandywine Raceway was in existence. It is located on the busy intersections of Naamans Road (Rt 92) and Concord Pike (Rt 202). Our room faced Naamans Road which although busy was fairly quiet. The other side would be quiet. The front of the hotel faces 202.

We had a second floor room (top floor). Approach to the room was walk up - so so. Stairways are exposed and were stained with spilled beverages. Inside, rooms are standard fare set up - typical of most hotels. Two queen beds, small table, 2 chairs under a window. One dresser and one desk. Good sized flat screen TV.

Typical quilted dark floral print bedspreads, which we quickly removed. Room was clean- no bedbugs. My husband and I are former exterminators and this is the first thing we look for and we know how to look. Room was clean in that regard. A shelled peanut and a twisty tie were on the floor under one bed so the room didn't have a thorough vacuuming. That being said overall condition was clean. Had the "carpet has had many shampooed aroma" that we find in a lot of hotels. No mildew in bathroom. It is our practice to remove the bedspreads in hotels like this. These aren't usually replaced with each guest and who knows what was going on the bedspread before you got there. So we fold them up and put them in the corner. Mattresses were cleaned. No dust ruffle. This makes the room look more average but for bedbug control it is a must. We appreciated that. Dust ruffles look pretty but they can hide/harbor insects. Typical boring hotel art. Alarm clock was on middle nightstand was unplugged but we didn't need it.

Heater/AC unit is under the window- worked well. TV worked well.

Bath: Comes with complimentary shampoo, soap, conditioner. Tub was clean, towels were plentiful, not very big unless you are a size 2, but enough of them. Water pressure was good, hot water plentiful, showerhead was adjustable and worked. Vanity area had iron, ironing board, DIY safe, wall mounted hair dryer, clothes hanging area, and a coffee maker which my husband used and worked.

Plenty of wrapped insulated paper cups.

Behind the motel and in easy walking distance is a small strip shopping center with a Wawa food market (a favorite of Delawareans). Think of it as a high end 7-11. Good coffee, breakfast food, very decent subs, sandwiches and convenient needs are available. This is good for Days Inn because their continental breakfast is nothing to write home about. Kind of bland. Didn't expect much at this price, but if breakfast is your thing, I'd go to Wawa instead.

Hotel is at the hub of major shopping, restaurants, etc. 202 is a big commerce highway. If you are out of state, shopping in Delaware is tax free. Concord Mall (Macy's anchor) is very close by. Barnes & Noble, all the chain restaurants, Sullivan Steak House (high end). Where the raceway was is the Brandywine Center with stores, restaurants, multi-movieplex, Dicks Sporting, Bed Bath Beyond, Lowes, Target.

This is N Wilmington hub. Concordville and Chadds Ford Pa are very close by. Downtown Wilmington is a busy 15 min trip south on 202. There is something for 202 for everyone.

When we travel to N Wilm, we have stayed at a variety of hotels. As I stated earlier, we were in $saving mode this time and this hotel is the best deal for great location and a fair price. Most other hotels in the area are 100+ and there are plenty in the area.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so we didn't want to spend a lot of money either. I was startled awake at midnight by someone jiggling at my hotel door. I woke my husband up to go into protection mode but by the time he got to the door the people were gone. Likely it was a guest error but it was somewhat disconcerting and it was hard to go back to sleep. It happens. Door has the key card reader slot.

Room Tip: Although our roadside room was quiet enough, the quieter side would definitely be the side that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucinda302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

We the staff and management thank you for your review and hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Breakfaat, free wifi, park by room, all for under $75 with tax. ($15 pet fee extra). A bit off the hwybut worth the extra 3 miles

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarStraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We chose the Day's Inn because of price, close proximity to the event we were attending and the review rating it had gotten, higher even than some more highly priced hotels. We were not disappointed. The room was clean, the service was excellent, the bed comfortable and the free breakfast an unexpected delight! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a basic room on the first floor which was quiet...no fridge or microwave...you may have to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsherr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for review, we hope to make your next stay with us even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I travel quite a bit for work and needed to find a property to stay for 3-4 nights every week. I was very pleased to find this good hotel for a great and very competitive price. The GM and most of the desk staff are wonderful and very accomodating. The location is conveniently close to downtown Wilmington with a quick/easy drive and the hotel is also 1 block from an upscale mall, any type of shopping you may need and many restaurants.
My overall rating of "average" is relative to the star level of hotel. If you want to pay 2-3 times as much to stay at the Doubletree, go for it. This works great for me as an independent Consultant.

Room Tip: ignore the "suite" option. The north side of the building faces the back of a strip mall w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsultantRdWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your continued support. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here for two months in summer. The staff is very friendly and make you feel like at home away from home.
The rooms are decent with a comfortable bed and a new TV, with Cable on it :-)
The room also came with a microwave oven and a fridge. The Concord mall is right next to the hotel and you also have good restaurants a walking distance from the hotel.
The complementary continental breakfast is far better than other hotel.
The lady who helps in the breakfast room is a very nice and sweet person and she is also very helpful.
Hence am back at the same hotel for another 6 weeks...

Overall a nice hotel.

AJ

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at this days inn because my group failed to get me a room down the street. It wasn't t first choice but sometimes you have to stay where you dont want to in my line of work..


I only stayed here instead of other places on this road because of the reviews from trip advisor..

It's an older hotel and you can tell as soon as you pull in the driveway.. Looking around the room it's not very clean either. Behind the bed and soda it's dirt and dust everywhere.. The only reason I looked down there wa because my phone dropped behind the bed :(.

The room I had has a king size bed, microwave, flat screen tv (new tv), and a sofa. Not sure if all rooms look like this but they have tried to make up for the fact that it's old and have done an ok job...

It's a place I would stay only if I have to but it has all the amenities one would need just for a one night sleep..

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your review, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you had while you stayed with us. We strive to meet all of our guest needs and I am sorry we did not satisfy yours. Please know we take these complaints to heart and will do all we can to make sure this does not happen again. We have all new upgrades to the property planned for the Summer of 2012.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.2 km away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
398 reviews
4.6 km away
SureStay Plus Brandywine Valley Inn
1.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
9.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
1.3 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington/newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Address: 5209 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $101 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Wilmington/newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington/newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing