We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach! Feel free to pay extra for everything!”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Right on the beach, yet very quiet.
Great view, spacy rooms, needs refurbishment. Nothing special yet overpriced.
WIFI very slow in rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karasznelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear karasznelli,
We thank you for visiting The Sea View Hotel and sharing your comments with many travelers. We appreciate your feedback is it helps us grow. The hotel is undergoing a renovation as we are installing a new air conditioning system followed by and upgrade of the entrance and façade. The staff is always aware of our guests comments and if need be are reoriented to meet our guests expectations.
We hope we see you again on your return to Miami.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Sea View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed there for one night only, but our suite was very nice, spacious and good view. Friendly staff, clean room, quiet area. But for those who are looking for fun, it's far from south beach, where the hip places are

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank samos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear samos80,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at The Sea View Hotel.
Our location is unique as it sits in the village of Bal Harbour, away from the craziness of South Beach, about 20 minutes south of us here, which is always a cab, bus or a car drive away. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation and will be great once completed.
We welcome you back on your travels and hope to see you soon.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was a little disappointed by our stay in the Seav View hotel in Miami (Bal Harbour).

I will start with the positives - The location in relation to the beach is good. The hotel is located about 15 metres from the beach front, on a relatively quiet part of the beach . The lobby area in hte hotel is extremely nice and the room we had also was nice. Although we did not dine there (because of the price) , the dining room and outdoor eating area also seemed very pleasent.


The negatives :
I could not help but feel that after paying our hard earned cash to stay at this hotel, that all the hotel wanted to do was extract as much more money out of us as possible. The pool area is very nice with a reasonable sized pool and a large number of sun loungers, but it costs $10 per day to use these loungers even if you are a guest staying at the hotel ! I though this was ridiculous. This is obviously $20 for two of us, which was just too much.

If you want to park your car in the hotel car park, it costs $18 per day (again even if you are a guest staying at the hotel). The hotel location could be better - Because the hotel is on 99th street and the main shopping/eating area's are around South Beach, which is around 5th to 30th street, you will need a car or some form of transport if you are going to go anywhere.

A can of coke from the beachside bar costs almost $4 (You can buy 12 cans at a store down the road for $5!)

A bowl of ceral costs $4.50.

I found the hotel staff less than helpful at times. When we checked in, the lady at reception just gave us our card - no directions to the room, the floor we were staying on was been renovated - no apology for this. We tried to rent a car through the hotel and we were directed to the valet man. He just rang a number and handed me the phone and told me to sort it out myself. Nothing baout what sort of a car I wanted, how long I wanted it for, when I wanted it etc etc

The hotel has a lot of potential if you want a quiet break, but unless it is more reasonably priced, or the guests are allowed to use the hotel facilities without been ripped off, then I would not return here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe77Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Joe77Cork,
We thank you for your feedback as it helps us make our hotel better. Your concerns have been shared with our management team and staff to better assist future guests, such as yourself. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation as the new air conditioning system is being installed followed by upgrade of the entrance and façade.
The location is set in the Bal Harbour Village which is quiet and tranquil. This village is a travel destination for many across the globe for it's welcoming shopping experience at the Bal Harbour Shops, renowned for it's world class shopping in the high end retail market. South Beach is a bus ride or drive away, about 20 minutes south. The Sea View Hotel is proud to be situated on the world class beaches with an emerald ocean outside our back door. We hope you will come visit again to experience these great changes.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

First off when I called to find out about the floor plan the guy could not tell me much at all!! He works here ; Right!!.Were here for 6 days the thrid day the door key doesn't work??? R u serious? He asked if we checked out? No!! Oh the pictures online Don't believe the hype!! Not true at all!! Keep searching for a Good hotel! I don't no about u we work to hard for this money to waste
!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upsetwithseaveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear upsetwithseaveiw,
We thank you for your comments as they always help with improving our hotel.
Most sorry to hear you were not satisfied with you stay. Our hotel is a throw back from the 40's and 50's with a European flair. We cater to many different types of people from around the world. Bal Harbour is known as a shoppers paradise with the Bal Harbour Shops across the street from our hotel. World class retail shopping for that distinguished traveler. Sometimes room keys get demagnetized from being close to other credit cards which happens often and most likely was in your case. It's a simple fix, no doubt. We apologize we did not meet your standards and hope you will give us another try soon as a lot is changing here.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We picked Sea View because of its location across the street from the Bal Harbor Shops. Although our room category was "partial ocean view," we were pleasantly surprised with the expanse of ocean we could see. Every part of the hotel appeared and felt very clean. All of the staff were polite and helpful. Our room was spacious. In all, this place was a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear sfinestone,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back again real soon.
Our team goes out of their way to make the guest feel at home and we are hopeful we achieved just that.
Thank you for your comments as we share them with the staff.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had a amazing time there. Our room was very nice and clean. We had a balcony on the bay side and it was great to sit out there and watch the sun set. The pool/beach service was wonderful. We took our two daughters (tween age) and they had an absolute blast. The personnel there treated them fabulous. They are still talking about it four months later. Service could be slow sometimes but it reminded us that we were on vacation and that we needed to slow down. We had breakfast and lunch there every day. They accommodated our girls all the time - actually spoiled them rotten. If they went to the restaurant they would get fresh fruit with fresh whipped cream - yummy. If they were in the coffee shop, they would always request a black and white milk shake (vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup). For dinner, we would walk across the street to the mall or into town. Great food and a great place to car and people watch. We also went to Ventura mall - great place for young girls to shop. We would definitely go back to Sea View again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveryGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear AveryGirls,
Very pleased to know you and your family had a fantastic stay with us!!
We thank you for the kind comments and are eager to share with our staff.
We hope to see you and your family again real soon. Lots of good things happening around
here as we are upgrading the air conditioning system and soon the façade and entrance.
Hope to see you soon..
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

If you feel like pampering yourself, this is the place to be. Peaceful, clean and friendly service and great shopping areas walking distance. Wished I stayed longer to enjoy at least quarter of what this hotel has to offer. Bal Harbour shops is a stone throw away. If you dont feel like having breakfast at this hotel, you can step across to Bal Harbour shops and have a great breakfast, then enjoy the likes of designers stores.. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eligia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear eligia7,
On behalf of the staff, we are thankful for the kind response you posted.
Your comments are important to us and we take them seriously. We work hard to please our guests and hope for an excellent stay for them. It's nice to hear the feedback such as yours when we do our job right.
Hope you'll visit again soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.8 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
301 reviews
0.5 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range: $221 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing