We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Great Location, Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location, Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

If I could rate the Daddy O Hotel more highly I would. We stayed for a week in February and from making the reservation through to check out, we had a great experience. I phoned up the hotel direct to make the reservation, and got a better price than I could through a price comparison company. Check in was quick and easy which was helpful as we were shattered from a long flight and we had our 20 month old son with us. Our room was huge and we had plenty of choices as to where we put the cot for our son. The bed is one of the comfiest I've slept in - I think it's a memory foam mattress and I had no back ache at all on holiday (which I normally do). The rooms were clean and nicely decorated (very fresh). My only slight criticism is that the walls are quite thin and you can hear loud conversations and loud tv's in other rooms. I was talking to Courtney on reception about this and she said that before the hotel became the Daddy O, it was another hotel with 1/2 the rooms as they were double in size. Partition walls were put up to provide more rooms, but they are aware there is a problem and they are getting some specialists in to do something about it. It was however not a huge problem for us. We weren't disturbed in the night.

Breakfast was spot on. I don't know what other people are going on about...I don't particularly want a greasy big breakfast every morning - I'm not a pig! The breakfast included fresh fruit, yoghurts, muffins, bagels, various breads (including a lovely cinnamon and fruit bread), preserves, fruit juices and various coffees and tea. And it's complimentary which is hard to find these days. Everything was fresh and tasty.

The location was great for us - it depends on what you want. If you want to be in the middle of it all, and don't mind staying in a seedy hotel that's like being in the middle of Blackpool with various clubs and places that call themselves restaurants (but actually I wouldn't describe what they were serving as food), then maybe stay in South Beach. If you're super rich and like being confined to a massive hotel on the beach surrounded by snobby people then go for a big luxury hotel on Miami Beach. If, like us though, you're normal, and want to be near the action, but want to stay somewhere safe and where you can get a good nights sleep, then the Daddy O is perfect. There is a restaurant next door and 4 in the next street all frequented by locals rather than tourists. The atmosphere is much nicer, the service friendly and the food fresh and healthy. 5 minutes away is a busier street with lots of shops and restaurants. There is plenty about. The beach is also just a couple of blocks away and really easy to get to. It's also easy to get the bus down to South Beach for $2 each (around 20 minutes).

We discovered when we got to Miami that taxi's wouldn't take us anywhere as we had a toddler and we hadn't hired a car as we were just staying in Miami for the week. Courtney arranged a car for 2 days for us in the end and recommended some good places to go that it would be hard to get to on the bus. She lent us her own sat nav and let us park for free which which was really generous of her. She also was really knowledgable of the area and recommended good places to visit in the South Beach area that were more approriate for a family. When it came to checking out, she let us extend our time in our room from 11am (which is normal check out time) to 3pm as we weren't flying until the evening and she did it for free for us and arranged the airport transfer for us. She bent over backwards for us, and clearly understands individual guests needs and accomodates them. It is the first time we've bought a bunch of flowers to say thank you, but she really deserved them.

A couple of other comments to make - there are no fridges in the room. We needed fresh milk for our son, so we were able to store it in their fridge and someone was around 24 hours to let us access it. Also there is no lift, but everything is on 2 floors. If you have difficulty with stairs, I would recommend asking for a room on the ground floor.

I would just like to thank everyone at the Daddy O Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are connecting rooms if you're travelling with a big party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. Our staff aims to please each and every guest from assisting with reservations right through to checkout. We agree with your comments, our beds are the “comfiest” beds most guest have ever slept in, our breakfast is “spot on” and our location is “great”. Courtney would like to personally thank you for mentioning her efforts and was happy to have loaned you her personal GPS to help make your vacation perfect. Courtney would also like to thank you for the beautiful bouquet of flowers your token of appreciation was one of the most thoughtful gifts she has ever received from a guest. All of our members are happy that you found our personal service to be exceptional and hope that when you return to Miami you will stay with Daddy O Hotel a second time.
Best regards,
Daddy O Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    349
    107
    51
    48
See reviews for
133
464
81
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaines, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Staff was great with recommendations on local food and fun spots. Hotel is cute comfortable. Short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: If you are with family or friends ask for connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb48436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate every guest that takes the time to leave our hotel a great review. It is guests like yourself that makes the Daddy O Hotel the perfect place to work. When you are planning to visit the Miami area again please remember to stay with the Daddy O Hotel.
Many Thanks,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We spent a weekend at at Daddy O hotel and very enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They will go an extra mile to satisfy guests. The last day after we checked out they gave us beach towels and chairs for the rest of the day but the best was when they offered us a room to take a shower when we got back from the beach!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yauhen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your review, our staff here at the Daddy O Hotel is devoted to making sure that your stay with us is a pleasant one. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s through service reviews that we evaluate our service and find out how we can better serve you. We do very much appreciate your kind review and we hope you will remember us on your next visit to the area.
Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salernes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

It s a very nice hotel, friendly staff.
However the rooms are not soundproof you may hear your nextdoor neighbor snoring, sneezing, whispering.....or else !
There is no pool and the beach is a 10mn walk. There is an 8$ parking fee per day unless you have a coupon code (mention "trip" when you check-in)
B'fast is ok. Enough to get by till noon !
If you call the hotel direct, they will adjust your rate to the best rate you might have found on the net.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review, our staff here at the Daddy O Hotel is devoted to making sure that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We value your business as one of our customers and we hope you will remember us for your next visit. It’s through service reviews that we evaluate our service and we do very much appreciate your kind review.
Sincerely,
Daddy O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice servise delivered by the front desck staff
Excellent location
clean and modern rooms
Walking distance from Bal Harbour shops
The price excelent for the location and quality of the accomodations
Definitely I would go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonquijoteII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we do appreciate your business and hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the South Florida area. Again, we appreciate your kind review and hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed there for three nights and we liked this place a lot. It's only ten minutes (by foot) from there to the beach. The room was nice, clean and modern with a 42 inch flat screen TV on the wall. The safe was large enough to easily fit any size laptop in there. The only thing missing was a refridgerator. Also, don't expect too much from the complimentary breakfast - it's really just the basics - but still ok. And yes, the rooms do have thin walls. We heard the person in the next room talking on the phone loud and clear but since this wasn't at night we didn't really care. All in all, I would recommend this place to my friends any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Daddy O Hotel. We appreciate each and every review that are guests leave on tripadvisor. When you are planning your next trip to Miami please remember to stay at the Daddy O Hotel.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The staff is great...they are always helpful and eager to make sure you have a great stay. Other people commented about wifi but i stay at this hotel once a month for business and never have any issues with wifi! It is a European style hotel, it is two floors (no elevator) with a modern look and feel. The rooms have great flat panel TVs and are very comfortable and modern. You cannot beat the value of this place. You are a couple blocks from the beach, the Bal Harbour Mall and plenty of restaurants and bars. You are away from the hustle and bustle of South Beach but a $20 cab ride gets you there. The added value is the great breakfast every morning - bagels, breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and an amazing coffee machine that makes you any kind of hot beverage you can think of (plus juice machine). Best value around!

Room Tip: May want to request a room on the first floor so you don't have to carry suitcases upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHH-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. Our staff is pleased that you have found our hotel to be a great home away from home each month. In reading your tip for other reviewers I would like to mention that the Daddy O Hotel offers bellman service to all travelers that need assistance with luggage.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Harbor Islands
0.9 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.8 km away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.1 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.7 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Property: Daddy O Hotel
Address: 9660 E Bay Harbor Dr, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy O Hotel Bay Harbor Islands, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing