We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rustic - Best for avid fishermen who don't care where they stay as long as they can fish and drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very rustic - Best for avid fishermen who don't care where they stay as long as they can fish and drink”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and I booked this place last minute because they were reasonably priced and we needed somewhere to stay while we inspected some property. The gentleman who took our reservation kindly gave us a $180/night duplex efficiency for $125/nt. Big Pine Key is one of the least developed Keys, and this place is at the bridge to No Name Key, which has no electricity. There are cottages and one duplex, a small pool, a marina, and that's about it. When we arrived about 4:30, the desk clerk/ marina mgr. explained that the room would not be ready for another 45 minutes or so. He offered to start a tab for us if we wanted to buy some bait and beer. We declined, checked in, paid for the rest of our stay, and were going to go for a walk, but decided to stop at the duplex and ask the maid, who had just arrived outside of it, if we could look at the room first. She explained it was not yet cleaned, but we could take a look if we wanted. We were totally turned off as soon as we walked in. Granted, it was not yet cleaned. However, I don't see how the maid could have cleaned it enough in 45 minutes to make us like it. It smelled mildewy and dirty, the 2 small mattresses in the bedroom were in rough shape and needed to be replaced, the refrigerator was rusty, the futon looked very dirty (hopefully the cover was going to be removed and washed). We went right back to the office and asked for our money back. We were unable to get our $125 deposit back. We went down Hwy 1 and got a room at Parmers Resort for about $20 more/nt. It was smaller but spotless, with nice mattresses, clean new carpet, nice bathroom, fresh fruit and contintental breakfast included, etc.. I don't know if the cottages at Old Wooden Bridge are any nicer, as their website says they've done some renovations. I would say this place is best for a bunch of guys who want to do a lot of fishing and drinking w/o their wives/girlfriends and aren't too particular about their surroundings. While it was explained before I booked that the deposit was non-refundable, others I talked to said they'd gotten/given refunds when the reason for cancellation was the condition of the room. Except for the no refund, staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Inspect before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentDiner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    15
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is a perfect spot if you are going to the keys for fishing. Easy access to the backcountry and to the ocean. The resort is a camp. Its basic, no phones, no internet, no blow dryers. Kitchens are very limited to the basic pots, pans, plates etc. Bring your own steak knives or filet knives as there isnt a sharp anything in the drawers. The unit we rented was small, one bedroom perfect for two. Three people would be crowded. The unit is functional but not comfortable. The bed is new but noisy and uncomfortable. Every movement wakes you with a squeak. The air conditioner is in the bedroom and made it too noisy to leave on at night. What makes this place great besides its location is the other guests. There really isnt anything to do once you come off the water and everyone hangs out at the office/docks comparing fish stories of the day. Its in a bit of a neighbourhood setting so its quiet, very little traffic. All in all its a great place to stay but I wouldnt stay as long as we did again (10 days). It was a lot of fun, the staff were helpful. There were no issues, just an uncomfortable bed and lack of a phone. We were travelling from out of country and using a cellphone to make calls was not a financial option. There is a Winn Dixie close by and a handful of restaurants. The chinese food restaurant in the shopping plaza was very good and a reasonable price. The key has lots of the key deer roaming around and it was lots of fun to spot them. The area is also convienent to Key West - only 30 miles away. A good spot all around. Would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I selected this place thinking on the location, Big Pine Key, which for us is the best area in the keys. It was a bad choice, the cabin was dirty, smells bad, you do not see the dirty spoots at first because the wooden walls but them in the bathroom you can see the splashes around the toilet, hairs and dust. The kitchen has dirty equipments, the ceiling fan had alot of dust, air conditioner not working good (hot..hot..hot), bed very unconfortable.
The marina is dirty and full of seaweed, smells really bad, if you have a jet boat don't even think about it.
We ended cancelling the two other nights and going to The Parmer's Resort near by. The only good experience is the visit to the "No name pub", you can walk to this place, is around the corner.
My advice for you is not to go there....they lack of cleanliness big time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CocoMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Pine Key hotels

US East Coast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

4 of us stayed at one of the larger, 2 bedroom cottages. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and value. These are not fancy rooms, but housekeeping cottages that are simple, clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastsignal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had unusual access to several of the rooms. We made a truly last minute call to OWB when our first motel turned out to be the breeding grounds for vermin. Charlie rescued us by taking us in. He didn't have a single unit available for the whole week, but he did have one for the beginning, another for the middle and one for the end. They were close enough that it wasn't too much trouble to move. The units were very nice. Well equipped, ( I agree with one of the comments that the bathrooms are small, but I don't spend a lot of time there so who cares). The units we stayed in were all clean and comfortable (it was average 92 during the day and 86 at night the week were there so working A/C was a must.

Next time we go to the lower keys we'll call OWB and stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed in cabin B on the stilts with the deck and we love it. It is rustic and more of an old keys type of place. If you have stayed in old cottages in New England especially, than this is the place for you.
The boat launch is 20 yards away and so is the invaluable Capt. Keogh. His kayak rental place is right there at the boat ramp.
The staff at OWB is so helpful all you have to do is ask. If you are an introvert or someone who expects to be pampered this is not the place for you. However if you love to interact with locals who always have good advice or who will help at the drop of a hat then OWB is the place. We were exploring with the kayaks everyday and the surroundings were amazing. The beds could be updated in fairness to another review that I read however we were so tired after every days adventure that it hardly mattered.
Thanks OWB still dreaming of the water.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huf-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

After reading the reviews of the Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp, we decided to stay for a week. We have family liviing on Big Pine Key, so this was the perfect location for us.

Now it could have been the unit we rented . . . we took the medium unit B - featured in the pictures on stilts. We were prepared for rustic . . . but I'm afraid to say that OWB was too much for us. The beds were terrible, and the pillows were worse. The sheets were worn, and the towels were frayed and holey. The L-shaped sleeper couch was very worn and torn, with pillow-stuffing coming out of the various tears. It was your worse nightmare of a sleeper-couch, with the big metal bar across the middle. We know this because we both couldn't sleep in the bed - it was that uncomfortable.

The unit was clean on the surface . . . but when an article fell behind the nightstand, it was VERY clear that things had not been cleaned in a long time. Likewise under the stove and around the refrigerator - VERY dusty and dirty.

I will say that the location is lovely - and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mhowell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
24.8 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.7 km away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
903 reviews
5.3 km away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
7.1 km away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
171 reviews
6.8 km away
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Big Pine Key
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp

Property: Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp
Address: 1791 Bogie Dr, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-5023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp Hotel Big Pine Key
Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp Big Pine Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing